SCWL 8 Round 10

Tenth Round

“Last Comic Standing”

8.100 Previously on SCWL. . .
8.101 SCWL 8 Round 10 Info
8.102 SCWL 8 Round 10 Confessionals
8.103 SCWL 8 Round 10 Tribal Council
8.104 SCWL 8 Round 10 Blog
8.105 SCWL 8 Round 10 Fantasy Pool + Predictions
8.106 Next Time on SCWL. . .

8.100 Previously on SCWL. . .

– With Matt’s elimination and Anton becoming closer to other alliances, the former members of UsAl–Marc, Majid, and John found themselves on the bottom.
– A brand new hidden immunity idol was introduced to the series.
– This idol appealed to Kyle, and many players agreed to hand him the idol. . .
– . . .Except for one of his closest allies, Katie.
– John was the next target and was about to claim individual immunity when he needed it most.
– But teaching Majid how to complete the challenge backfired as Majid won the talisman for the first time this season.
– Things became complicated at Tribal Council as Majid considered giving John his talisman.
– After much deliberation, Majid kept the necklace and watched helplessly as John was eliminated 6-2-2 in a vote that showed Anton was really with the UsAls after all.
– With Pusa and UsAl down to four and three members respectively, Ian and Allan continue to hold power in this game.
– Nine players remain; who will be voted out tonight?

8.101 SCWL 8 Round 10 Info

Date: March 18, 2015 – March 21, 2015
Immunity Challenge X: Between the Cards
Info: Players are given two cards. They must wager a minimum number of points as to whether the next card drawn will fall within the range of the first two cards. Whoever is the last player standing, or the person with the highest number of points once all hands are played, wins immunity.
Winner: Marc
Voted Out: Ian
Vote Count: 5-4 (Ian-Quintin)

8.102 SCWL 8 Round 10 Confessionals

ALLAN

Ughhh confessionals…I am sorry I haven’t had time for a confessional in awhile.  I got way too much s–t going on lately.  Basically I am at the point of the game where I am going to do either really well or be out really soon.  It is time for me to make some hard choices and with those hard choices will come some hard prices.

Right now I have people that I am likely to work with in order to get to the end.  Those people would be Ian, Katie, Anton, Kyle and Erik (yeah that one kind of surprised me too).  I know we have to make a move against Pusa next.  My hope is that it will be Q going next (although a blindside of Kyle is not out of the question).  Still worry about Ian as long as War is in the game.  Cautious of Katie but so far I sill semi-trust she will stick with me.  Anton I trust above all the others (stupid?  maybe).  A new alliance of Katie, Me, Anton, and Erik has been born…and is starting to seem like my most viable option to get to the end.

Not much I know but literally all I have time for before heading out to work. fml

CONFESSIONAL TIME
….now with that said I can tell you that Quinton will not be the vote this round.  It will be Ian.  Ian has made himself a target by being overly confident in trying to manage the votes.  I think he has irked some people in the game for some time and they have finally had their fill.  Personally I “get” Ian and think he is a fantastic guy and a good player.  His only fault maybe that he plays too hard.

As you know Ian has been my guy since the beginning.  He was one of the first new people in the game that I talked to.  He and I even had a plan formed before the tribe pick em to insure we ended up on the same tribe.  Early on after the tribes were chosen it was Ian that told me about the four way alliance between him, Susan, Tina and Irv.  Now I know that was a bulls–t alliance but it could have played out.  It was Ian that gave me the opportunity to put a stop to that.  If he had stuck with them I would not be submitting this confessional right now I would be long gone from the game.  Ian and I quickly grabbed up Susan and that was the true make up of Aldn for the whole beginning of the game.  There was never a question…we never second guessed it…that was the way it was.

Durring that whole time Ian and I got closer and closer and even made F2 plans together (well before Tina was booted) and for the longest time I truly thought that was the way to go.  At some point Ian began talking with War more and more and the two became close.  Now I dont want it to sound like Ian kept this from me…because he didn’t.  He kept me informed.  Still I had to wonder how close they actually had got.  I watched him protect War time and time again…I noticed but didnt worry about it too much.  I figured when the time was right I would simply remove War from the equation.  Ian also got close with Katie (with whom I was already close with) and eventually brought me into an alliance with her.  Fact is that Katie and I had already formed an alliance way before and we let Ian think he was the one that brought us together…not so.  We were already peas and carrots way before that.

