SCWL 8 Round 9

Ninth round

“Deathsquad and a Canada”

8.90 Previously on SCWL. . .
8.91 SCWL 8 Round 9 Info
8.92 SCWL 8 Round 9 Confessionals
8.93 SCWL 8 Round 9 Tribal Council
8.94 SCWL 8 Round 9 Blog
8.95 SCWL 8 Round 9 Fantasy Pool + Predictions
8.96 Next Time on SCWL. . .

8.90 Previously on SCWL. . .

– Everyone was preparing for three tribes to merge into one.
– But the merge would be put on hold as John used his Mutiny Trigger.
– Due to a miscalculation, returning players Marc and Anton mutinied to Aldn. UsAl was down to three members, and Aldn doubled in size. Ian and Allan were in their worst position yet as each had a past vote, but Anton and Marc had none.
– The vote to merge came, and everybody agreed to finally merge into one tribe.
– Matt’s role as The Decider was not over as he had to decide whether or not all remaining players would be on the jury.
– Everyone was relieved as Matt concluded there would be a jury of nine for this season.
– In a special endurance challenge, John won individual immunity and kept himself safe.
– But Pusa was targeting Matt–and UsAl was targeting Katie. Ian and Allan, the two remaining former Aldns, found themselves in the position they were preparing for weeks.
– After being tipped off Allan and Ian would align with Pusa, Anton flipped his vote and eliminated Matt.
– Matt became the first juror, and sarcastically endorsed Anton as the winner.
– Will the others take the hint and eliminate Anton? And will UsAl go down one by one?
– Ten players remain; who will be eliminated next?

8.91 SCWL 8 Round 9 Info

Date: March 14, 2015 – March 17, 2015
Twist: Each player will secretly vote for the person they wish to receive the final/only hidden immunity idol in the game. Once a player has a unanimous vote in their favour from all remaining players left in the game, they will receive the hidden immunity idol.
Immunity Challenge IX: Sports Day
Info: Players make a series of predictions regarding the outcome of various professional sporting matches. The player to create their list of predictions to maximize the highest number of points wins immunity.
Winner: Majid
Voted Out: John
Vote Count: 6-2-2 (John-Marc-Quintin)

8.92 SCWL 8 Round 9 Confessionals

ALLAN

None.

ANTON

None.

ERIK

None.

IAN

Katie is the new Decider? You cannot script brilliant stuff like that! Oh the irony! The cruel irony!

Before the votes were revealed last night, Matt found out through Anton that he was getting 7 votes against him. He tried talking to Kyle and I separately to convince us to make a last minute move against Anton. It was very sad to see someone who once had so much power to fall so low, begging us to keep him, pledging full loyalty, it was a tear jerker man! But I could not change my game just for someone who decides to pledge loyalty to save his s–t.

Things got strange after that. I ended up trolling him about his offer. I asked in response how much pizza costs in his country. He said 8 dollars. I told him I could get it cheaper waling distance from my house and declined his alliance offer. He was obviously confused at this. Afterwards he gave me advice for the game, told me not to be so dickish, which is something I am glad he was able to take because i was being a jerk, and to not trust Anton, which I do not definitely do at all. He wants to help me, believing that either Anton, Allan, or I will be in the finals, seeing me as the lesser of three evils. Gives me even more of an incentive to take Allan to the finals. This talk and a later talk with Majid proved how dangerous John is. Matt and Majid think John is very trustworthy and loyal, when it is obvious to the Kyle, Allan, and I how he only says what you want to hear. John needs to go. Then Anton. That guy will flip on anyone. Need to show Allan the light.

And when I say he wants to help me, this was all just before he officially got voted out. It was just advice and we do not talk now that he is on the jury!

I am in an alliance called Deathsquad. F–k my life

Majid dominated that challenge. When I mentioned to the alliance of his great performance, Erik countered that it was all luck. Of course he would say that, mr. Last Place. We appear to all be fine with John being voted out. What we are not sure of is how to deal with this not so Hidden Immunity Idol. Some people so not want anyone to have it, while Kyle is campaigning for idol votes. I will definently vote for him to get an idol if he wants it. Then blindside his ass out of here. MUAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA. I have issues

I spoke too soon. Anton and Majid were trying to get me to keep John. Luckily Anton understands its a good idea with some convincing of future moves. I hope Majid forgives me. He forgave me for worse.

idol nomination: Kyle. reason: well actually I just hope Majid sticks to the plan. MY PLAN!

