SCWL 8 Rounds 6 and 7

SCWL 8 Episode 6

Mysterious As An Apple”

8.60 Previously on SCWL. . .
8.61 SCWL 8 Round 6 Info
8.62 SCWL 8 Round 6 Confessionals
8.63 SCWL 8 Round 6 Tribal Council
8.64 SCWL 8 Round 6 Blog
8.65 SCWL 8 Round 6 Fantasy Pool + Predictions
8.66 Next Time on SCWL. . .

8.60 Previously on SCWL. . .

– A split formed in the UsAl tribe leaving Marc and Majid on the bottom.
– And a plan to help aid Aldn in the immunity challenge was withheld from them as Matt coached the Aldn tribe to defeat him in the immunity challenge.
– Pusa was on their way to yet another victory, but a battle over the allocation of their chips and the matchups led to a surprise defeat.
– Conflict began to erupt as the four-person alliance appeared to break down, and made Ajdin’s outsider status unknown.
– But the four-person alliance stuck together one more time, and eliminated Ajdin.
– Before Ajdin could go, he warned Quintin of his weak position within Pusa.
– Thirteen players remain; who will be eliminated tonight?

8.61 SCWL 8 Round 6 Info

Date: February 28, 2015 – March 4, 2015
Immunity Challenge VI: SurvivorGories
Info: Each player attempts to submit a unique answer for a variety of Survivor related questions without matching with any other player left in the game. The two tribes with the two highest total of unique matches wins immunity.
The Twist: The player with the fewest number of unique submissions will be immune from the first post-merge immunity challenge.
Winners: UsAl and Pusa
Losers: Aldn
Voted Out: Andrei
Vote Count: 3-1 (Andrei-Ian)
8.62 SCWL 8 Round 6 Confessionals

ALLAN

Ok it has been awhile since I have done a confessional. I tell you trying to play in three games at once is hard on an old fellow like myself. Luckily(?) I was eliminated at F5 in one of the other ones so that has helped a bit. I intended to do a round by round run down of all the antics going on here but as you can see I have failed miserably at that task, lol. Two jobs, three games and just day to day bulls–t has left me with little time for confessionals I am afraid. But…I have used that time wisely and by that I mean I have been playing the game behind the scenes to make sure that I am in a secure position for the long haul.

Yeah I bet you might question how successful I have truly been when we are going to be down to the little tribe of three, lol. Naturally I am not happy about that. I would have much preferred to have kept the tribe numbers even but that has not been in the hand that I have been dealt. After this vote we are at the critical moment though….we seriously do not need to lose another member or no amount of side deals will save me. Oh did I forget to mention I had side deals? Yeah I got them left and right. I have been so shady even Eminem would be proud of me. I knew I wanted to play this game a bit different than my usual game pattern of being extra cautious. I came into this knowing I was going to lie, backstab and fight my way to the top and that is exactly what I intended to do.

I have made some great connections in the game. On Aldn, Ian is my #1. That has pretty much been the case from day one but that bond has grown stronger as the game has progressed. In the beginning I don’t know how serious Ian was about truly working with me. Hey I get it….I am the old guy….what does he know about playing a Survivor Org? Well I believe that I have impressed Ian enough throughout the game that he has become a firm believer in our alliance. Ian is a great partner to have. He is a very smart player and has a real love for the game….two HUGE attributes you look for in a long term alliance member. The only downsides to Ian that I can see is that 1) he is a truly great player (ie one that would have no qualms about taking me out if need be) and 2) Ian sometimes rubs people the wrong way. Sometimes Ian’s zest for the game and snarky banter turns others off….personally I have grown to love it but I am not every man (or woman) in this game. If Ian had a weakness that would be it…he is not aware that he at times rubs people the wrong way. Personally that is a good thing to have in a partner. I share the majority (but not all….never all) of my information with Ian and I feel like he does the same. I plan on going very far with Ian and could easily see me working with him to the end. Naturally we have already sworn the sacred F2 to one another…who knows maybe it will play out that way. Definitely an option for me.

My relationship with Susan is a bit different. I believe that I told you she and I bonded on a more personal basis (where as Ian and I bonded over the game itself). Susan is a hard worker and always contributes to the tribe. I genuinely like talking with Susan and expect us to be friend long after the game wraps. I 100% believe that Susan is loyal. Ian often worries about that but I believe that Susan has my back (and in turn Ian’s) all the way. There is nothing bad I could say about Susan…luv that gal. That being said I don’t know how she will fair once the merge happens. I now she has talked to some of the others but I don’t know if she has made those long term plans that I (and Ian) have. We cannot lose another challenge and come back to TC….I need Susan to make the merge. Her presence there is very much needed to progress my game.

Pusa:
On Pusa I have a couple of good leads going into the merge. The first one is Katie. Katie and I have played together before and have always gotten along well outside of games. Despite the fact that I screwed her over in one of Kodi Ross’s games we still work well together. Katie and I had a F2 within the first couple of days of the game. Now the downside to that is I KNOW that Katie is a hardcore player and I KNOW that Katie will slit my throat if need be. We are both very much the same in that regard because I will do the same. Working with a player like Katie you have to be mindful of knowing when to cut your loses. Not to say that I wouldn’t go to the F2 with Katie if circumstances dictated it…I would. I just don’t think I would fair very well. All that being said Katie is very important to my game long term.

Kyle and I started talking quite a bit awhile ago. I really like the guy. He tells me all the right things (and I do the same to him) but I know where his ultimate loyalties lie…and I doubt they are with me. Still Kyle and I can be (and have been) helpful to one another. Through my talks with Kyle I have learned a lot about the structure over at Pusa. I know that he, Quintin and Katie are close. I know that Katie is not as close to them as she thinks and I know that Kyle has offered me a F4 (with Me/Ian/Kyle/Quintin) and has even went so far as to offer a F2 with me and him (sure that is playing the “what if” scenario but so what). I believe that Kyle is a lot like me in this game….I may not be his first choice to work with but he will work with me for as long as the relationship is beneficial. I can respect that for sure.