Enter Kyle.  I started talking with Kyle and a friendship quickly formed (hes a f–king awesome guy).  My connection with Kyle was another solid link with Katie.  Eventually…as Aldn became more useful to them….Kyle approached me with a deal.  He told me about the structure of Pusa and that he, Quinton, Katie were a solid three.  He let me know that even though they were a three he was willing to give me Katie’s spot.  Kyle also expressed concerns about Ian but let me know that he understood Ian was my guy and would work with that.  So that put me in an alliance with Kyle, Quinton and Ian.  I knew this was a BS alliance when it was offered but naturally I accepted.  Eventually the more Kyle and I talked and really started getting along a trust developed and Kyle told me he wanted to go F2 with me.  I still dont think this was 100% but I do honestly think Kyle would go with it if that was how the game played out.  Interesting sidebar:  There came a point in the game where both Katie and Kyle were supplying me with information durring challenges.  In one particular challenge they told me two conflicting stories.  Neither one of them knew the other was giving me the info so that meant that one of them was lying and one of them was telling me the truth.   Turns out Katie was telling me the truth.  Now Kyle’s fib was not huge and I dont blame him at all for doing it (it was smart) but knowing Katie was up front with me and he wasnt stuck in my mind…it still does.

Lets not forget Anton.  Anton is for sure my best buddy in this game (and honestly prob my best bud outside games too).  I love this guy.  I will not f–k him over.  He was the main reason I agreed to sign in as a last minute alternate.  I mean he has been in retirement for some time and I thought it would be fun to play a game with him again.  He and I have played several games together before and more often than not have been aligned….but it never ends well.  I tend to end up having to vote him out, lol.  This time I actually made him a promise not to write his name down in this game.  I intend to honor that.  Now thats not to say I can control what others will do….but I wont vote him out.  Kinda like I wont vote Ian out.

Anton jumped to help at the merge and has been working with me ever since.  Trouble is I was able to secure myself a better position as the game played out.  Anton worked his tribe (and was successful) but with Aldn losing all the time I had to be more inventive and aggressive.  I had to make connections all across the board.  This has helped me since the merge.  That being said it is a double edged sword… I made promises to both the other tribes to secure my safety and now it is time to pay the price for that.  That time to pay came with this round.

I made my promises to Pusa (to wipe out UsaI) and I made my promises to UsaI (Anton in paticular) to side with them.  Anton recognized that I had set myself (and him as well) in a good postion so he went along with the Matt vote and even (neither of us wanted it) the John vote….but enough is enough.  He is not willing to be the last man standing on UsaI and trusting me soley for his safety (and I dont blame him for that).  This was the round that was supposed to be a Pusa.  I promised that and hell I was ready to deliver.  I personally wanted Q but Ian had other plans….he wanted Kyle.  Kyle made sense on paper….but I am tight with Kyle and I really did not want that to happen.  Plus Katie knows that Kyle is with me and her so no way did she want that.  Naturally Anton wanted it (who can blame him) and Ian wanted it (cant blame him either).  Katie was aware that it would be a Pusa…we had discussed it.  She didn’t want to have to vote for them though and we agreed she did not have to since we would have the numbers without her vote.  But Katie and I both wanted Q because that made Kyle that much closer to us.  Ian wouldnt have it and insisted on Kyle.  I agreed.

Ian (not wanting to leave Katie in the dark) told Katie about the Kyle vote and she was able to sway him where I was not.  Meanwhile during all this….Ian was also suggesting that Anton might be an easy vote.  I got him off that real quick but it got leaked out.  Anton found out and suggested….”why not vote Ian out”.  People were not opposed to the idea.  Katie came to me and told me about it (as did Anton).  I told them that I was fine with that as long as I didnt have to vote for him.

So thats where we are.  Katie knows I was good with the vote.  Anton knows I am good with the vote.  Erik is now aware that I am good with the vote.  Everyone else thinks they are pulling the wool over my eyes, lol.  Hardly.  I am voting Q to remain true to what I told Ian.   This makes it look like Anton went outside his connection with me and made a move that would be counter to my game (its not).  To Pusa it appears that Katie is being 100% loyal in not letting me in on it for fear that I would tell Ian (she isnt).  No one suspects that I am working with Erik (besides Katie and Anton-and they don’t know the extent I am working to get close to him).  This vote puts some much needed separation between us all to the others even though it has only made us tighter.  Plus I get to play the part of being blindsided by these guys (and I intend on playing that up, lol).   I will use that to my advantage moving forward.