JOHN

Confessional: Tribal council was what I expected. I know Pusa knew I was lying to them and to some extent I knew they were lying to me. I definitely made some mistakes with my gameplay and should I be the next to go I only have myself to blame. The thing I’m the most disappointed about is that Anton couldn’t stick by his word just to vote with UsAl. It would have made no difference in the end result. For my once strongest ally to have gone rogue and my other strongest ally to be out of the game it seems like I’m I may seem down and out now but this game isn’t over until it’s over and I intend to do whatever I can to get back up and continue fighting.

Confessional: Since the early days at UsAl I was never really sure about War. I thought he was wishy washy and would stab me in the back. I have begun to learn that my perceptions were wrong and I couldn’t be more regretful of my earlier thoughts about him. He truly is a great guy and probably a friend I could have after this game is over. At this point he probably is my closest true ally.

Confessional: Second is the first loser and today I really feel that sting more than any other. As much as Majid won’t admit it I gave him the strategy and the means with which to win that challenge and ultimately shot myself in the foot. Between the last vote and my apparent challenge prowess I’m pretty much confirmed dead man walking status right now. It will take a miracle for me to survive past this next vote. I won’t give up though. I will never give up. This tribal truly is my last stand and I don’t intend to go out easy.

I’m nominating Kyle for the idol

KATIE

Dammit someone ratted out the plan at 2 am. Seriously?! Dammit

So I messaged marc. I sent him this

9convo9

9convo 29

And also wanted to send this to Matt but I took your tc advice and didn’t. …

EDITOR’S NOTE: It’s a meme of an older lady licking a popsicle saying “All These Flavours. . .And You Chose to be Salty”.

Hey I feel it’s unfair that someone got to pick different types games. We should have gotten the option to pick his games I would have done better

I choose to nominate myself because kyle wants it but I would rather no idol if it’s not mine

Confession. John should be going this round. Next round I’m voting with pusa but I think quintin is going.

KYLE

You just made my night I love sports

How did my picks go lol I cannot believe that UFC 185 card

I would like to protest the ruling of allowing Marc to pick soccer matches

•I think we agreed on an alliance name “deathsquad” in honour of the JRE and Redban. Its still a long way but I trust most of the members of our alliance and they are all very good players who can all win this game depending on who they are sitting with at the end. I feel threatened by antons flip more then secure, I feel katie bringing him in gives her the F5 or F7 play to take down my alliance. But I’ve grown very close with Allan from Aldn we are both trustworthy loyal players and Ian is also my problem is who do I bring with me from Pusa? Katie? Who I assume has a side plot with Erik and Anton. Or do I play safe with Quinton coming with me and spoiling my party? If I take katie people will either hate her for being a bitch and not vote her at FTC, or they will think she dragged me to the end! And I do not want this game to look like that! Or do j bring Q and prove it was me the whole time as the true master mind ! Time will tell…time will tell

MAJID

hi logan im sooo lucky and sooo happy

can u tell me

in case tied votes happened what will happen in a revote

logan can i give my winning to immune john?

ME: If there is a tie after a revote, past votes cast at previous Tribal Councils determines who goes home.

And yes, you are allowed to give immunity to John.

Are you giving individual immunity to John or are you keeping it?

MAJID: can i give it to him

one hour before the results

?

ME: Yes, but then Tribal Council would be extended by 23 hours.

MAJID: can any one voted

change his vote

ME: If individual immunity is given away during Tribal Council, yes, everyone will be allowed to change their vote.

MAJID: oh dammit

what if i give it now to him

tc will be extended 23 hours

ME: TC will not be extended if you give him immunity now.

Everyone will have 24 hours to vote once I post Tribal Council soon.

MAJID: omg

its sooo hard

i wanna keep him and my self but i cant lol

if i give it to him they will turn to m

e

lol

can u give me 5 minutes to decide

ME: Yes.