UsaI:
Naturally you know that I am close with Anton and nothing is going to change that. He is one of my best friends inside and outside of the game world and that will always continue. I have made him a promise to not vote for him in this game (mainly because in the past I have almost always helped vote him out). I intend to honor that promise too. But….I will not tank my game for Anton either. He knows me well enough to know that I will have his back but that I will keep my eye on the prize as well. I have already had to nix a couple of his suggestions because the were one sided and benefited him far more than they did me. This will remain true for the entire game. I will work with Anton but he has to keep up his side of things to. The only way we get to the end together is by truly working together and that would mean at some point being willing to cast aside his allies as well as me doing mine. Not sure he will be willing to do that. Anton/Allan F2 would be f–king awesome though.

Matt I have just recently started talking with. I know that Matt, Anton and John are very close. I wasn’t sure if I would like Matt or not but once we got to talking I found that I like the guy. I could see working with Matt to a point but I also know that there is no way he intends to work to the end with me.

John is much like Matt. Like the guy but know ultimately he is not in my endgame plans at this point.

I have been playing a dangerous little game of cat and mouse with both Pusa and UsaI. Playing one against the other to help advance my game. Recently Ian has joined me in this endeavor and (so far) it is working out quite nicely. Pusa and UsaI both see their tribes as the dominate tribes and Aldn as the means to achieving their goals. What they don’t know is that Ian and I are already on to this strategy and are utilizing it to our maximum benefit. I am banking on Pusa and UsaI getting so caught up in their winning game plans that they don’t realize Ian and I are slipping through the cracks.

ANDREI

This challenge is boring. i fill it just a bit of it. its super boring. i wont waste my time on it. I apologise, no offence to you. F–k that! Take this as a confessional!.

ANTON

None.

ERIK

None.

IAN

and I just unfriended Maid. Terrible game move, but it makes me feel great
*Majid
And now he keeps messaging me. Like, get a clue!

JOHN

None.

KATIE

Confession 5

Wow ajdin is mad. I hope we win this I can’t afford to lose anymore. Any loss will incur a tie breaker situation

KYLE

falling back is very hard every decision starts as a tribe discussion then finishes with well why don’t you just decide. Sometimes they say you and katie decide so that’s always fun we get along great but have slightly different opinions on strategy but I’ve learned to let her decide she has more experience but I’m the one who seems to be making final call hopefully this doesn’t bite me in the ass!
MAJID

None.

MARC

None.

MATT

None.

QUINTIN

None.

SUSAN

None.
8.63 SCWL 8 Round 6 Tribal Council

TRIBAL COUNCIL #6

(ALLAN)-(ANDREI)-(IAN)-(SUSAN)
XXX
(IRV)-(SHANE)-(PAUL)-(TINA)-(AJDIN)

You must answer your questions and vote by 11:59pm eastern Wednesday.

ALLAN,

1. It seemed like all three tribes were going to Tribal Council at least once every three rounds. . .then this happened. Why the heck are you here tonight?

Logan we are here tonight because of lack of communication and a s–t ton of bad luck. Most of us worked on the challenge and felt pretty confident that we would put forth a good showing….that was not the case. I will shoulder part of that blame too because I was super busy last night durring the challenge and today at work so I failed to follow up with everyone on the tribe to make sure that we had our bases covered. That lack of communication cost us this challenge 100%.

2. Now you’re preparing to go down to three members. As Anton or the late Tina can tell you, that is not a good position to be in. One more loss and this tribe is completely finished. Did you expect to be in this position after already rallying twice from a deficit?

Of course we never anticipated being in this position but lets be honest Aldn has played with a deficit the entire game. I mean we basically got saddled with not one but two nonexistent players that contributed NOTHING to our tribe. Thats a hard cross to bear in the beginning stages of a 3 tribe game. In spite of all that I think we have a f–king awesome tribe and I think we are a tight tribe. We might be down but I would not count Aldn out yet…we still got a lot of fight left in us. I truly believe that.

3. What are the odds someone is going to cast a rogue vote with only four players left on this tribe?

I would be highly surprised if anyone cast a rogue vote. With so few of us left that could be a very dangerous move. I don’t think any one of us want to take on any more risk than we already have to face.

ANDREI,

1. You have received votes every time you have been to Tribal Council in the past. Yet you miss half of the questions. Why didn’t you fully participate? Some would view this as a curious move.

Well, when i found how my tribemates are working so well with some other players in a private thread without including me (only with a few hours before the deadline of the challenge (and i was at work that time)), i said like “wtf, i will not do the challenge even knowing that i will go home”. Simple

2. You will be immune from your first Tribal Council after the merge. Was it important to keep the immunity talisman away from a member of Pusa and UsAl?

I wont have the chance to use that talisman. Can i give that to someone else?

3. What would be your plea for this tribe to keep you this round?

No plea. Its impossible for me to break the bond between Allan, Ian and Susan.

IAN,

1. You and Allan being the two highest point-getters has been a common theme for a while now. You two were responsible for entering moves during the Pente victory, you two won your Checkers match against UsAl while Susan and Andrei lost against Pusa, and here we are this round with you two earning more than Susan and Andrei did combined. Do you feel this tribe would be doomed if you or Allan were eliminated this round?

Allan and I put in our share definitely, but you forgot Susan, who has really helped in challenges also. Hard working individuals we are.

Yeah we didn’t communicate well with Andrei and he was not on that much, so things did not work out for us.

2. Was there any communication in this challenge? Because you canceled out your own points in this challenge. Cancel out UsAl’s three pointers on a couple of key questions, and we could very well be at 4-4-4 heading into the next round.

3. Last time you were here, Tina herself admitted that she was going home, and there was absolutely no mystery to the vote. Will that be repeated here again this round?

There is probably no mystery, but even an apple is more mysterious than the last vote.

SUSAN,

1. When four people visit Tribal Council, a tie becomes very possible. Are you prepared for that scenario this round?

I do not think there will be a tie. So no im not prepared nor do I expect that this round

2. I know I ask you guys this often, but have the relationships evolved on this tribe since day one? Because camp life has been quiet for quite a while, but yet you are all each other has at this point.

