SCWL 8 Round 2

SCWL 8 Round 2

“Cool Hand Luke”

8.20 Previously on SCWL
8.21 SCWL 8 Round 2 Info
8.22 SCWL 8 Round 2 Confessionals
8.23 SCWL 8 Round 2 Tribal Council
8.24 SCWL 8 Round 2 Blog
8.25 SCWL 8 Round 2 Fantasy Pool and Predictions
8.26 SCWL 8 Round 2 Next Time on SCWL. . .

8.20 Previously on SCWL. . .

– A new adventure began as fifteen new players started their journey.
– But three faces of old also joined them in an unprecedented twist. Anton, the most winless player in SCWL history, Tina, the second most winless player from the weakest tribe in SCWL history, and Marc, an unfortunate early exit from SCWL 6. All three players combined for just one tribal challenge win total.
– An auction was held. Paul scored early by picking up two useful items. Kyle and Irv would become captains and split into two tribes.
– However, Matt picked up The Decider–the most powerful item of all making and also making its series debut. His first decision was to preserve the two tribes or create a third tribe.
– And in true Merks fashion, the aggressive move was made as a third tribe was created. Shane was split from Katie and Erik, and Anton was separated from Allan. John, Majid, and Marc would join this tribe.
– The three returning players were met with mixed results. Anton ended up with fake nachos at the auction, but he and Marc won the most important reward of all–tribal immunity. Anton’s winless streak was over.
– On Pusa, Kyle, Quintin, Katie, and Erik formed a four-person alliance, but trust had yet to fully set in.
– For Tina, the SCWL 3 curse was present as she would lose tribal immunity once more.
– But because of Aldn’s lack of communication in the first immunity challenge of the season, Tina walked away with individual immunity for the third time in her brief SCWL career, and would be spared from the first Tribal Council of the season.
– At Tribal Council, Aldn faced confusing dynamics as one alliance left Allan and Andrei on the outside. But when Irv’s trust and Tina’s inactivity became an issue, Susan and Ian agreed to eliminate Irv. Making him the first person voted out of SCWL 8.
– With individual immunity gone, Tina is once again on her own, and once again on the outside of a shrinking tribe. Can she recover?
– Seventeen remain; who will be voted out next?

8.21 SCWL 8 Round 2 Info

PUSA

KYLE MINEAULT
QUINTIN PHILIPSON
KATIE OVERBEY
ERIK WARD
AJDIN KURSUMLIC
PAUL CARBY

ALDN

IRV SCHULTZ (18th place) – 4-2 vote
TINA WARREN
IAN MILLER
ALLAN BALDRIDGE
ANDREI VALENTIN
SUSAN KOMOSA

UsAl

MATT MERKS
MARC ORIOL
ANTON HIRSCH
JOHN RADICH
“WAR” IOUR
SHANE TAYLOR

Date: February 13, 2015 – February 17, 2015
Tribal Immunity Challenge II: Survivor Street View
Details: Tribes are given images of various places around the globe. Elaborate points system determines which two tribes have the highest scores and win immunity.
Results: Pusa/Paul finish first; Aldn barely survives. UsAl going to Tribal Council.
Voted Out: Shane.
Vote Count: 5-1 (Shane-Majid)

8.22 SCWL 8 Round 2 Confessionals

AJDIN

None.

ALLAN

Confessional Entry One:
As you know I was kind of late getting to this party.  I knew about the game from Anton who told me that he was coming out of retirement to play it.  I considered applying then but time got away from me and I missed the application date.  Then Lister approached me and asked if I would consider being an alternate for the game and told me to contact you and fill out the necessary paperwork…so I did.  I am soooo glad that I did.  Logan I am enjoying the hell out of this game so far.  Going into it I was a bit nervous because there were so many people that I had no clue who they were.  When I saw the cast list I think I knew like four people:  Anton, Katie, Tina and Paul.  Anton and I have known each other for years and is one of my best friends.  Katie and I have a pretty good relationship in the org world (ie we havent screwed each other over too bad).  Tina I played with in my very first FB org and all I remember is not getting along well with her.  I played one game with Paul and I screwed him over early on.  So yeah…not a lot to work with considering.