That’s what I got Logan…hope you are glad you cast me at the last minute because I am enjoying the hell out of all this.

hehehe 😀

ANTON

Confessional – So game is about to get fun. I knew at merge when Matt was going home I was going to have to get creative. So Erik Katie and allan have reached out and we have a F4 deal to get us through. Now it’s just time to maneuver properly. Ian is going to get blindsided this round with Kyle next round barring a immunity win. I think we have moved into a good spot, but it’s always scary when your trusting people not initially in your tribe. if Allan and I can continue to downplay our friendship it will work out well

ERIK

So I haven’t wrote a confessional in awhile, and I don’t feel like writing a big long essay, but I want to seem relevant enough to return one season lol. So, here is the breakdown of what is happening with people. There are several pairs in this game. Anton & Allan. Kyle & Q. Ian & Majid. Me and Katie. Marc is tight with Majid, which makes Ian part of the alliance.

Thing is, Ian is also with Allan. Who is with Anton.

However, Katie and I have a final 4 deal with Allan and Anton as well, and we are working very hard to ensure their loyalty. So basically Kyle and Q are f–ked in the near future. We are pretty sure one of them is going next vote.

The only way we save Pusa is if Marc goes. Ian says he wants either Marc or Anton, but I don’t believe a word Ian says. I think he’s no good .  So the vote will probably end up 5-4 against Kyle.

That is basically what is going on right now. If I had my way, Ian would be going. It would isolate Majid and Marc, making them easy targets. It would also make Allan and Anton completely loyal to us….or more so than they are now. But yeah it basically looks like I am f–ked. I shall update you later

Also, when are these silly auction points going to come into play

Quick Update.

So it looks like we might be blindsiding Ian. We told Anton that Ian wants to vote him. We know he doesn’t, but oh well. So I went to Anton and said, listen, I know you want to vote Kyle or Q, and if you want to do that after my spiel, fine. But Ian is controlling this game right now, he has Majid and Marc in his pocket, and he has Allen, who has you. So you guys have the majority right now, but down the road you’re #5. So Anton says that has long as I can guarentee the votes, he is in. And luckily I CAN guarantee the votes, so yay for me. I don’t necessarily believe Anton 100%, but I am feeling better than last night.

IAN

Anton couldn’t get himself to vote John, but the 6 of us still voted him out. It is that kind of power John had that made it so important to vote him out.

I found out after tribal while talking to Kyle that Kyle is a father. I had no idea, and finding that out makes him even more human than before. Sadly, I plan to either blindside Anton or Kyle next, so if it is Kyle, it will be harder. Allan and I want to make this game chaos. Or at least, super crazy wacky.

While I consider what to do, I must remember I put myself in that position. I am a swing vote at the moment, wanting to blindside a Pusa to make the alliance numbers more equal. Allan and I are bring Communism back! And like Communism, there is the illusion of equality while someone is secretly on top, which hopefully will be Allan and I if this all works out

I originally wanted Kyle out, the guy is a huge threat! Then Allan and I started talking again and I started wondering if we should stay in our current spot and vote Anton, since who knows what he is going to do. He wants to be the flipper, which I want my closest allies and I to be. Eventually I decided to risk it with Anton and vote Kyle. But Allan and Katie, who said is willing to blindside a Pusa, wanted Quintin out. Kyle says he really trusts Allan and I, so his reaction to the blindside should be easy to see. What makes me nervous is that Marc just showed me he is smart: when trying to bring him in, he questioned what would be good for him in this case. I wasn’t sure what to say so I played the politician and spewed BS. Hopefully the vote will be 6-3. But Marc saying he was told he was safe before he won immunity makes me think someone has another blindside attempt going on.

***

final words: I knew there was a counter blindside thing going on, I just didn’t know if it would be majority. Sure enough it was and I was the target. I hope Allan, Majid, or Katie assuming neither of them voted for me, makes it to the end and win

KATIE

Confession

So right now I know Quinton is next. I tried to blindside Ian last round. Didn’t go over. Now kyle is on the blindside Ian train. He told me his boot list him Ian and Allan made. I was giggling. He said he’s had them since day 6. I’ve had Allan since day one. So right now it’s 2 alliances I’m loyal to. Me erik Anton and Allan and me kyle IAN and allan. So Q war and marc need to go and I’ll swing to the end  don’t know who I’m taking out or anything I play round by round. I’m setting myself up quite nicely.