Yes I would say off the bat there was a core 4 that got along great. Due to time difference and conflicts I havent had much time with andrei, I think hes great, but yes I have formed a tighter bind with ian and allan and we are aware we are all we have, I think we work very well together

3. What has been the funniest moment you have experienced in the game thus far?

3 the funniest moment well I would have to say the private convos with allan and ian especially during the challenges we like to message and just talk crap..lol

Also id just like to say andrei leaving you out the thread was accidental we were trying to focus on not going to tribal and hopefully evening out the teams it was not intentional to leave you out and it saddens me that you would take it that way and just give up on the comp.
When you vote, please do so in the following manner:

“VOTE: (VOTE)

REASON: (REASON HERE)”

e.g.

VOTE: (Logan the Tiresome)
REASON: I was told to vote somebody out whose name starts with the letter ‘L’. Thankfully, you met those requirements. You shall be missed.
Okay. Between now and 11:59pm eastern Wednesday, it is time to vote. Aldn tribe, you’re up.

***

ALLAN,

Vote: Andrei

My reason is simple his lack of participation in this challenge is one of the primary reason we are here at all. He has not been around as much as earlier on in the game so conversations have died off with Andrei more and more. I have got much closer to Ian and Susan and feel like they will have my back moving forward. I can count on them…I cant count on Andrei. He was our 4th….and its time for him to go.

ANDREI,

I am voting Ian. Simply coz he sneaky.

IAN,

Vote: Andrei

You would of made a great goat. We could of depended on you to annoy others and suck at challenges. Disturbingly enough, you were better than Irv and Tina. Irv picked himself a s—ty ass tribe

SUSAN,

I vote andrei, we lost because his feelings were hurt so he intentionally gave those answers what a baby id rather tina be here doung nothing then have a tribe mate sabotage it

***

Once the votes are read, the decision is final and the person voted out will be removed from the tribe camp almost immediately.
.
.
.
I’ll read the votes.
.
.
.
FIRST VOTE:
.
.
.
.
(Andrei)
.
.
One vote Andrei.
.
.
.
SECOND VOTE:
.
.
.
.
(Ian.)
.
.
.
We’re tied. One vote Andrei, one vote Ian.
.
.
.
NEXT VOTE:
.
.
.
.
(andrei)
.
.
.
Two votes Andrei, one vote Ian. One vote left.
.
.
.
.
.
.
FINAL VOTE:
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
Sixth person voted out of SCWL 8:
.
.
.
.
.
.
(Andrei)
.
.
Andrei, the tribe has spoken.
.
(XXXXXX)
.
It’s time for you to go.

ME: You voted out Irv because you couldn’t trust him, Tina because she wouldn’t contribute, and now Andrei for a combination of both of those reasons.

Bad news is that you are down to just three members, and on the brink of extinction.

Good news is that you had yet another straightforward vote, and this tribe appears to believe everyone that is still here is valuable.

You guys are under the impression that you have never been in a stronger position. That theory will be put to the test very soon.

IAN: ^That is deep

8.64 SCWL 8 Round 6 Blog

THE TALISMAN TWIST

This twist is probably as big of a non-factor as hidden immunity idols were at this point in the season. I think this is the first time I attempted having a mission in a challenge where the winner of the mission will be immune from Tribal Council, but only if they make it to that specific point.

It is an idea I have had in my head for quite a while. Most of the time it will play out as I figure it did this round–not really matter or impact the game. However, that is usually some of the better twists in SCWL. Not every idea I come up with needs to have a gigantic impact on the game. I am perfectly fine with idols going unclaimed, or items such as The Gambler or the Medallion of Power being flushed out of the game.

That has always been one of SCWL’s advantages. You don’t see idols and items be constantly re-hidden once they are out of the game. The cast has much more control over how their world plays out compared to other ORGs in existence.

I was curious to see if somebody would voluntarily sabotage their own tribe in the challenge just for one round of safety down the road. Quite similar to the first round where a talisman was offered to protect just one player from their first trip to Tribal Council. The big difference is that the talisman in this round could be picked up without requiring a second person to help you obtain it.

ALDN ENDS UP WITH THIS TALISMAN TOO

Coincidentally enough, the Aldn tribe falls victim to both of the talisman twists this season. That is probably the biggest piece of evidence that this tribe is not working well together. Speaking of Aldn’s ability to work together. . .

ANDREI FEELS EXCLUDED

This did not come up until TC, but there was a three-person chat on Aldn which served the purpose of working on the challenge. I never saw this chat, but it came out it involved Ian, Allan, and Susan. In a tribe so small, it surprised me that they willingly kept Andrei out of it. I think separately addressing Andrei for the challenge would have been too inconvenient and risk miscommunication.

It is not a good sign that a tribe of four decides to become a tribe of three on their own because they have discounted their fourth member. I do understand why this could happen because the game has been going on for nearly a month, and the three players may very well have become very distant from Andrei.

Unfortunately Andrei would discover this exclusion, and the consequences come into play immediately.

ANDREI’S SABOTAGE

This is the second of many unique finishes to an immunity challenge this season. We are going to see a lot of them post-merge, but this round with Andrei is definitely a top contender for strangest outcome to a challenge.

It has been nearly three months since this challenge was played, but looking at what happened from Andrei’s perspective is a bit puzzling for me. The Aldn tribe could have easily exploited the UsAl-Pusa rivalry to come out with a win this round. Therefore, if Andrei is in danger, he should be the one most adamant to do this.

But we are hours and hours away from the deadline, and Andrei sends me his submission. I was expecting to receive a changed list from him at the last minute. Andrei is competitive and a strong player. It is unusual to see him sabotage a challenge, and ultimately give himself a 99% chance of being voted out at TC.

My best guess is that the withdrawn relationship with the rest of the tribe discouraged him after a month. It doesn’t matter if a switch or a merge is coming in one round or ten rounds in situations like these. Players on TV and in ORGs can very well check out of the game once they reach their breaking point in a given situation.