Honestly though NOT knowing a lot of people has worked to my advantage because I think everyone else is in the same boat.  So often in the FB org world you get all these pre-existing relationships that carry over from game to game.  Eventually these huge cliques are formed and if you are not in them you usually don’t fare well.  That usually makes those game tedious and not fun….this is not the case with this game.   Feel like everyone is being forced to start with a clean slate so to speak and are open to new possibilities.  This is good for me.

I liked the auction (even if I did blow my wad on nothing) and the school yard pick em was cool.  Going into the pick I did not want to end up on Tina’s tribe (like I said I had played with her before and we did not jell all that well) so naturally…I end up on the tribe with Tina (FML).  I knew that I was going to pick Anton because he and I had already agreed that whoever got picked first would choose the other if they had the chance.  So I was happy when we ended up on the same tribe…for like 30 seconds.  Thanks to Matts auction item he had the options of forming a third tribe (which he did) and one of the ground rules was that the people on the new tribe could not select anyone from the other two tribes that were in the top three picks.  I was third pick and Anton was fourth so we got split when Anton was chosen for Matts tribe.

I was not getting the warm and fuzzies about my tribe either…the only person I knew anything about was Tina…and I knew I was not going to want to work that angle.  Luckily before the auction I had started talking with Ian and we hit it off really well.  Ian was actually the one that picked me in the school yard pick em’.  So I atleast had something to start with in forming a relationship with Ian.  The first few days the majority of my communication was with Ian, Andrei and Irv.

An Aldn Tribe group message was started and I quickly realized what I was getting into.  The group message was a joke.  Ian spent the first night pretending to make fire and shelter for us by posting images of fire and shelter….over and over again.  Seriously?!?  I played along even though I thought it was the stupidest thing ever.  At this point I had had little communication with the girls.

Ok so a few days in I find out that there is a 4 person alliance that I am not in (thanks to Ian).  Apparantly, Tina and Irv drew in Ian and Susan and made an alliance.  Guess me and Andrei were not cool enough, lol.  Ian sharing this with me made me trust Ian all the more.  Even though I knew I was not at the bottom (that would have been Andrei) I knew that I had to flip that s–t as quick as possible.

OK so I had a fairly good connection going with Andrei at this point.  Ian was telling me things he need not tell me (so that told me he was considering working with me).   I knew I had to work on the others.

I sent a message out to Tina and decided it best to acknowledge the game we had played in.  Tina tells me that game sucked (it did) and I got the basic feeling that she did not harbor ill feelings toward me.  She tells me that she likes to play behind the scenes.  This tells me she is secure in her spot on the tribe….well she thinks she is.

Started a conversation with Susan.  Susan is closest to my age and is a mom so we bonded on that level.  Eventually after much conversation….Susan also tells me about the 4 person alliance.  This is good…Susan is being honest with me.

The Challenge….Tina contributes nothing.  Seriously…. nothing.  Irv is hesitant but eventually shares his list.

OK based on the fact that the person who gets the least amount of correct “fact” guesses I assume that all of us will have 5 of our facts listed in the challenge.  I mean that is the only way the challenge is fair….right?  I was surprised that the rest of my tribe had to have that fact pointed out to them.  In the final list everyone has five facts except Irv (has 6) and Tina (has 4).  Okay the only way that happens is if Irv alters his list in order to let Tina get the first immunity.  A fact that I pointed out to Susan and Ian.  Eventually they caught on and were shocked that Irv and Tina would f–k with their F4 deal.

Yeah, yeah I know what you are thinking….actually the reason Irv had 6 on our list was because of Andrei and NOT Irv or Tina.  “I am tall”….ummmm not even a selection in the list of facts.  I realized this quickly but knew I had to keep up the “Irv and Tina are screwing you” vibe with Susan and Ian.  It was my only shot.  Susan accepted fairly easily but Ian needed some reasurance….which I provided, lol.