Can you post the results right away pusa is freaking out and I have to go to bed soon. Please

I love you. Don’t ever listen to me bitch smile emoticon

You da bomb

Gah

Kyle gonna be mad lol

You are killing us

KYLE

•great tribal council but my nerves are kicking in I for see Ian and Allan possibly flipping the former usal and targeting a Pusa… Hopefully it’s not me I trust Ian and Allan but trust can work both ways im cautious but trusting the next vote should be lovely

I wonder how many nominations I was off

Bet I got closer then you expected this early

I suspect I missed it by 1 or 2

•Ian the comedian of the group I take offence to that! We will see who laughs last tonight

Laugh now comedian

……so nervous

MAJID

EPISODE3: so we started the 3rd challenge i woke up 2 hours after the challenge and every thing was finished im happy we won. at the same time i started to be annoyed from marc he is un trustful person so i was to planning if we lose in the future marc will be out and it was great i hate back stabers marc you know what you said to andre nd you mess with the wrong person that will take you down

MARC

CONFESSIONAL DAY 39 It feels good to have the necklace because all mistrust and paranoia disappears. Even though when people seem to hide information you stop panicking. At this time I only care about Majid, the only person I trust 100%.

This morning Katie was a little distant to me so I’m afraid there might be a blindside, but I don’t care about who’s leaving tonight, apart from Majid, I don’t have a very clear strategy at this time, and I don’t know exactly where I’m going. I don’t like the strategy of former Aldn to eliminate one of each side so they are not the target for now. I don’t want them to be the Malcolm and Denise of this season. I want to cut that dynamic ASAP

QUINTIN

None.

8.103 SCWL 8 Round 10 Tribal Council

TRIBAL COUNCIL #10

(ALLAN)-(ANTON)-(ERIK)-(IAN)-(KATIE)-(KYLE)-(MAJID)-(*MARC*)-(QUINTIN)
XXX
(IRV)-(SHANE)-(PAUL)-(TINA)-(AJDIN)-(ANDREI)-(SUSAN)-(MATT)-(JOHN)

The asterisks around Marc’s name indicate that he currently possesses individual immunity.

He is immune unless he gives the talisman to another player.

Both members of the jury, Matt and John, has already been brought in.

They are merely here to observe. They are not allowed to speak nor do any smilies. Nor are you allowed to address them. They are strictly here to gather information, rather than be sent transcripts as was done in past seasons.

The questions and your vote are both due by 5:00pm eastern Saturday.

ALLAN,

1. We were close to having somebody from Aldn win immunity for the first time since round five. How devastating was it to lose after a true nail-biter?

1). I totally sucked monkey balls Logan. I didn’t expect to do that well…to come so close to immunity and not get bites.

2. At the start of the merge, it was pointed out that UsAl had the most members. You have now voted out two players from UsAl, and suddenly Pusa has a numbers advantage. Should anybody on Pusa be worried simply because of that trend?

2). I am hoping that people are not still thinking along tribal lines at this point…especially since old Aldn has the smallest remaining tribe.

ANTON,

1. But neither UsAl nor Pusa have ever made up a majority of the remaining players left in the game. That’s the tricky part with three different tribes merging into one, isn’t it Anton? Because you can have the most bodies to vote, but even if you all stick together, you cannot be responsible for the whole majority.

1. Yeah its no secret that Usal had a large portion of the votes but we all didn’t stick together and 2 Usal have been voted out in a row. Hopefully tribal lines have faded and people can vote based on relationships and mutual interests over which tribe we started in.

2. Last round we had a 6-2-2 vote. It is rare to see two players receive two or more votes, and neither being voted out. Does that mean the game is still all up in the air?

2. With the players left in this game it will be up in the air until there are 2 people sitting in front of a jury.

QUINTIN,

1. You received two votes at the last Tribal Council. The only player not from former UsAl to receive votes since we merged. Any reason why you think you received those votes?

It doesn’t surprise me that I got votes last tribal. If you are walking into tribal without immunity you should expect to get votes. I heard people are just throwing my name around like it’s free candy, and this is survivor. We are hungry and playing a game. So free candy is looking pretty good right now and people might just take it. So I expect to go home.

2. It’s rare to play an online version of Survivor past the merge where the odds of somebody having a hidden immunity idol is low. Currently only the Aldn idol or the Unanimous idol could be in play at the moment. Has anybody claimed to possessing either of these idols, or is it assumed that nobody owns an idol?