And I think that may be what happened to Andrei. He just shut down a bit and lost his motivation. I think Andrei knew he was fourth on the totem pole of Aldn since day one. Susan, Ian, and Allan were easy to spot as being the the main alliance of three within Aldn.

So Andrei sent in a list that was half full or half empty. Knowing Aldn’s level of optimism, they would say that list was hal empty.

ANDREI AND SUSAN NEARLY MATCH SCORES

As Ian pointed out, Aldn did not perform well in this challenge. Andrei and Susan practically tied for the same score, and Susan submitted twice as many answers as Andrei.

Aldn had a decent shot of winning this challenge if Andrei made the full submission. He scored a lot of points for his tribe. Much like the other five immunity challenges this season, we could play the game of ‘what if’s regarding the outcome of nearly every challenge.

The outcome we get to watch play out is Aldn returning to TC for the third time. Everybody was expecting UsAl to lose and make it a 4-4-4 season. The seventh round would have been very intense, but alas, it did not happen. Aldn is falling rapidly.

AS MYSTERIOUS AS AN APPLE

Ian said it best. A tight group of three in a tribe of four can blame their loss on the only person who is not in that group.

As a host, it was odd for me to host TC after TC in the pre-merge phase where everybody knew the expected outcome going into the vote, and it playing out in a straightforward manner.

Much like Ajdin, we get a bit of a confrontation between Andrei and the others, but the others get the last laguh as they eliminate Andrei 3-1. He never would be around to obtain that talisman.

ALLAN BUILDING CONNECTIONS WITH EVERYONE

I’ll say it again–it was fun to see Allan building connections with nearly every player in this game. Allan knows he has the short term sinking ship of Aldn figured out. He ain’t going anywhere even if he loses another tribal challenge.

His only goal is to make sure he is set up well for when the merge happens. Many alliances are counting on his swing vote.

IAN. . .NOT BUILDING CONNECTIONS

Ian and Majid have a dysfunctional friendship in this game. All because of Caroline & Jennifer of TAR 22/24. A team that did not understand my sarcasm on Twitter just over a year ago.

Just imagine if Caroline & Jennifer were on SCWL. Every confessional of theirs would be about John Wayne, and they would come up with some crappy jingle in the event that one of them wins the season.

*shudder*

But seriously, Ian and Majid going back and forth between having an alliance or being at each other’s throats creates a lot of uncertainty for post-merge. Could Marc, Majid, Ian, and Allan be a group of four together? Will they be at the centre of the season in the next couple of weeks?

Who knows.

PUSA AVOIDS THE DEADLOCK

This was the first of two opportunites where the biggest deadlock in SCWL history could have gone down, and luckily Pusa wins tribal immunity. We have gone eight seasons without using a live tiebreaker challenge to determine who goes home. I believe we can wait at least eight more seasons for that to happen. 🙂

MOURNING ANDREI

I liked Andrei. He has been around the SCWL community for quite some time, and he finally got a chance to play. I know he wanted to be involved with Ajdin and Majid, but that was not meant to be. Those three were split up, and two of them are now out. Majid will be voted out if UsAl loses the next challenge.

Andrei survived two bullets early on, but found a way to eliminate Tina and Irv. After that his only move was to win challenges until a merge would occur.

I am curious to ask Andrei if his conflict with Ian is what put him on the outside within the Aldn tribe. Trading Ian for somebody else on UsAl or Pusa may have had a personality that could click more with Andrei’s.
8.65 SCWL 8 Round 6 Fantasy Pool + Predictions

BRIAN WHITEHEAD:
1. Katie Overbey [PUSA]
2. Erik Ward [PUSA]
3. Allan Baldridge [ALDN]
4. Marc Oriol [UsAl]
5. Ian Miller [ALDN]
6. Anton Hirsch [UsAl]
7. John Radich [UsAl]
8. Kyle Minault [PUSA]
9. Matt Merks [UsAl]
10. Andrei Valentin [ALDN]
11. Quintin Phillipson [PUSA]
12. Susan Komosa [ALDN]
13. “War” Iour [UsAl]

CAMERON JOHNSON:
1. Allan Baldridge [ALDN]
2. Andrei Valentin [ALDN]
3. Quintin Phillipson [PUSA]
4. Ian Miller [ALDN]
5. Marc Oriol [UsAl]
6. John Radich [UsAl]
7. Erik Ward [PUSA]
8. Matt Merks [UsAl]
9. Anton Hirsch [UsAl]
10. Katie Overbey [PUSA]
11. Kyle Minault [PUSA]
12. “War” Iour [UsAl]
13. Susan Komosa [ALDN]

CLAYTON SPIVEY:
1. Katie Overbey [PUSA]
2. Marc Oriol [UsAl]
3. Quintin Phillipson [PUSA]
4. Susan Komosa [ALDN]
5. John Radich [UsAl]
6. Erik Ward [PUSA]
7. Allan Baldridge [ALDN]
8. Anton Hirsch [UsAl]
9. Andrei Valentin [ALDN]
10. Matt Merks [UsAl]
11. Ian Miller [ALDN]
12. Kyle Minault [PUSA]
13. “War” Iour [UsAl]

CODY JAMES:
1. Katie Overbey [PUSA]
“This tribe is strong and katies dead set in the middle of the alliances, i forsee some tribe merges or swaps down the line that could cause problems maybe…but her social game is ridiculous strong as well shes so well rounded I jusy see her running this from start to finish.”

