SCWL 8 Round 4

SCWL 8 Round 4

“And the Person Voted Out Is. . .”

8.40 Previously on SCWL. . .
8.41 SCWL 8 Round 4 Info
8.42 SCWL 8 Round 4 Confessionals
8.43 SCWL 8 Round 4 Tribal Council
8.44 SCWL 8 Round 4 Blog
8.45 SCWL 8 Round 4 Fantasy Pool + Predictions
8.46 Next Time on SCWL. . .

8.40 Previously on SCWL. . .

– After Matt decided to create the UsAl tribe during Opening Day, where the Aldn tribe had Irv as their captain, were scattered and all over the place.
– Trust was put to the test in the first immunity challenge, and Aldn failed as Irv and Tina were viewed as the traitors, and all bets were off.
– But through it all, Allan was the only tribemate who benefitted as he went from being an outsider to the tribe’s showrunner.
– Although Tina was their most inactive player, she was immune from Tribal Council. Therefore, the captain was first to go.
– The tribe did not do well in their next immunity challenge, but a communication error on UsAl saved Aldn from a return trip to Tribal Council.
– In a semi-live immunity challenge, Allan and Ian were the only two to show up online during a fast-paced challenge, but somehow made up for it by claiming first place.
– Pusa lost the challenge, and the playing field would be level. A four-person Eh Team alliance was formed on Pusa, but within it were two pairs–Kyle and Quintin, and Erik and Katie.
– It was between Ajdin and Paul. Katie and Erik wanted Paul to be saved, but Kyle got his way and the Filipino Google Image Challenge Beast was sent packing.
– Fourteen players remain; who will be eliminated next?

8.41 SCWL 8 Round 4 Info

Date: February 20, 2015 – February 23, 2015
Tribal Immunity Challenge IV: Tribal Cryptogram
Info: Teams attempt to solve three cryptograms of varying difficulty.
Results: Pusa and UsAl win; Aldn loses.
Person voted out: Tina
Vote Count: 4-1 (Tina-Andrei)

8.42 SCWL 8 Round 4 Confessionals

AJDIN

None.

ALLAN

None.

ANDREI

None.

ANTON

None.

ERIK

None.

IAN

It has became apparent to Allan and I that Andrei is a moody person. Like when he begged for me to keep him, i just assumed it was because he was in a bad spot. but seeing him continue to be moody and dramatic is wearing thin. He will still be kept over Tina of course. He is a nice person and can be fun to talk to, but sometimes it is just a pain to conversate. After talking to Allan about this, he suggested we compare notes about the other tribes. Everything matched up for the most part luckily. He mentioned how the day before Kyle confirmed with him a final four alliance with them, Quintin, and myself. We are glad at the ever many options this gives us. And I have enjoyed talking with Kyle and Quintin, so I am fine especially with this!

JOHN

Confessional 5: As we get further into this first stage of the game we are expecting that at some point the tribes will go from 3 to 2. I am a little worried if we do dissolve that I could be a target. In the last few challenges I was integral in our win and on my tribe everyone seems to get along with me. If I was the other tribes I might pick someone like me off immediately after a swap because I would target a similar person on another tribe. In the event of a swap I want to stick with Matt and Anton as they are the two people that I trust the most and I think they have my best interests in mind. Plus if it came down to it I think I have a better argument to stay over both of them so I can probably throw them under the bus a lot easier than anyone else on my tribe. I hope it doesn’t come to that though.

Confessional 6: If I could thank anything for my aptitude in the challenges it would be my schooling experience. Through years of distractions and laziness I somehow managed to hone my impressive skills like putting all E’s in a cryptogram to maximize potential points and strategy games like Pente. My buddy would be proud to know all of our time wasted in physics class playing different strategy games wasn’t for nothing.

KATIE

None.

KYLE

With the fame now in full swing my alliance the eh team grows nervous about possible swap scenarios and what our unpredictable host will do I hope to stay with some allies but know if I want I can find a home no matter where I end up

MAJID

None.

MARC

CONFESSIONAL
Day 11 and all quite normal for now. Not much movement in the tribe. I am a bit worried about that calm and good cheer that reign here. I know from my own experience that it’s not good. When there are fights and riots is easy to identify what the sides are and you can decide how to position yourself. So far I received a proposal for a 4 way alliance with Matt, Anton and John, which would leave Majid, the person whom I get along the most, out. I hope not to have to find myself in the situation of having to vote for him, it would be pretty hard, and although we have not spoken clearly about alliances, I guess he expects us to help each other. That’s my perception, maybe I’m wrong.