2. Nobody has announced that they have the hidden immunity idol: from my knowledge. It is possible that someone could have it. I don’t think anyone does…but if someone does, hey! All the power to them… and please don’t use it on me

ERIK,

1. There has only been one round in this whole game where everybody from former UsAl has not won immunity. Are they really that lethal in challenges all around, or have they lucked out by the challenges provided to them up to this point?

I think we were all worried about old UsAl at the merge for 2 reasons. First, they had the most amount of former tribe member, which was scary. They obviously worked well as a team, and at that point we all assumed that it was one giant alliance. And obviously they are all good at challenges since they only went to tribal once, and someone from that tribe won individual immunity each time, although 2 of the challenges in the merge have had some degree of luck involved.

2. Why do you think somebody would entertain the thought to choose to vote you over everyone else right now?

At this point in the game, I think the only reason someone would think of voting me out is because I am just in their way of the final 2. I’m not the best in challenges, I am not the most social, I am not the most strategic. I am not saying I am bad at any of them, but at least one other person is better in each of these categories at this point.

IAN,

1. You’ve pretty much been the comedian of the group since day one. Do you think everybody in this group knows what to make of you?

I wasn’t aware that I am the official comedian of the group but I am fine with the title. And in real life, I don’t even know what to make of myself sometime, so I highly doubt the group knows.

2. How do you separate long term from short term goals when you reach the merge? It’s always such a scramble just to survive Tribal Council, but yet you still have to figure out a way to win if you do keep surviving.

That is one of the many things that make this game tough. You just have to figure out all of your goals and figure out which should be tackled on first. Then make sure it all works out in the end.

KATIE,

1. This is the first season in quite a few years that we’ve had a real lack of female representation. I have avoided asking this question in previous rounds, but does something such as gender isolation affect your approach to the game?

1. I like playing with guys better because I’m such a bitch which leads me to question 2…

2. Or is it easier to play a game with a bunch of males rather than females?

2. But boys forgive me because I have these awesome boobs! Jkjk it is easier to play with guys though for the most part but I have had good female allies in the past as well.

KYLE,

1. What’s the biggest error in this game that you always worry about making?

1. I talk to much and can get annoying if I’m not being funny and merely just trying to be funny. There is a difference. A game like this can change on a single conversion or a bad joke.

2. Is there anybody left in this game who you wish “wow, I wish I had more time to talk to them over the past few weeks”?

2.ive gotten to know a lot of the players quite well over the past few weeks. I wish I had more time to visit with Marc and Majid early on because I’ve had the least amount of time to chat with them. I would like to give an honourable mention to John on the jury as a Canadian I felt like me and him would of gotten along well had things been different early

MAJID,

1. You went from winning a challenge to being the first one eliminated. Were you expecting to win this challenge too?

well as well as last challenge it was depending on guessing so my chances are 50 % to succeed I got luck last challenge , on the other hand I screwed this one it’s all luck.

2. How much has the language barrier affected you in this game?

2-it kills me I’m non English speaker and it takes more effort than others to understand the challenge 100% but it’s survivor expect the unexpected.

MARC,

1. Immunity ought to feel good right now. You received two votes at the previous Tribal Council. Do you think you would have been voted out this round if not for winning immunity?

It could have been me, of course.

2. Do you feel like you have any extra power because you have individual immunity for this Tribal Council?

Idk, most times the person with the necklace is approached because he or she is the only person that can speak that round without any fear, that’s all the power I have now.

Okay. When you vote, please do so in the following manner:

“VOTE: (VOTE HERE)
REASON: (REASON HERE)”

e.g.

VOTE: (Logan the Wackiest)
REASON: I would wager all twenty-five of my challenge points that you will finally be eliminated this round, and I can assure you nobody will be hitting the post.

Okay. Marc has immunity. You cannot vote for Marc. Everybody else is fair game. Between now and 5:00pm eastern Saturday, it is time to vote. Ykwac tribe, you’re up.

***

ALLAN,

VOTE: Quinton
Quinton is a sound vote because it weakens Kyle. I need Kyle to be closer to me than Quinton. Ian and I went round and round about this one and ultimately it was Katie that swayed him to going towards voting Q. I have told Ian I am voting Q and I am living up to that promise.

ANTON,

My vote is for Ian
Tired of your “comedic” routine. Gonna shoot at each other and see whose got the better aim I guess

ERIK,

Vote: IAN
Reason: Ian, you are currently well connected with 2 different alliances. You think you are the ring leader, and you may very well be, but we will see after this vote. You need to go so I can set my final 4 alliance in stone with Allan and Anton. You’re also annoying

IAN,

Vote: Quintin
Reason: I do not think you are the biggest Pusa threat, but apparently your lack of socializing has cost you.