MAJID: ok thanks sooo much

sorry for being late

i ll keep the immunity for my self

MARC

CONFESSIONAL DAY 32 Everything went wrong in the last vote. I had the feeling that Ian and Allan would not vote with us, and I was surprised because I don’t know why Anton joined them. Katie has spoken to me and hinted that my UsAl fellows wanted to use me as a wildcard in order to save Matt. That when they saw that Matt was leaving they mentioned my name as an alternative option. I do not know how truth there are in all this, for now I want to keep trusting my UsAl mates, especially when John had warned me that he had proposed my name in an attempt to mislead Katie, even offering her a f3 deal. I want to get along with Katie in order for her to give me protection over the upcoming tribal councils so I’m pretending to believe her.

CONFESSIONAL DAY 35 Apparently the Usal alliance is going to hell. The fact that Majid has immunity increases my chances of leaving. However, if John gets the boot and I stay, in that case my idea is to increase my chances of staying as long as possible in the game. I’m try to create fake alliances with some people that would guarantee some protection to me, but I don’t trust them too much, I’ll play what I do best here, I mean, pretending to be the poor foreigner underdog who can barely fend for himself. And if I can I’ll do things to ingratiate myself with others. I want to be that naive, good-natured fellow that nobody dares to vote, if I can manage to do it. Obviously I can die trying.

i nominate Kyle

QUINTIN

None.

8.93 SCWL 8 Round 9 Tribal Council

TRIBAL COUNCIL #9

(ALLAN)-(ANTON)-(ERIK)-(IAN)-(JOHN)-(KATIE)-(KYLE)-(*MAJID*)-(MARC)-(QUINTIN)
XXX
(IRV)-(SHANE)-(PAUL)-(TINA)-(AJDIN)-(ANDREI)-(SUSAN)-(MATT)

The asterisks around Majid’s name indicate that he currently possesses individual immunity.

He is immune unless he gives the talisman to another player.

A member of the jury, Matt, has already been brought in.

He is merely here to observe. He is not allowed to speak nor do any smilies. Nor are you allowed to address him. He is strictly here to gather information, rather than be sent transcripts as was done in past seasons.

ALLAN,

1. Take me through that last Tribal Council. The vote came down 7-4, with somebody from former UsAl going home. Are tribal lines officially done?

I am not sure if tribal lines are officially done but they are difinately blurred. At this point they almost have to be dont they?

2. Last round, Matt was eliminated while holding The Decider. Does being in the individual phase of the game make The Decider that much more valuable?

It definately could. I try not to let my self get bogged down with the “what if’s” in a game though….I will try to roll with the punches as they come. That being said I could see the Decider coming into play in a big way later on in the game.

ANTON,

1. Matt called you out on his way out of Tribal Council. Were you expecting to be put in the hot seat so soon after the merge?

I think everyone saw what Matt was trying to do and knew he was a bit sour. is it fun to have your name called out like that, no but at the same time i think people saw what he was doing and took it with a grain of salt.

2. Did that incident make you think about how badly everybody left wants to win this game? Because all of the inactive players were eliminated before the merge, and now you have several active and enthusiastic players who are going to be on the jury.

There is no doubt everyone left in this game is out to win it which is going to make these next couple of weeks alot of fun. I would have been shocked had Matt rode off into the night like a gentleman without saying something.

ERIK,

1. Individual challenges tend to quickly separate the contenders in challenges from those who may likely need to prepare for being vulnerable every round. Are you already gauging the others based on who may be immune down the road, and who you can count on losing challenge after challenge?

1. If we were only basing it off of individual challenges thus far we would have very little to go off of. The previous challenge told us nothing but who is better at guessing and who follows sports. But the previous challenge told us who is most dedicated to the game and who wants to be here, but we also know how people perform from the tribe part of the game.

2. The online adaptation of Survivor presents the rare issue of real life clashing with the timeline of a game being played. How do you balance a vacation where you are trying to relax with a cutthroat game of SCWL?

2. It was very hard balancing this game with vacation . I had limited WiFi and limited time but I communicated with people yje best I could throughout the week. Luckily I will be back home tomorrow. Unfortunately, I go right back into a full work schedule, but at least that is predictable.