MATT

None.

QUINTIN

None.

SUSAN

None.

TINA

None.

8.43 SCWL 8 Round 4 Tribal Council

TRIBAL COUNCIL #4

(ALLAN)-(ANDREI)-(IAN)-(SUSAN)-(TINA)
XXX
(IRV)-(SHANE)-(PAUL)

I haven’t seen you guys for a few rounds. We have a bit of catching up to do.

ALLAN,

1. It is very rare for a tribe to lose the first immunity challenge but rally back to win the next two challenges. I am guessing there are no regrets over eliminating Irv in the first round?

I beleive the tribe made the right decision with the first vote so absolutely no regrets. Think it made our tribe stronger.

2. How have the relationships evolved over the past three rounds? Have you had a chance to get to know everybody on this tribe?

I feel like the relationships have evolved in a positive way. Most of us have had the chance to get to know one another a bit better and I feel like we have a solid foundation of trust and respect for one another. I love this tribe and it kills me when we have to come to TC.

3. In which areas do you think this tribe could improve? Because you guys have only truly won the third immunity challenge by a decisive margin.

Logan I believe this tribe has a lot of heart and dedication. We work our freaking asses of on these challenges. When we lose I assure you it is not for lack of trying. I guess the only improvement I can think of is if “Lady Luck” would smile on us a bit more.

ANDREI,

1. This tribe has had a relatively quiet camp life. Do you think you guys are communicating well?

Most of them, yes. Yet i am pretty quiet coz thats how i am.

2. You received two votes at the first Tribal Council. Does that make you worried for this round?

I am always worried. yet i hope is not me out this round.

3. Do you think everyone is expecting a twist in this game soon?

Yes.

IAN,

1. Will voting out someone this round help strengthen this tribe as a core of four or will it be in chaos because of the fact that you have to send somebody home?

I think it will strengthen us. Tribes of 3 that lost the most tend to stick together for the most part, and I do not think there is anything different with us.

2. Is there anyone who stands out as a MVP of this tribe? Meaning you cannot afford to lose this person no matter what for future challenges.

Two MVPs. Susan and Allan do a ton of work in all the challenges, and I am grateful to have them as tribemates.

3. During the Pente immunity challenge, UsAl straight up offered this tribe a deal to help win the challenge. Did that awaken you to the possibility of not just bonds within this tribe, but bonds with other tribes being a factor in this game?

Not really, because we all know they helped just so Pusa could go to TC and even things up and that it would help them not lose too.

SUSAN,

1. Is it easier or harder for someone to tell a lie in a smaller tribe?

I would think harder in a small tribe to lie I guess but in this particular tribe there are 3 main participants and I do not believe they wpuld lie

2. Who do you feel are working the hardest around camp?

allan is the hardest worker in my opinion (but im biased lol referring to my confessional)

3. What aspect of casting a vote is making you feel the most conflicted tonight? Or is it a pretty straight-forward vote?

im not conflicted I dont think the other members were either it was pretty straight forward.

TINA,

1. Oddly enough, everyone else has been vulnerable at Tribal Council. This is your first round of being at risk. Do you feel that is the case this round?

I KNOW IM GOING HAHA

2. You finally experienced possessing tribal immunity for the past two rounds. Do you feel that your legacy in SCWL has been redeemed?

NO IT HASNT COZ I STILL SUCK AT YOUR GAMES.. IM DEF NOT SMART ENOUGH HAHA

3. Why do you think the tribe should keep you this round?

I WOULD LOVE TO STAY COZ IM A GOO VOTE ANYTIME LOL

Alright, when you vote please do so in the following manner:

“VOTE: (VOTE HERE)
REASON: (REASON HERE)”

e.g.

VOTE: (Logan)

REASON: If you successfully deciphered this vote, it means you are a huge freakin’ jerk, Logan. I am ecstatic that you will be voted out this round.

Between now and 2:00am eastern Tuesday (23 hours and 40 minutes from now), it is time to vote. Aldn tribe, you’re up.

****

ALLAN,

VOTE: Tina

My reason is that

1) Tina is not in my alliance and

2) Tina contributed the very least (as in nothing) to the challenges and finally

3) Tina told us last round if we went to tribal we should vote her out-so fulfilling her desire

ANDREI,

My vote is for Tina.