2. Kyle Minault [PUSA]
“I feel is gonna be closest to katie, both are strong socially, and in challenges. This is gonna be one of SCWLS best seasons duo. ”

3. Allan Baldridge [ALDN]
4. Susan Komosa [ALDN]
5. Ian Miller [ALDN]
“I have no clue who he is but lister likes him so i do to”

6. Anton Hirsch [UsAl]
“Seems to be a strong competitor on his tribe hes prolly the leader at the moment”

7. Marc Oriol [UsAl]
“Prolly Antons closest ally in the game and will do fairly well”

8. John Radich [UsAl]
“John and Matt i seem serving similar roles so they can just flip flop this spot”

9. Matt Merks [UsAl]
“Yeah he has a job and kid so no time to truly play the game just enough to vote the right way.”

10. Quintin Phillipson [PUSA]
11. Erik Ward [PUSA]
12. Andrei Valentin [ALDN]
13. “War” Iour [UsAl]
“Bottom Bitch”

EFE KARANISOGLU:
1. Matt Merks [UsAl]
2. Marc Oriol [UsAl]
3. Quintin Phillipson [PUSA]
4. Erik Ward [PUSA]
5. Andrei Valentin [ALDN]
6. Anton Hirsch [UsAl]
7. Kyle Minault [PUSA]
8. Susan Komosa [ALDN]
9. Katie Overbey [PUSA]
10. Ian Miller [ALDN]
11. Allan Baldridge [ALDN]
12. John Radich [UsAl]
13. “War” Iour [UsAl]

JESSICA FREY:
1. Erik Ward [PUSA]
2. Katie Overbey [PUSA]
3. Allan Baldridge [ALDN]
4. Andrei Valentin [ALDN]
5. Anton Hirsch [UsAl]
6. Marc Oriol [UsAl]
7. Kyle Minault [PUSA]
8. Quintin Phillipson [PUSA]
9. Susan Komosa [ALDN]
10. Ian Miller [ALDN]
11. John Radich [UsAl]
12. Matt Merks [UsAl]
13. “War” Iour [UsAl]

LISTER POTTER III:
1. Allan Baldridge [ALDN]
2. Quintin Phillipson [PUSA]
3. Anton Hirsch [UsAl]
4. Ian Miller [ALDN]
5. Matt Merks [UsAl]
6. Kyle Minault [PUSA]
7. John Radich [UsAl]
8. Katie Overbey [PUSA]
9. Susan Komosa [ALDN]
10. Marc Oriol [UsAl]
11. Erik Ward [PUSA]
12. Andrei Valentin [ALDN]
13. “War” Iour [UsAl]

RUDEZ MERKS:
1. Erik Ward [PUSA]
2. Ian Miller [ALDN]
3. Marc Oriol [UsAl]
4. Katie Overbey [PUSA]
5. Allan Baldridge [ALDN]
6. Matt Merks [UsAl]
7. Kyle Minault [PUSA]
8. “War” Iour [UsAl]
9. Ajdin Kursumlic [PUSA]
10. John Radich [UsAl]
11. Andrei Valentin [ALDN]
12. Quintin Phillipson [PUSA]
13. Anton Hirsch [UsAl]
14. Susan Komosa [ALDN]

MY PROJECTED BOOT LIST

12: MAJID
11: QUINTIN
10: SUSAN
09: KATIE
08: ERIK
07: JOHN
06: KYLE
05: IAN
04: MARC
03: ANTON
02: ALLAN
01: MATT

8.66 Next Time on SCWL. . .

– It is the last round before we reach the magic number of eleven, and everyone left wants to survive just one more round.
– The stakes are raised as a rare reward is offered to the tribe who finishes in first place, potentially providing useful information heading into the second half of the game.
– Aldn tries to avoid extinction.
– UsAl tries to avoid showing who is really on the bottom of the tribe.
– And Pusa tries to avoid the series’ first true deadlock.

SCWL 8 Episode 7
—-

“Amy O’Hara’d”

8.70 Previously on SCWL. . .
8.71 SCWL 8 Round 7 Info
8.72 SCWL 8 Round 7 Confessionals
8.73 SCWL 8 Round 7 Tribal Council
8.74 SCWL 8 Round 7 Blog
8.75 SCWL 8 Round 7 Fantasy Pool + Predictions
8.76 Next Time on SCWL. . .

8.70 Previously on SCWL. . .
– In one of the most even starts to any season of SCWL, UsAl had just a one member advantage over the other two tribes.
– Initially, UsAl was on a path to go to Tribal Council and have all three tribes tied at four members apiece.
– But Andrei discovered he was not involved in a group chat with the other members of the Aldn tribe, and proceeded to sabotage his own tribe in the immunity challenge.
– In the process, he picked up individual immunity from the first post-merge Tribal Council.
– But that wouldn’t matter as Aldn went to Tribal Council, and made it clear that Andrei was the one to go.
– Andrei cast his vote for Ian citing he was sneaky, but Allan and Susan did not flinch as they eliminated Andrei through a unanimous vote.
– The Aldn tribe has just three members remaining, and are desperate to stay alive.
– Twelve players remain; who will be eliminated tonight?

8.71 SCWL 8 Round 7 Info

Date: March 4, 2015 – March 8, 2015
Immunity Challenge VII: CO-OPERATIVE MAZE GATHERING
Info: Each player is given a piece of their tribe’s maze. When the three pieces of the maze are put together, everyone must figure out their starting location, and pick up items within the maze to gain as many points as possible. The two tribes to collect the highest number of points wins.
Reward: The tribe who finishes in first place will watch the losing tribe’s Tribal Council. The second place tribe just gets to relax at camp.
Reward Winners: Pusa
Other Winners: UsAl
Losers: Aldn
Voted Out: Susan
Vote Count: 2-1 (Susan-Allan)

8.72 SCWL 8 Round 7 Confessionals

ALLAN

omg if ian and I pull this off it will be epic

….

I am working it Logan

whoring myself out lol

my tribe

ughhhh

i do like the last 3

we have fought hard

but omg this weekend

i did not have a ton of time to devote to the challenge

was hoping some one else would step up

did that happen?

ummmmm NO

pretty much did it all on my own

which is sad if we lose lol

you had something to say…..but you didnt lol

we lost right?\

susan gotta go

so it was my fault???
ANTON

Confessional # 3-
So sitting out again, kind of liking this game, LOL..
Its my birthday im drunk and have no challenge to worry about, life is good!