IAN,

1. Last Tribal Council felt like the first time in weeks where a ballot did not contain a member of the former Aldn tribe. Do you expect this trend to continue, or are alliances still up in the air?

Considering that I make up half of the former Aldn, I hope an Aldn name does not appear on the ballot due to the likelihood of it being me. Unless that name is Irv. Alliances are pretty concrete at the moment; the majority is in a good position.

2. The post-merge individual hidden immunity idol was announced. What are the odds that somebody will claim it sooner rather than later?

For someone to get the idol, everyone must agree on who that person is. The odds of that happening with this many people are slim. If an Idol is claimed, it won’t be for a couple rounds from now or so.

JOHN,

1. Last time you won immunity, and somebody from former UsAl tribe was voted out. This time you finish in second, and lose the challenge. Did you think you needed immunity this round?

1. I definitely think I needed it this round. Only 4 people voted against the majority last round. One of them is sitting on the jury and another one has immunity. Narrowing it down that way pretty much shows that I very well might be in serious trouble for this vote. And obviously my performance in challenges speaks for itself. I haven’t been hiding what I can do in them. I’m a known element

2. What’s your take on the new hidden immunity idol? Will that have an immediate impact as to how people will approach the game?

2. I haven’t thought about it all that much given the position I’m in but it’s bound to change the game in some way. Anytime a new variable is introduced into the game it gets crazier. I wouldn’t expect this to be any different.

JOHN: Sidenote: I love Quintin’s questions

KATIE,

1. Bad news is you received four votes. The good news is you received The Decider. Was it worth the trade off?

1. I don’t think it’s relevant but I’m not happy about those votes just happy I didn’t go to jury it was a close one.

2. Have you and others speculated as to the future decisions the holder of The Decider may be responsible for?

2. I think it matters and everyone is just trying to survive the best they can. It sure mattered last round and it matters this round and I’m sure it will matter next round.

KYLE,

1. How surprised were you that Majid clobbered everybody at this challenge? Did it awaken you to the idea that anything can truly happen in this game?

1.I’ve always known anything can happen in a game like this. If I wasn’t sure of that Majid winning 15 straight games from Yemen sure proved that…I’ll be sending him a list next week and cashing out Monday ….70/30 split?

2. There are four former members of Pusa and UsAl, and two former members of Aldn. Does this matter to you at all? Or is everyone past this?

2. I trust the players I’m playing with and they know they can trust me. I’ve gotten to know some of the players in this game and it’s really been a pleasure playing alongside them. I couldn’t of picked a better tribe to start if I did it myself!

MAJID,

1. You have individual immunity. How badly did you need to win immunity this round?

1-i wanted sooo bad i want to show my former tribe and others that im good im not suck player also im afraid cuz im in danger .

2. Were you as surprised as others were when you won this challenge by a large margin?

2-i was shocked i knew i ll lose 99% but thank god it went well while i never watched NBA or such things.

MAJID: Quintin i liked your answer lol

MARC,

1. There was some controversy surrounding your ability to predict football games for the challenge. Did you see it as being controversial at all?

Are you serious? Controversial? I haven’t read any controversial comments about my predictions ability.

2. Have the SCWL Points from Opening Day been brought up in any discussions since the merge?

I don’t know. In the tribe they always speak when I turn around lol

QUINTIN,

1. You are always last alphabetically, and thus get the least number of original questions. Does this bother you?

When I observed the Aldn tribal council my heart broke when I saw Susan go home because I realized at that moment that I would be at the bottom of every tribal discussion for the rest of the game. However it doesn’t bother me because why would you want to get rid of the guy who gets the crappy questions because that means it isn’t you! If I was Majid, Marc, and Kyle; I would want to keep Quintin in the game because it guarantees myself to never get the crappy questions for the tribal. You’re welcome.

2. Would you have a preference for next Tribal Council to address questions to players in reverse alphabetical order, therefore giving you the freshest questions from the stack?