KATIE,

Vote :Ian
Reason blindside! Sorry I trust you but you are in the best position ever I had to run over you with my mac truck. Stay golden pony boy.

KYLE,

VOTE: IAN
REASON: I got word I was targeted by you from my “eh team” alliance if it wasn’t me it’s my ally that we agreed to be there until the end. Times are tough and it was you or me I hope that it’s not me I wish it didn’t have to be you. Know that I would of never done that to you when I was asked originally I told them all NO we need to target a usal but I was outvoted no hard feelings. After your gone im re naming the group chat

MAJID,

VOTE: QUINTIN
REASON:ITS MY ONLY PLAN NOW

MARC,

Vote: Quintin
Reason: Trying to decrease Pusa alliance

QUINTIN,

Vote for: Ian
“I really want you to say. I’m voting this way because idk if you feel the same way about me.”

***

If anybody played a hidden individual immunity idol, now would be the time I would reveal it.
.
.
.
Okay. Once the votes are read, the decision is final and the person voted out will be removed from the tribe group almost immediately.
.
.
.
I’ll read the votes.
.
.
.
FIRST VOTE:
.
.
.
(Quinton)
.
.
.
One vote Quintin. Yes. With an ‘I’.
.
.
.
SECOND VOTE:
.
.
.
(Quintin)
.
.
.
Two votes Quintin.
.
.
.
NEXT VOTE:
.
.
.
(Quintin)
.
.
.
Three votes Quintin.
.
.
.
FOURTH VOTE:
.
.
.
(QUINTIN)
.
.
.
Four votes Quintin.
.
.
.
NEXT VOTE:
.
.
.
.
.
(Ian)
.
.
.
Four votes Quintin, one vote Ian.
.
.
.
NEXT VOTE:
.
.
.
.
(IAN)
.
.
.
Four votes Quintin, two votes Ian.
.
.
.
.
SEVENTH VOTE:
.
.
.
.
(Ian)
.
.
.
Four votes Quintin, three votes Ian. Two votes left.
.
.
.
NEXT VOTE:
.
.
.
.
(IAN)
.
.
.
We’re tied.
.
.
Four votes Quintin. Four votes Ian. One vote left.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
FINAL VOTE:
.
.
.
.
.
Tenth person voted out of SCWL 8, and the third member of our jury:
.
.
.
.
.
.
(Ian)
.
.
.
Ian, the tribe has spoken.
.
(XXX)
.
It’s time for you to go.

IAN: I knew something was up. I KNEW IT! Good game. And next time y’all try and blindside someone, act natural. Dumbasses.

KYLE: DEATHSQUAD

KATIE: Good game Ian. I really enjoyed playing with you!

KYLE: Good game man

ALLAN: It was a pleasure working with you bud.

QUINTIN: Great job man! I really liked you!

ME: Well, I tend to use this word a lot less than Jeff Probst does. . .but I think that is what you call a blindside. You took out somebody who you thought was at the top of the food chain.

The biggest problem with eliminating the biggest threats over the past three rounds is this: Are you voting out the players who have been serving as your buffer zone?

This is a brand new game, and I’ll see you guys at around 1:00pm eastern tomorrow for your next event.

ERIK: you’re late to the party Logan

ME: I’m like Trump in the board room: Entering well after everyone has been seated.

KYLE: We are actually having mimosas right now Logan

KYLE: It’s like winning a reward challenge

ERIK: We’re playing f–king survivot not f–king apprentice like f–king

ANTON: ^put it in the swear jar Erik

KATIE: Food chain? We are a drinking group actually. Shots shots shots! Everybody !

8.104 SCWL 8 Round 10 Blog

BETWEEN THE SHEETS

It was always a fun card game to play growing up. This is a challenge I have wanted to do in SCWL for a few seasons. The biggest obstacle was to adapt it properly for SCWL in a non-live manner, but make it involve -some- skill.

I think I pulled it off as well as a challenge like that could be, but it did feel like it played out in a manner that made it very distant from the players.

And yes, there really is a ten minute video of me dealing out each individual card to ensure I didn’t create a fake outcome after the fact.

LONG TERM PLANNING

This round was incredible in terms of every single person trying to play out every move between now and day “39”. It doesn’t matter who you are aligned with at the moment if they are going to be responsible for your departure in two to four rounds down the road.