ERIK

Confessional

This challenge is going surprisingly well for us so far. I saw the challenge and just thought “Of F–k. This is going to be GREAT -insert sarcasm-“. However, google documents is fantastic. It allowed me to create a chart and label where all the points and objects were. It gave us a much needed visual for this massive challenge. Kyle figured out where we all were, he rocked it. Katie has been slacking a little. This is 2 challenges in a row where I feel I have taken the lead and have pulled everyone’s weight. Which makes me feel good. Anyways, everything is currently mapped out, and we are currently mapping out our routes. I am feeling good about this challenge. We need to win or I will have a very tough vote ahead of me.
IAN

I am friends with Majid again, but if he complains one more time about the Country Girls from the Amazing Race I will kill myself

For some reason him talking about the Country Girls causes me to yell at him in CAPS! It is some violent trigger in my body causing this. We always get along fine, except when he mentions it

Aldn needs to avoid tribal council. WE FREAKING NEED IT! We need it like Spongebob needs water. Susan is very valuable. And if we lost, there is a chance I could go. I need all the options I could need at the merge. Best case scenario. Allan and I lack connections with him, and we could use Katie’s hatred of Matt to make sure she votes him off at the merge

*The best case is UsAl losing, Marc gets voted out

just realized that despite having the best score on my tribe in the challenge, I had the 4th worst in the challenge, only beating John when it came to the other tribe. I have no idea how we screwed up so badly, but we did. And now we have to pay the consequences. I did not want to do this till very late in the game, but the lovely Susan is getting my vote tonight. And I am pretty sure Andrei is doing it also. She is sadly a victim of circumstance.

*Allan. Dammit

JOHN

Confessional: Right now I have mixed feelings about the challenge win. It’s always great to avoid tribal council but in my heart I think we should have thrown the challenge. I don’t want to go in to a potential merge with more numbers than the other tribes. Any self interested and rational person would align with the best situation for them. If Pusa and Aldn get together now they would have a group of 6 against our 5 and then we are all screwed. Basically I’ve just got to hope that I’m playing the game with a bunch of knuckleheads, which based on some of my tribe, is very possible

KATIE

None.

KYLE

ultimately having ERIK in the challenge was in fact the best choice he did up the Google.doc and rode the path I set him on to score the most points. I knew I could have went for the big points myself but I felt our tribe needed to balance our use of the map I doubt we got maximum points but we must have come close since we did win not by much but by enough…I don’t want to take all the credit as katie was great in the challenge as well the whole tribe came together very well and I’m so happy to be getting further along in this game I feel the alliance I have built with Q and katie will last me awhile and I fully trust them we just need to get the 2 Aldn to join us but make them feel like they are inside our bonds and can possibly crack us I don’t think anyone will break the “eh team” alliance we are a strong group of loyal players

it all goes back to a single payment of 100 tokens in an auction on day 1. I played paper because in survivor you either get rocked out or you get the paper baby!
MAJID

None.

MARC

None.

MATT

None.

QUINTIN

None.

8.73 SCWL 8 Round 7 Tribal Council

TRIBAL COUNCIL #7

(ALLAN)-(IAN)-(SUSAN)
OOO
(ERIK)-(KATIE)-(KYLE)-(QUINTIN)
XXX
(IRV)-(SHANE)-(PAUL)-(TINA)-(AJDIN)-(ANDREI)

All questions and votes are due by 1:00pm eastern Monday.

ALLAN,

1. On a scale of 1 to 10, how shocked are you that this tribe is back to Tribal Council so soon?

On a scale of 1 to 10…I would say an 11. We tried so damn hard, which is what makes this all the more frustrating. Aldn as a tribe just can’t seem to catch a break when it comes to these challenges.

2. After the first five rounds, Aldn appeared to be on fairly even ground with the other two tribes. Then boom, back-to-back losses. Is it just bad luck?

Back to back losses is never a good thing. I feel like our tribe got off to a rocky start and we have never quite got our footing back.

3. Now you are in a dreaded scenario. A three-person Tribal Council, but nobody has individual immunity. You have to go after each other this Tribal Council. Are all three of you truly at risk?

Being at Tribal Council automatically puts you at risk. I mean even if you think you have things figured out they can always backfire on you at Tribal Council. So I definately feel at risk. I am sure that Ian and Susan feel the same way.

4. Why should this tribe keep you safe this round?

I think everyone knows that I am committed to this game. That commitment has not waivered (even after all our losses) and will not waiver until my torch is snuffed. I still got a lot of fight left and I think we need that. Hopefully that will be enough to keep me around.

IAN,

1. On a scale of 1 to 10, how much of an assumption is it that the three tribes will be merging next round?

It is probably like 7. It feels likely considering the words you used at the challenge, but it could easily be misdirection.

2. How careful do you think yourself, Allan, and Susan will be in regards to answering questions today? Because it must be uncomfortable to have four other people here waiting for you to give up potential information.

This is an interesting question. We will probably be more careful than the last two tribal councils since we all knew Tina and Andrei would be going.

3. Could you see this vote being split 1-1-1 across the board?

That could happen, but I think it would be 2-1

4. Why should this tribe keep you safe this round?

They should keep me safe because my two favorite Pixar films are Up and Ratatouille. The perfect argument to avoid eliminations.

SUSAN,

1. Is this tribe still voting out somebody this round as if it is what is best for this tribe, or do you think the person voted out will be strictly based on the possibility of individual benefits going forward?

I don’t think it will be based on either allan ian and I have been hatd workers from day 1

2. How upset would you be if you were told right now “it’s you, and you’re done”? Would it be tough to know that all of the hardships this tribe had to endure up to this point, and you don’t even get to make it halfway through the game?

well yes id be upset if it was me but im upset that it has to be anyone of us we came in without a whole tribe and the 3 of id have fought weve been sabotaged by irv left without clues by tina and andrei threw the comp because his feelings were hurt….maybe we shouldve reviewed better this round but here we are

3. What happens if there is not a merge? Could this tribe still function as a unit?

I worry a merge will cause the remaing 2 to go first

4. Why should this tribe keep you safe this round?

I absolutely love ian and allan if I stayed it would be great if not I still wish them the best

Alright. When you vote, please do so in the following manner:

“VOTE: (VOTE HERE)

REASON: (REASON HERE)”

e.g.