Maybe for one tribal we could do reverse alphabetical order just for fun and so you don’t ask me this question next week. Or maybe for a week you could just call me by my middle name: Falcon; and I would start with an ‘F’. But this is a very serious topic I would need to discuss with the tribe and if me taking all the crap questions means people will keep me t prevent them getting the crap questions, then I’ll accept them. ;P hahaha

Okay. When you vote, please do so in the following manner:

“VOTE: (VOTE HERE)
REASON: (REASON HERE)”

e.g.

VOTE: Logan
REASON: In the match-up of Logan versus Tribal Council, I predict Logan will lose and have his torch snuffed.

Okay. You cannot vote for Majid unless I hear otherwise. Everybody else is fair game. Between now and 8:00pm eastern Tuesday, it is time to vote. Ykwac tribe, you’re up.

***

ALLAN,

Vote: My vote is for John.

Hate to do it because I honestly think he would be useful to me. I was hoping to keep him around a bit longer but now is not the right time to make a big move. I was hoping (and tried to gently push) the vote would be Marc.

ANTON,

My vote is for Marc

Doing this to try and save John

ERIK,

Vote : John.
Reason: you’re a great guy and I want to keep you, but there are a lot of people who want to keep you for various reasons, and youre loyal to a lot more people than me, so you are a threat to me

IAN,

VOTE: John
REASON: Biggest threat not in the alliance stupidly named “Deathsquad”

JOHN,

Vote: Marc

Reason: This is my last chance to stay in this game. I’m praying it’s you and not me

KATIE,

Vote John
Reason. you pissed off Ian. You are a nice guy but I gotta vote with my allies

KYLE,

VOTE: JOHN
REASON: I had to eliminate you because of tribal alliances and you are a challenge threat later in the game

MAJID,

VOTE:QUINTIN

REASON:weaKEST ON FORMER PUSA TRIBE

MARC,

Vote: Quintin
Reason: Trying to save UsAl alliance

QUINTIN,

Vote for: John

“I really wished you weren’t the one going home tonight. But you are my biggest threat up to this point”

***

If anybody played a hidden individual immunity idol, now would be the time I would reveal it.
.
.
.
Okay. Once the votes are read, the decision is final and the person voted out will be removed from the tribe camp almost immediately.
.
.
I’ll read the votes.
.
.
.
FIRST VOTE:
.
.
.
(Marc)
.
.
One vote Marc.
.
.
.
SECOND VOTE:
.
.
.
(John.)
.
.
We’re tied, one vote Marc and one vote John.
.
.
.
NEXT VOTE:
.
.
.
(John.)
.
.
.
Two votes John, one vote Marc.
.
.
.
NEXT VOTE:
.
.
.
.
.
.
(Marc)
.
.
.
Tied again. Two votes John, two votes Marc.
.
.
.
.
FIFTH VOTE:
.
.
.
(QUINTIN)
.
.
.
Two votes John, two votes Marc, one vote Quintin.
.
.
.
NEXT VOTE:
.
.
.
(Quintin)
.
.
.
We’re tied. Two votes John, two votes Marc, two votes Quintin.
.
.
.
.
NEXT VOTE:
.
.
.
(John)
.
.

.
.
Three votes John, two votes Marc, two votes Quintin. Three votes left.
.
.
.
.
EIGHTH VOTE:
.
.
.
.
(JOHN)
.
.
.
Four votes John, two votes Marc, two votes Quintin. Two votes left.
.
.
.
.
NEXT VOTE:
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
Ninth person voted out of SCWL 8, and the second member of our jury. . .
.
.
(John)
.
.
John, the tribe has spoken.
.
(XXXX)
.
It’s time for you to go.

MAJID: 😦
JOHN: Good game everyone. Good luck but I hope you all get bit by a freaking crocodile!
JOHN: That was a joke BTW. There are now hard feelings with anyone.
ERIK: Sorry John, you’re a great guy.
KATIE: Good game John!
QUINTIN: ❤ John
KYLE: I hate seeing a Canada have to join the jury….
IAN: a Canada. brilliant
KYLE: Canadian* I hate my iPod
JOHN: I am Canada now!!!
ALLAN: Great game John.

ME: You got rid of the only player who has won individual immunity since the merge. One thing has been made clear over the past two rounds: Challenge threats are not welcome in the Ykwac tribe.