I have no other option. And anyway she was the one that never did a challenge.

IAN,

Tina

She has helped in the challenges the least and has said she is fine with being voted out. At least she got to win immunity this season

SUSAN,

I vote tina out thanks

Shes done nothing but comment everyround that shes cant try for whatever reason, she aint in an abulance and she isnt bleeding to death so no excuse

TINA,

i vote andrei coz i random.org’d it

***

Alright, once the votes are read the decision is final and the person voted out will be removed from the tribe camp almost immediately.
.
.
.
I’ll read the votes.
.
.
.
FIRST VOTE:
.
.
(Tina.)
.
.
.
One vote Tina.
.
.
.
SECOND VOTE:
.
.
.
(andrei)
.
.
.
We’re tied. One vote Tina, one vote Andrei.
.
.
.
NEXT VOTE:
.
.
.
.
(tina)
.
.
.
Two votes Tina, one vote Andrei.
.
.
.
.
.
FOURTH VOTE:
.
.
.
.
.
Fourth person voted out of SCWL 8:
.
.
(Tina)
.
.
Three votes is enough.
.
For the second time, Tina, the tribe has spoken. . .
.
(XXXX)
.
It’s time for you to go.

Well that was an odd Tribal Council. One of the rare times where it was publicly known that this was a foregone conclusion.

With an individual win and two tribal immunity victories, you gave Tina as much time as you could to integrate and be an active member of your tribe.

Now that Tina is voted out, you have eliminated the first returning player from the game. In fact, she made it further with winning zero challenges in SCWL 3 than she did being immune three times this season. The curse of SCWL 3 continues.

8.44 SCWL 8 Round 4 Blog

THE CRYPTOGRAMS

This is going to be a very short blog this round. Easily the most uneventful one of the season.

For the first time ever, I had a cryptogram challenge in the tribal phase of SCWL. Because nobody was sitting out, and also because the final cryptogram was insanely difficult, pretty much everyone was busy contributing.

And what happens when a lot of people are focusing on a challenge? Well, there’s not going to be quite as many confessionals nor strategic talk around camp.

I must admit the first two cryptograms were solved rather quickly by all three tribes, but it was the final cryptogram where everybody was truly stumped.

THE SLIGHT CONTROVERSY

Some people thought I made an error regarding the final cryptogram. Due to being paranoid that there was a typo somewhere in the puzzle, I triple-checked to make sure I made zero mistakes. I did a ton of double-checking before this challenge went out, but all it takes is a short break in concentration for the challenge to become a mess.

JOHN STRATEGIZES PROPERLY FOR THE FINAL PUZZLE

This is what had me curious more than any part of the challenge. If the final puzzle was indeed too difficult, how will all three tribes strategize to collect points? Will they know to line up the puzzle for Imitation Game, or be able to use Imitation Game to work backwards and solve the rest of the puzzle?

Nobody was able to work backwards in the final puzzle, but John did tip UsAl off as to how they could throw in a bunch of vowels and make the challenge theirs. What was funny is how many more points they could have scored if the E’s were just slightly shifted.

PUSA IN TROUBLE

I forgot how close Pusa was to losing this challenge. They completely missed on the final puzzle which was essentially the tiebreaker. But then the unexpected happened. . .

ALDN NEEDS HELP

They had the second cryptogram solved, but did not include the word ‘help’ in their final answer. A fitting word to be missing for Aldn considering the current state of affairs within the tribe. Naturally, how the word went missing is yet another mystery that I tried to solve at Tribal Council.

Did Allan do most of the work for this challenge, but nobody checked over what he came up with? Did Allan, Ian, and Susan all work together but all miss it? Is Ian’s comment at Tribal Council true in the sense that the tribe does not view Andrei and Tina as contributors in challenges? It would not surprise me if the established pecking order indirectly influences who talks to each other to work on immunity challenges.

By this point it was becoming clear that although they each may be strong as individuals, this group of five of people is just not working well together as a group.

And when you don’t work well together. . .it’s time for a trip back to Tribal Council.

OSCARS NOTE

I should note that I do have one significant memory during this round. The deadline occurred right around when the Oscars were airing on TV.

However, I was not watching it on TV like most people. I went to an inaugural Oscar viewing party at the local theatre. There was about thirty to forty people who were there, and dozens of door prizes being handed out. Nobody was allowed to win more than two door prizes.