VOTE: (Logan!)

REASON:He wouldn’t let me have any ice cream. What is this? A totalitarian state?
Okay. Between now and 12:00pm EDT Monday, it is time to vote. Aldn tribe, you’re up.

***

ALLAN,

Vote: Susan

It kills me having to make this vote. I Susan so much and I trust her as well. That being said I have a long term plan with Ian and I feel like that is my best shot for going further in the game.

IAN,

Vote: Susan

Reason: I have gotten to know you on Aldn, and I like you, sad to see you go

SUSAN,

I vote allan ;( I like looking at him so it makes me sad

***

I’ll go tally the votes.
.
.
.
For the first time this season, I get to utter the following all too familiar phrase:

If anybody has a hidden individual immunity idol and they decided to play it, now would be the time that I would reveal it.
.
.
.
.
Okay. Once the votes are read the decision is final, and the person voted out will be removed from the tribe camp almost immediately.
.
.
.
I’ll read the votes.
.
.
.
.
.
FIRST VOTE:
.
.
.
.
.
(Susan)
.
.
.
One vote Susan.
.
.
.
.
SECOND VOTE:
.
.
.
.
(allan ;()
.
.
.
We’re tied. One vote Allan, one vote Susan. One vote left.
.
.
.
.
FINAL VOTE:
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
Seventh person voted out of SCWL 8:
.
.
.
.
.
.
(Susan)
.
.
.
Sadly, two votes is enough.
.
Susan, the tribe has spoken.
.
(XXXXX)
.
It’s time for you to go.

SUSAN: Good luck Allan Baldridge and Ian Miller ill be rooting for you 2 til the end cry emoticon no hatd feelings

ALLAN: Thank you Susan. I feel like I can speak for both Ian and myself when I say this was a vote we did not want to have to make.

ME: Well that was an emotional Tribal Council. I know you didn’t want to vote anybody out, but yet that’s how the game goes.

With that, Allan and Ian, congratulations on making it to the Final Two. The question is. . .can you do it again?

And I am sure there is one other mystery that you wish to be solved right now. That is where the art of patience will come into play. You’ll hear from me soon.

8.74 SCWL 8 Round 7 Blog

THE MAZE TRADITION

If I could find a way to end every pre-merge phase with a maze, I would. It is always intense, and it requires somebody to step up and be a leader for their tribe. Some of the brightest people I know absolutely suck at figuring out mazes.

Knowing how to conceptualize moving through a maze requires a special gift. If you are on a tribe where nobody has this talent, you are going to be in huge trouble and the challenge will be a massive headache.

Just ask the Nlad tribe from SCWL 6.

ALLAN ON HIS OWN FOR ANOTHER CHALLENGE?

Once again, Aldn does not do as well as they could because of a mistake Allan made.

Allan told me at the end of the challenge that fatigue and a lack of help on the challenge caused the error. Seeing as how this is the reason why they lost the immunity challenge in round four, and also excluding Andrei in the main challenge thread in the previous round, it is surprising that Aldn did not switch up how they work on challenges.

Watching Aldn work on all seven immunity challenges is a major contrast in style to how Pusa and UsAl work on challenges.

Pusa may occasionally bicker over what to do, but everyone seems involved. UsAl only had the second immunity challenge where they did not fully communicate, but since then they always talked everything out.

Aldn never really fell into this style, and I think the argument could be made that it may have been their biggest reason for losing challenges. I am curious if there was an attempt to rally everyone at camp to demand that everybody work together each round. . .or if it really was a divided group putting their trust in Allan.

In fact, that could very well be it. Allan may not have only been fully trusted as an ally for strategic purposes in the eyes of Ian and Susan, but that trust extended to having faith in his abilities to lead them to victories in challenges.

TRIPLE-CHECKING AND QUADRUPLE-CHECKING

Trust me. I do that a lot with mazes before I post them, and even when I count them. I initially screwed up on calculating Pusa’s points, but luckily I told them what their total was after the deadline passed, and I remember spending the next hour or so re-calculating until I got it one hundred percent right.

It ultimately did not matter in regards to whether or not they won immunity, but it definitely mattered in regards to the lone tribal reward of the season.

SPYING ON ALDN’S TC

In SCWL 6, I used two major twists in the series’ only true three-tribe season up to that point.

1) The 2nd and 3rd place tribes in the 4th immunity challenge go to TC; it is the only double TC in series history. I used a version of this in SCWL 7: All Stars.

2) The tribe that wins the seventh immunity challenge decides which of the other two tribes goes to TC. I used a version of this in SCWL 7: All Stars.

For whatever reason, I elected not to use either of these two twists this season.

The only one I remotely considered was having the 7th tribal immunity challenge have the 2nd and 3rd place tribes go to TC. Because I knew that every tribe would have 3-5 members at this stage, it would have been a very cruel twist to have. There would have been no real purpose other than shock value.

Because SCWL isn’t just “Logan does whatever he wants to see if he can break his contestants”, I decided not to implement that twist.

Instead I went with having a tribe having the ability to sit in on the losing tribe’s Tribal Council. You get to confirm another tribe’s dynamics, and you also receive information in the form of past votes.

Given how ties work in SCWL, this is significant information to possess. I loved having this as a more subtle twist. In future seasons of SCWL, I have a lot of ideas for possible reward twists or reward challenges that I have been throwing around for years.

ALDN’S EMOTIONAL TC

It is one of those rare situations where a tribe of three has to vote somebody out before the merge. This means nobody has individual immunity. A 1-1-1 vote could happen, but you know this decision will all come down to one person.

I assumed Allan would be the one making the decision, but that assumption was wrong.

IAN’S CHOICE

I will say there wasn’t too much suspense once I realized Allan and Susan were voting for each other. Ian approached Allan at the very beginning. This is the Final Two I was expecting if Aldn repeatedly visited TC without Matt switching up the tribes or John playing the Mutiny Trigger.

It would have been strange to see Ian and Susan be the last two standing on Aldn, and proceed to enter a merge together. I think they would split off on their own rather quickly. Susan rarely sent in confessionals, but I think she would have sided with Pusa. I do not know if Susan spoke to anyone on UsAl.