That is what happened here. Just look at these confessionals. The current overall core of seven could eliminate Majid and Marc in the next two TCs. Yet there is nothing comfortable about moving forward with seven moving parts. In Survivor: China, a similar situation happened where Zhan Hu was down to Peih Gee and Erik during the middle of the merge.

Because everyone knew PG and Erik had to be separated at some point, but not immediately, the remaining players eliminated a couple of their own prime targets who could be major threats at the end of the game.

Unlike Survivor: China’s predictable boot order, however, the players being targeted in SCWL are people who are closest to Majid and Marc. In Survivor: China, the players furthest away from the minority duo were eliminated to create a dull finish.

TRUSTING WHEN TO DISTRUST

This was another reason why the vote was complex this round. Everybody was making assumptions as to what configurations are needed to ensure they can trust the people that they want to stick around.

“Will I be able to have Marc’s loyalty if ‘X’ goes home?”
“Will Allan be a much better ally if Ian gets voted out?”
“Where will Quintin stand if I blindside Kyle?”
“Is there any scenario where I could have Anton on my side permanently?”

While all of this is being measured and evaluated, everybody is making Final Four deals. Two of the most common deals popping up involved four of Ian, Allan, Anton, Katie, Kyle, and Erik.

Quintin, Marc, and Majid are never really in the equation. If Pusa wants to eliminate one of its own members, Quintin appears to be the easiest person to ditch.

MARC AND MAJID’S CHANCES OF WINNING ARE GONE

Yeah, I pretty much figured Marc and Majid were not going to win at this point. They have become too big of jury threats. There have been thousands of ORGs and thirty seasons of Survivor to confirm for us how a jury typically votes at the end of the game.

Player from the underdog tribe earns the votes from who was backstabbed by the majority in a disrespectful manner and identifies with the minority player’s struggle -> Most honest players from the majority/whoever the jury knows is a real person when interacting with them -> Schemers -> Bystanders.

I am a firm believer of the “there is no such thing as a bitter jury”, and this is always the order in which a jury votes for a player to win. I cannot really recall a jury which deviates from this.

When you have Brittnee in Big Brother Canada 3 going to cast her vote for who she wants to win and says “all gameplay–no emotion”, I don’t buy it for a second. I hate how jurors have to avoid the backlash from viewers by denying emotion ever entered their voting process.

Look at Mike from Survivor: Worlds Apart. He is one of the worst post-merge strategists, needed immunity for six consecutive rounds, and won due to a voting block who sympathized with his position. Jeff Probst saying crap like “did playing from the bottom help you be looser and more strategic?” isn’t really necessary. Just own up and say Mike constantly being immune, and having the jury identify with him is 99.9% responsible for winning the game.

THE COMEDIAN

I am not sure if this is why Kyle voted for Quintin in the end, but I never thought a question about whether or not Ian was the comedian of the group would inspire such a confessional from Kyle.

At this point I didn’t even know Ian was going. It seemed like Anton, Quintin, Kyle, or Majid were all likely possibilities heading into TC. I hope crowning Ian as the comedian did not sway people into that direction.

MARC’S INDIVIDUAL WIN

Yes, Marc finally secures an individual immunity win. The only returning player this season to never have the talisman is Anton. I thought Anton would have enough time just to have the necklace around his neck at least once. Maybe he will save it for the final immunity challenge?

SILLY AUCTION POINTS

Yeah, keeping people in suspense about the auction points was pretty hilarious. Sorry that you wanted the mystery to end sooner rather than later, Erik.

ILLUSION OF EQUALITY

Yes, a fitting quote to describe Ian’s exit. Ian had a lot of connections. He was creating alliances which all counted on his vote. Unfortunately, Ian and Anton ultimately wanted to have the exact same position in the game, and too many people on Pusa were aware of what Ian was trying to do.

Was Ian transparent with his motives? Did coming from the Aldn tribe who everyone knew was in the middle already make him a suspect for playing both sides of the fence? I think so.

In any event, Ian’s illusion of equality backfired as everyone else made him think he was more powerful than everyone else, but proving it was not the case.

I know this vote was not quite a blindside as I do give Ian credit for knowing something was not quite right. Tragically, he did not piece together that he was the true target.

Ian was a fun character in this game. He didn’t hold back his thoughts throughout the game, and managed to ally with people even hours after he made fun of them. That takes a lot of social skills to accomplish such a feat. Furthermore, this was Ian’s first game. He was in a really good position for his first time playing, but fell victim to a very competitive field. Maybe Anton is ultimately to blame as he was the deciding vote to allow Pusa to green light this plan.