How long will this trend continue? Who knows.

Or was John eliminated because he is a downright likeable Canuck? In that case, you are already looking ahead to day 39. Either you will be well-prepared for the end of this game, or potentially overlooking short term goals.

And that’s what makes hosting Survivor so fascinating. I’ll see you soon for your next challenge.

8.94 SCWL 8 Round 9 Blog

THE UNANIMOUS IDOL

Before this season began, I said that a brand new post-merge hidden immunity idol for this season would be directly inspired by Celebrity Mole: Hawaii and Celebrity Mole: Yucatan.

Evidently, this is the twist I was talking about. All remaining players will cast a secret ballot each round as to who they want to receive the hidden immunity idol. If they do not vote, it defaults to whoever they voted for last or else it is a self-vote.

I went back and forth pre-season if I wanted it to be truly unanimous for someone to receive the idol. I decided to make the requirement as such just to see if somebody could get it. This is by far the toughest hidden immunity idol to obtain in SCWL history.

With this cast, if I swapped the unanimous idol to being the pre-merge idol at each camp with the rogue vote idol as the post-merge idol, I strongly believe all four hidden immunity idols would have been claimed.

If I want idols to be claimed next season, this may be the way to go.

KYLE PURSUES THE IDOL

Kyle is awfully close to getting it. What surprised me the most is the only roadblock to obtaining the idol is one of his two closest allies. Katie is blocking him from being the most powerful player in the game, but yet Katie is the very person Kyle is considering to take to the Final Two.

There are still ten players remaining and Kyle is flipping a coin between taking Quintin or Katie to the end. Would Katie take too many bullets or would Quintin be seen as a bystander? Perhaps Kyle could win regardless of which path he chooses.

I am amazed Kyle is thinking this far when the majority of the cast remains in this game.

ERIK’S VACATION. . .IS HE DRIFTING OUT?

Every season there seems to be that moment where a player’s presence in the game takes a step back. They are not inactive, but you see that killer instinct go down just one notch. A vacation across the continent may be what takes Erik off of his game.

Can he recover or will he have a tough time resuming a one hundred percent commitment to this game?

SPORTS DAY ISSUE

Ah, the Sports Day challenge. I created this back in SCWL 6. The only sport I follow closely is MMA with baseball on the periphery. ORGs are not known for acknowledging sports due to the fact there are few hosts with an interest in sports, but this challenge just flat out works for SCWL.

Seeing the results of this challenge unfold with live updates has always been exciting for the players. You are constantly checking the score to see if you have a shot at immunity, or if you made the wrong call.

The wrinkle with this challenge is I gave permission for Marc to use soccer matches to make predictions. I was not aware that soccer has the most lopsided odds of any sport, as was brought up by Katie and Kyle.

It didn’t really matter as Marc lost the immunity challenge anyway. Who knew soccer would be at the centre of controversy of all sports!

A player’s sports knowledge may give them a huge advantage in this challenge, but it will not guarantee them victory.

And this year. . .that theory was certainly proven to be true.

MAJID’S PERFECT SCORE

I can remember checking Majid’s predictions. If I recall correctly, I checked his score last. John was slated to win immunity.

“Majid does not have access to Western sports. There is no way he beats John’s score,” I thought.

Well, I have never been more wrong about an outcome to an immunity challenge.

My jaw dropped further and further to the floor as Majid correctly predicted every single match-up. In SCWL 6 and 7, nobody got even remotely close to a perfect score.

At first I thought Majid sent in his predictions after all of the matches were over. Maybe Majid was doing this to be funny.

But no. Majid won this fair and square. I double-checked the time stamp of each prediction and made sure it was submitted before the deadline.

Knowing Majid had immunity, I was curious if Majid answered his tiebreaker predictions correctly. Sure enough he did.

It is the craziest outcome to an immunity challenge I have ever seen. Is Majid hiding his sports knowledge from us or does this challenge rely too heavily on luck?

JOHN SHOOTS HIMSELF IN THE FOOT

The outcome was not entirely based on luck. John admitted he gave Majid advice on how to do well at this challenge. This was a crucial round for John to be immune, and he may have blown it due to being too generous with his allies.