Ian and Allan are both sending in confessionals, and they both are talking to every single person in this game. When you are down in numbers, you need to be a duo that has options. Options in terms of who you can work with and contingency plans if those do not work out.

I know both of them wanted Susan to move with them into the merge. In my opinion, Ian and Allan would have control of this game easily if they could have won this dang challenge. Sadly, they and Susan had to endure a tragic TC where Susan was voted out.

Right before the magic number of 11, and right before the jury. She survived three challenge losses and put a month into this game and. . .poof. She’s gone. She essentially gets Amy O’ Hara’d.

Nobody feels good about that. SCWL just ain’t a nice game. One of my biggest questions for Susan would be why she cast that vote for Allan over Ian. Was it because she didn’t want to stack Ian with past votes and wanted Aldn to succeed? Or did she truly come to trust Ian more than Allan?

In any event, Allan and Ian are going to have to work a bit harder to be in control of this game at the merge.

WHAT IF WE DON’T MERGE?

Ian and Allan could find themselves in a world of trouble if players do not vote to merge, and they are stuck going to TC one more time. Now that would be devastating.

HALFWAY!

Yep. Halfway into the season. We are done talking about Aldn’s woes in this game. I will spoil it now and say we will no longer have more than two-thirds of all players be immune from the vote (or in this round’s case, 75% of all players be immune).

There are no hidden immunity idols currently in play.

It is going to be a good ol’ fashioned game heading into the merge, and the crazy sequence of events I promised will now begin. The predictability of TCs is over. No one is safe, and tons of betrayals will pile up in a matter of weeks.

I will finally have something more to talk about in these episode blogs. 🙂

8.75 SCWL 8 Round 7 Fantasy Pool + Predictions

BRIAN WHITEHEAD:
1. Erik Ward [PUSA]
2. Katie Overbey [PUSA]
3. Marc Oriol [UsAl]
4. Allan Baldridge [ALDN]
5. Matt Merks [UsAl]
6. John Radich [UsAl]
7. Kyle Minault [PUSA]
8. Anton Hirsch [UsAl]
9. Ian Miller [ALDN]
10. Quintin Phillipson [PUSA]
11. “War” Iour [UsAl]
12. Susan Komosa [ALDN]

CAMERON JOHNSON:
1. Allan Baldridge [ALDN]
2. Quintin Phillipson [PUSA]
3. Ian Miller [ALDN]
4. Marc Oriol [UsAl]
5. John Radich [UsAl]
6. Erik Ward [PUSA]
7. Matt Merks [UsAl]
8. Anton Hirsch [UsAl]
9. Katie Overbey [PUSA]
10. Kyle Minault [PUSA]
11. “War” Iour [UsAl]
12. Susan Komosa [ALDN]

CLAYTON SPIVEY:
1. Katie Overbey [PUSA]
2. Marc Oriol [UsAl]
3. Quintin Phillipson [PUSA]
4. Susan Komosa [ALDN]
5. John Radich [UsAl]
6. Erik Ward [PUSA]
7. Allan Baldridge [ALDN]
8. Anton Hirsch [UsAl]
9. Matt Merks [UsAl]
10. Ian Miller [ALDN]
11. Kyle Minault [PUSA]
12. “War” Iour [UsAl]

CODY JAMES:
1. Katie Overbey [PUSA]
2. Kyle Minault [PUSA]
3. Allan Baldridge [ALDN]
4. Susan Komosa [ALDN]
5. Ian Miller [ALDN]
6. Anton Hirsch [UsAl]
7. Marc Oriol [UsAl]
8. John Radich [UsAl]
9. Matt Merks [UsAl]
10. Quintin Phillipson [PUSA]
11. Erik Ward [PUSA]
12. “War” Iour [UsAl]

EFE KARANISOGLU:
1. Matt Merks [UsAl]
2. Kyle Minault [PUSA]
3. Katie Overbey [PUSA]
4. Marc Oriol [UsAl]
5. Ian Miller [ALDN]
6. Allan Baldridge [ALDN]
7. Erik Ward [PUSA]
8. “War” Iour [UsAl]
9. Susan Komosa [ALDN]
10. Quintin Phillipson [PUSA]
11. Anton Hirsch [UsAl]
12. John Radich [UsAl]

LISTER POTTER III:
1. Quintin Phillipson [PUSA]
2. Anton Hirsch [UsAl]
3. Kyle Minault [PUSA]
4. Matt Merks [UsAl]
5. John Radich [UsAl]
6. Allan Baldridge [ALDN]
7. Katie Overbey [PUSA]
8. Marc Oriol [UsAl]
9. Ian Miller [ALDN]
10. Erik Ward [PUSA]
11. Susan Komosa [ALDN]
12. “War” Iour [UsAl]

RUDEZ MERKS:
1. John Radich [UsAl]
2. Marc Oriol [UsAl]
3. Matt Merks [UsAl]
4. “War” Iour [UsAl]
5. Anton Hirsch [UsAl]
6. Erik Ward [PUSA]
7. Ian Miller [ALDN]
8. Katie Overbey [PUSA]
9. Allan Baldridge [ALDN]
10. Kyle Minault [PUSA]
11. Quintin Phillipson [PUSA]
12. Susan Komosa [ALDN]

MY PROJECTED BOOT LIST

11: KATIE
10: ERIK
09: KYLE
08: MATT
07: QUINTIN
06: IAN
05: JOHN
04: MARC
03: ALLAN
02: MAJID
01: ANTON

8.76 Next Time on SCWL. . .
– Everyone is anticipating a merge.
– But like any season of SCWL, it comes down to a vote. Will the players agree to unite as one tribe?
– And Matt is faced with his third decision of the season. What will he do with this power?
– But everything will be put on hold as one player will test where everybody else stands in this game.
– Aldn finds themselves in a highly improved position while another tribe finds themselves in an enormous hole.
– And with so many bonds being developed in the game, absolutely no one is safe as the most intense Tribal Council of the season yet unfolds.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