ANTON TAKING A RISK

Anton has Ian’s position just like he wanted. The only problem is if he has made the same mistake that the cast of SCWL 6 made by letting a tight group of four make it to the top eight. Could Pusa turn against each other, or will UsAl and Allan’s best case scenario be a 4-4 tie?

CRAZY FINISH?

It was this round that clued me into the fact that this was probably going to be a crazy finish. Too many possibilities were being explored for the vote this round. Marc and Majid are going to be safe for at least one more round as a core player needs to go. But who will it be? We shall soon find out.

8.105 SCWL 8 Round 10 Fantasy Pool + Predictions

BRIAN WHITEHEAD:
1. Erik Ward [PUSA]
2. Kyle Minault [PUSA]
3. Ian Miller [ALDN]
4. Quintin Phillipson [PUSA]
5. Katie Overbey [PUSA]
6. Allan Baldridge [ALDN]
7. Magid “War” Iour [UsAl]
8. Anton Hirsch [UsAl]
9. Marc Oriol [UsAl]

CAMERON JOHNSON:
1. Allan Baldridge [ALDN]
2. Katie Overbey [PUSA]
3. Marc Oriol [UsAl]
4. Magid “War” Iour [UsAl]
5. Quintin Phillipson [PUSA]
6. Kyle Minault [PUSA]
7. Erik Ward [PUSA]
8. Ian Miller [ALDN]
9. Anton Hirsch [UsAl]

CLAYTON SPIVEY:
1. Katie Overbey [PUSA]
2. Marc Oriol [UsAl]
3. Quintin Phillipson [PUSA]
4. Erik Ward [PUSA]
5. Allan Baldridge [ALDN]
6. Anton Hirsch [UsAl]
7. Ian Miller [ALDN]
8. Kyle Minault [PUSA]
9. Magid “War” Iour [UsAl]

CODY JAMES
1. Katie Overbey [PUSA]
2. Kyle Minault [PUSA]
3. Quintin Phillipson [PUSA]
4. Allan Baldridge [ALDN]
5. Ian Miller [ALDN]
6. Anton Hirsch [UsAl]
7. Erik Ward [PUSA]
8. Magid “War” Iour [UsAl]
9. Marc Oriol [UsAl]

EFE KARANISOGLU:
1. Kyle Minault [PUSA]
2. Katie Overbey [PUSA]
3. Quintin Phillipson [PUSA]
4. Allan Baldridge [ALDN]
5. Erik Ward [PUSA]
6. Ian Miller [ALDN]
7. Anton Hirsch [UsAl]
8. Marc Oriol [UsAl]
9. Magid “War” Iour [UsAl]

JESSICA FREY:
1. Erik Ward [PUSA]
2. Katie Overbey [PUSA]
3. Allan Baldridge [ALDN]
4. Anton Hirsch [UsAl]
5. Marc Oriol [UsAl]
6. Kyle Minault [PUSA]
7. Quintin Philipson [PUSA]
8. Ian Miller [ALDN]
9. Magid “War” Iour [UsAl]

LISTER POTTER III:
1. Erik Ward [PUSA]
2. Kyle Minault [PUSA]
3. Marc Oriol [UsAl]
4. Ian Miller [ALDN]
5. Katie Overbey [PUSA]
6. Magid “War” Iour [UsAl]
7. Anton Hirsch [UsAl]
8. Allan Baldridge [ALDN]
9. Quintin Philipson [PUSA]

RUDEZ MERKS:
1. Allan Baldridge [ALDN]
2. Ian Miller [ALDN]
3. Anton Hirsch [UsAl]
4. Marc Oriol [UsAl]
5. Magid “War” Iour [UsAl]
6. Quintin Philipson [PUSA]
7. Kyle Minault [PUSA]
8. Erik Ward [PUSA]
9. Katie Overbey [PUSA]

MY PROJECTED BOOT LIST

8: QUINTIN
7: MAJID
6: KYLE
5: ERIK
4: MARC
3: KATIE
2: ANTON
1: ALLAN

8.106 Next Time on SCWL. . .

– With Anton’s help, the former members of Pusa appear to have the game on lock as a majority can no longer overthrow them.
– But a Final Four alliance isn’t enough as everyone analyzes their chances of making it to the Final Two. Could another blindside really occur?
– As the new Decider, Katie faces her first decision of the post-merge phase.
– And a shocking turn of events in the outside world puts one player’s game in jeopardy.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