Somehow me and one other person managed to go the whole night without winning anything. No idea how that happened.

But that didn’t really matter as I entered the theatre at the start of the night hoping the challenge was going smoothly. I just couldn’t get my mind off of it.

Anyways, a local pub was sponsouring the Oscar viewing party at the movie theatre. So they were allowed to have the front desk as a spot where they could hand out free cups of wine.

There was this smooth-talking guy in his mid-20s who was trying to be all fancy as he rambled on the two bottles of wine he was holding and that they were imported from France. He even had a whole wine cup pyramid set up on the desk as well.

While pondering my selection, he uncorks a bottle. The cork flies into the ceiling, puts a dent in it, falls back down and absolutely dismantles his pyramid. Cups go everywhere in the theatre’s lobby. The mildly snobbish fellow is stunned into silence as we all get our hands and knees to pick up wine cups from the ground.

After spending a couple of minutes picking up the cups, I told him “well, I pretty much have to have a glass after that performance”.

It was a funny moment on its own, but a bit more amusing to me personally since I have it directly tied to it being the first thing I did after triple-checking that the cryptogram challenge was playing out without any mistakes on my behalf.

TINA VOLUNTEERS TO GO

The SCWL 3 Curse continues. Tina had three rounds of immunity to put herself in a good position, and she ran out of moves. The crazy thing is that you have Susan, Andrei, and Ian who all wanted her to stay in the game, but because Tina was too inactive, the tribe eliminated her despite getting along with her better than most of their other tribemates.

It is quite the turn for Tina to go from somebody who was active and a threat on her tribe in SCWL 3 to coming back and being labelled as the most inactive player of the season. She joins KJ and Sheri as SCWL 3 returnees who just could not make something happen on their second attempt. It’s tough to see all three of them end their SCWL legacy like this.

ARE FOREGONE CONCLUSIONS REALLY THAT BAD?

Well, if you look at what happened to Aldn this Tribal Council. . .yeah, it probably wasn’t the most interesting thing to see play out. This was essentially a decision the tribe was going to make right after the first immunity challenge ended. It was delayed again and again by Tina being immune.

I will say that Tina’s exit is not going to be the only foregone conclusion at Tribal Council this season. There’s going to be a few more, and all will have big impacts on this game. Tina’s exit was not exactly a huge moment in terms of how this game plays out. It served as more of a continuation to the ongoing storyline of “What the heck is with SCWL 3?”

ON THE BRIGHT SIDE. . .

The tribes are as even as they can be after four rounds. No matter how you look at it, Aldn is an all around stronger tribe now that they eliminated Tina. The vote was made easier by Tina asking them to eliminate her. That minimizes conflict in a tribe that needs to mount a comeback.

And with another semi-live challenge on the way, they could very well go back to being immune. . .unless a little twist comes along to split up the tribes.

8.45 SCWL 8 Round 4 Fantasy Pool + Predictions

BRIAN WHITEHEAD:
1. Erik Ward [PUSA]
2. Katie Overbey [PUSA]
3. Allan Baldridge [ALDN]
4. Ian Miller [ALDN]
5. Marc Oriol [UsAl]
6. Anton Hirsch [UsAl]
7. Kyle Minault [PUSA]
8. Andrei Valentin [ALDN]
9. Quintin Phillipson [PUSA]
10. Matt Merks [UsAl]
11. John Radich [UsAl]
12. Ajdin Kursumlic [PUSA]
13. “War” Iour [UsAl]
14. Susan Komosa [ALDN]
15. Tina Warren [ALDN]

CAMERON JOHNSON:
1. Allan Baldridge [ALDN]
2. Andrei Valentin [ALDN]
3. Quintin Phillipson [PUSA]
4. Tina Warren [ALDN]
5. Ian Miller [ALDN]
6. Ajdin Kursumlic [PUSA]
7. Marc Oriol [UsAl]
8. John Radich [UsAl]
9. Erik Ward [PUSA]
10. Matt Merks [UsAl]
11. Anton Hirsch [UsAl]
12. Katie Overbey [PUSA]
13. Kyle Minault [PUSA]
14. “War” Iour [UsAl]
15. Susan Komosa [ALDN]