It may be the only mistake John makes during this season, but made at the worst possible time.

ANTON IS LABELLED AS UNTRUSTWORTHY

Other than Allan, everyone is keeping a close eye on Anton. This is an interesting switch from how he was perceived throughout SCWL 1. It is strange to see Anton’s allies keeping him on a short leash. Will Anton be able to get Ian to fully trust him?

ALDN DUO NOT AS TIGHT AS I THOUGHT THEY WERE

Over the past couple of rounds, it is becoming clear that Ian and Allan are not on the same page as often as I thought. The only post-merge move they agreed on beforehand was to eliminate Matt before anybody else.

After that both of them have their own unique set of relationships, and I assume heavily disagreed on the boot order. My gut told me they would never write each other’s name down, but I never got the impression they would put up a fight to defend the other from being eliminated.

MAJID NEARLY GIVES UP THE TALISMAN

I briefly forgot about this storyline. Majid was -extremely- close to giving the talisman to John. A move like this rarely happens this early in the post-merge phase. It usually happens near the end when a player rolls the dice and needs to make a big move to secure the win.

Here it was a dilemma of strategy and friendship. John and Majid know they have each other’s back in this game. John helped Majid win this challenge, and Majid knows this. Majid also knows how badly John wants to continue in this game. One of them has to go this round because Pusa is in power, and all view John as a threat and Majid as the most distant.

Or maybe Marc goes instead of Majid if John is safe. Who knows. Pusa members are free to respond to this.

I think Majid was trying to come up with a tricky plan where he could save both he and John but it was not quite coming together.

He instead hangs onto the talisman, and we all know John is going down.

JURORS ATTEND TRIBAL COUNCILS AS THEY OCCUR

In past seasons, jurors were always sent the transcript of every Tribal Council in their jury house group.

When All Stars ended, I evaluated various ways to save time for myself when hosting without interfering with the quality of the game, and also improve the experience for the people playing.

Tribal Councils were always exclusively set in the tribe’s camp whether it be pre-merge or post-merge. Nobody else was allowed to watch them take place.

In SCWL 7: All Stars, a brief twist was introduced where multiple tribes attended Tribal Council together in each of the first three rounds of play. This meant I needed Tribal Council to have its own group.

I thought this felt more realistic, and before SCWL 8 it all made sense. Every pre-merge Tribal Council this season was in a separate group away from camp.

In the post-merge phase, every TC was in a separate group away from camp too, but I would invite the jurors to attend as well. Worst case scenario is that jurors start heckling the remaining players, and I immediately remove them TC.

This new change for TC worked out so well this season that it is here to stay on a permanent basis. Plus it saves me time from putting together transcripts to send to the jury. Everybody wins.

ANTON TRIES TO SAVE JOHN

Anton tries to eliminate fellow UsAl member Marc, and John has no choice but to hope this is the plan that saves him. Not sure why Marc was their target, but I assume it was a name fed to Anton by Allan.

In other words, the era of the returning players working together is over.

MARC AND MAJID VOTE QUINTIN

Marc and Majid throw votes at Quintin. Was the plan for all four UsAls to eliminate Quintin? Why Quintin rather than any of the other three Pusas? My guess is because Quintin has not spoken to or created a fake deal with many members of UsAl.

Even if Katie and Kyle are in the midst of a huge power struggle over who directs the alliance.

I know Majid says it was because Q is the weakest out of the four on Pusa, but it is reasoning you normally don’t see in the post-merge phase.

JOHN IS GONE

I sensed John would be viewed as a huge threat going into this game. Yes, I know John has never played an ORG before, but knowing him online and his pre-season application gave me the impression that he would be a sharp player in this game.

Sadly, a majority alliance was formed at the merge without him, and he was bound to be eliminated at the first chance they got. John desperately needed a majority in his favour to have a fighting chance in this game.

On one hand, it was probably a bummer for John to be eliminated at the midway point of the game. On the other hand, he can take the gesture as a big compliment. Pusa was too scared to keep him in the game and possibly convince players to flip to his side.

John definitely stood out as a player in this game, and he shall be missed.

8.95 SCWL 8 Round 9 Fantasy Pool + Predictions

BRIAN WHITEHEAD:
1. Erik Ward [PUSA]
2. Kyle Minault [PUSA]
3. Ian Miller [ALDN]
4. Quintin Phillipson [PUSA]
5. Katie Overbey [PUSA]
6. Magid “War” Iour [UsAl]
7. Allan Baldridge [ALDN]
8. Marc Oriol [UsAl]
9. Anton Hirsch [UsAl]
10. John Radich [UsAl]

CAMERON JOHNSON:
1. Allan Baldridge [ALDN]
2. Katie Overbey [PUSA]
3. Marc Oriol [UsAl]
4. Magid “War” Iour [UsAl]
5. Quintin Phillipson [PUSA]
6. Kyle Minault [PUSA]
7. Erik Ward [PUSA]
8. Ian Miller [ALDN]
9. John Radich [UsAl]
10. Anton Hirsch [UsAl]

CLAYTON SPIVEY:
1. Katie Overbey [PUSA]
2. Marc Oriol [UsAl]
3. Quintin Phillipson [PUSA]
4. John Radich [UsAl]
5. Erik Ward [PUSA]
6. Allan Baldridge [ALDN]
7. Anton Hirsch [UsAl]
8. Ian Miller [ALDN]
9. Kyle Minault [PUSA]
10. Magid “War” Iour [UsAl]

CODY JAMES
1. Katie Overbey [PUSA]
2. Kyle Minault [PUSA]
3. Quintin Phillipson [PUSA]
4. Allan Baldridge [ALDN]
5. Ian Miller [ALDN]
6. Anton Hirsch [UsAl]
7. Erik Ward [PUSA]
8. John Radich [UsAl]
9. Magid “War” Iour [UsAl]
10. Marc Oriol [UsAl]

EFE KARANISOGLU:
1. Kyle Minault [PUSA]
2. Katie Overbey [PUSA]
3. Quintin Phillipson [PUSA]
4. Allan Baldridge [ALDN]
5. Erik Ward [PUSA]
6. Ian Miller [ALDN]
7. Anton Hirsch [UsAl]
8. Marc Oriol [UsAl]
9. Magid “War” Iour [UsAl]
10. John Radich [UsAl]

JESSICA FREY:
1. Erik Ward [PUSA]
2. Katie Overbey [PUSA]
3. Allan Baldridge [ALDN]
4. Anton Hirsch [UsAl]
5. Marc Oriol [UsAl]
6. Kyle Minault [PUSA]
7. Quintin Philipson [PUSA]
8. Ian Miller [ALDN]
9. John Radich [UsAl]
10. Magid “War” Iour [UsAl]

LISTER POTTER III:
1. Ian Miller [ALDN]
2. Erik Ward [PUSA]
3. John Radich [UsAl]
4. Kyle Minault [PUSA]
5. Magid “War” Iour [UsAl]
6. Allan Baldridge [ALDN]
7. Katie Overbey [PUSA]
8. Anton Hirsch [UsAl]
9. Quintin Philipson [PUSA]
10. Marc Oriol [UsAl]

RUDEZ MERKS:
1. Ian Miller [ALDN]
2. Allan Baldridge [ALDN]
3. Quintin Philipson [PUSA]
4. Kyle Minault [PUSA]
5. Marc Oriol [UsAl]
6. Anton Hirsch [UsAl]
7. Magid “War” Iour [UsAl]
8. John Radich [UsAl]
9. Erik Ward [PUSA]
10. Katie Overbey [PUSA]

MY PROJECTED BOOT LIST

09: QUINTIN
08: MARC
07: MAJID
06: IAN
05: KYLE
04: ALLAN
03: ANTON
02: ERIK
01: KATIE

8.96 Next Time on SCWL. . .

– Kyle tries to gain possession of the only hidden immunity idol that is up for grabs. Will his closest ally Katie switch her vote?
– With Matt and John out of the game, only Marc and Majid are able to keep UsAl alive in this game.
– Ian and Allan enjoy the comfort of playing both sides of the fence as everyone must rely on their vote to secure a majority.
– And at Tribal Council, a last minute scramble will set in motion a blindside that will permanently change the course of the season.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