CLAYTON SPIVEY:
1. Katie Overbey [PUSA]
2. Marc Oriol [UsAl]
3. Quintin Phillipson [PUSA]
4. Susan Komosa [ALDN]
5. John Radich [UsAl]
6. Erik Ward [PUSA]
7. Allan Baldridge [ALDN]
8. Anton Hirsch [UsAl]
9. Andrei Valentin [ALDN]
10. Matt Merks [UsAl]
11. Ajdin Kursumlic [PUSA]
12. Ian Miller [ALDN]
13. Kyle Minault [PUSA]
14. Tina Warren [ALDN]
15. “War” Iour [UsAl]

CODY JAMES:
1. Katie Overbey [PUSA]
2. Kyle Minault [PUSA]
3. Quintin Phillipson [PUSA]
4. Erik Ward [PUSA]
5. Allan Baldridge [ALDN]
6. Ian Miller [ALDN]
7. Susan Komosa [ALDN]
8. Anton Hirsch [UsAl]
9. Andrei Valentin [ALDN]
10. John Radich [UsAl]
11. Matt Merks [UsAl]
12. Marc Oriol [UsAl]
13. Ajdin Kursumlic [PUSA]
14. “War” Iour [UsAl]
15. Tina Warren [ALDN]

EFE KARANISOGLU:
1. Matt Merks [UsAl]
2. Marc Oriol [UsAl]
3. Quintin Phillipson [PUSA]
4. Erik Ward [PUSA]
5. Tina Warren [ALDN]
6. Andrei Valentin [ALDN]
7. Anton Hirsch [UsAl]
8. Kyle Minault [PUSA]
9. Susan Komosa [ALDN]
10. Katie Overbey [PUSA]
11. Ian Miller [ALDN]
12. Allan Baldridge [ALDN]
13. John Radich [UsAl]
14. “War” Iour [UsAl]
15. Ajdin Kursumlic [PUSA]

JESSICA FREY:
1. Erik Ward [PUSA]
2. Ajdin Kursumlic [PUSA]
3. Katie Overbey [PUSA]
4. Allan Baldridge [ALDN]
5. Andrei Valentin [ALDN]
6. Tina Warren [ALDN]
7. Anton Hirsch [UsAl]
8. Marc Oriol [UsAl]
9. Kyle Minault [PUSA]
10. Quintin Phillipson [PUSA]
11. Susan Komosa [ALDN]
12. Ian Miller [ALDN]
13. John Radich [UsAl]
14. Matt Merks [UsAl]
15. “War” Iour [UsAl]

LISTER POTTER III:
1. Katie Overbey [PUSA]
2. Anton Hirsch [UsAl]
3. Allan Baldridge [ALDN]
4. Kyle Minault [PUSA]
5. Marc Oriol [UsAl]
6. Ian Miller [ALDN]
7. Erik Ward [PUSA]
8. John Radich [UsAl]
9. Susan Komosa [ALDN]
10. Quintin Phillipson [PUSA]
11. Matt Merks [UsAl]
12. Andrei Valentin [ALDN]
13. Ajdin Kursumlic [PUSA]
14. “War” Iour [UsAl]
15. Tina Warren [ALDN]

RUDEZ MERKS:
1. Erik Ward [PUSA]
2. Ian Miller [ALDN]
3. Marc Oriol [UsAl]
4. Katie Overbey [PUSA]
5. Allan Baldridge [ALDN]
6. Matt Merks [UsAl]
7. Kyle Minault [PUSA]
8. “War” Iour [UsAl]
9. Andrei Valentin [ALDN]
10. Ajdin Kursumlic [PUSA]
11. Susan Komosa [ALDN]
12. John Radich [UsAl]
13. Tina Warren [ALDN]
14. Quintin Phillipson [PUSA]
15. Anton Hirsch [UsAl]

MY PROJECTED BOOT LIST

14: AJDIN
13: MAJID
12: ANDREI
11: KATIE
10: ERIK
09: KYLE
08: SUSAN
07: QUINTIN
06: MATT
05: MARC
04: IAN
03: JOHN
02: ANTON
01: ALLAN

8.46 Next Time on SCWL. . .

– Aldn’s morale is lower than ever, and all are banking on their tribe being dissolved before the next immunity challenge.
– Matt resumes his role as The Decider when a huge dilemma is put before him. Who will benefit and who will suffer from what Matt decides? Will Aldn get their wish?
– The SCWL players are trying to play chess, but a semi-live game of checkers puts Pusa in fear of losing another semi-live challenge.
– And unlike Tina’s exit, one player will fight it out until their name is X’ed.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