Naturally we lose the challenge and have to go to TC.  Ian tells me that he is willing to vote for Irv and so does Susan.  I mean it was obvious who worked the hardest in the challenge and it was NOT Irv or Tina.  Tina wins immunity (since she only had four fact guesses) so that left only Irv to vote for.

I was nervous I will admit.  I mean Susan and Ian had both told me they were voting Irv…..but you never know.  I felt pretty safe because I figured that Andrei would go before me but I knew I had to flip the script if I was to stay in this.

In the end….Susan and Ian kept their word and Irv was voted out, lol.

Andrei had been super nervous the whole time and told me he thought it was going to be him.  I kept reasurring him and told him our best shot was voting Irv and trusting Ian and Susan.  Thankfully he did.  the vote was 2 Andrei and 4 Irv.

As soon as the votes were read Irv messages me and asks me how I voted.  I told him the truth and said I knew about the 4 alliance and that I knew I wasn’t in it so I had to vote for him….gotta luv honesty, lol.  He tells me he understands but….that I should NOT trust Ian, lol.  Already there bud.

I immediately got several messages from Susan and Ian telling me how they are with me until the end.

POWER RANKINGS:
1) Susan:  Feel like Susan is geniune.  We have connected outside the game and I feel she will stick with me for a long time.

2)Ian:  Yeah he talks with everyone and is a bit shady but I gotta recognize…He gave me info when I needed it and he tells me he wants to go to the end together.  I know that Ian is also close with Kyle and Quintin.

3) Andrei:  Get along great with Andrei.  He and I were at the bottom of the mix before we (I) flipped the script on the 4 allliance.  Andrei tells me he wants to work to the end with me.  He has a merge plan.  He has offered me long term plans.  But Andrei and Ian don’t trust each other and that could cause some conflict down the line.

4) Tina:  Cummon I don’t trust her at all, lol.  Feel like she thought she had control when she established the 4 alliance and also feel she has given up now that the 4 has swapped.

ANDREI

Man, i cant understand where did u found the players in my tribe. Tina is inactive. She have problems, ok. Why she wont quit if she have problems? Then in first challenge, with the facts, was so obviously that we can win it easily if we share our facts. When i told them that we must do that, they were hesitating. WHY????????? In the end they decided that is the best option. Like we would have had other option????????

Now is the challenge with the pics. Wtf, we have a thread where we must post the results. Why they dont post in that thread but in separate threads? Its confusing. Now i dont know what pic is solved and which one is not. My tribe name should be CHAOS!

ANTON

None.

ERIK

None.

IAN

Okay sorry this is late. First 3 days were huge. So in the auction, I just decide to bid 69 for the hell of it. Got some laughs out of people. Eventually it got me PLEAD THE FIFTH. It isn’t the most powerful item, but it isn’t like fake nachos. I have an advantage with it if I can use it correctly. I make connections with Irv, Allan, Majid, Kyle, and somewhat with John during the auction and schoolyard pick. It was hilarious how Kyle and Irv became the captains and both wanted me. I told Kyle that Irv wanted to work with me but we could work in a swap or merge. Big mistake. So I get on Aldn with Irv, Tina, Allan, Andrei, and Susan. Irv brings me into an alliance with Tina and Susan. I noticed how he said he knows Tina will be loyal and he played with her before. I knew right then I was not his #2. And he would no longer be mine.

Allan and I hit it off well. So I really wanted to keep him safe. And he wants us to work with Andrei. Problem with saying yes is that I would of been aligned with everyone on my tribe. So if we lost, people could find out, and send me out instead. The challenge came and Allan was leading us, which he did a good job. We lost because we had 6 quotes for Irv and 4 for Tina. This gave Tina Individual Immunity. Allan and I, though mostly him, put the pieces together. The only person to see Tina’s quotes was Irv. A “mistake” happens and she is now immune at tribal council. That is suspicious. Luckily I had gotten along well with Susan so we got her to vote with Allan, Andrei, and I to vote off Irv to split the dastardly duo up. Now Irv is gone, and my alliance is Allan, Susan, and Andrei

It is annoying how Andrei and Tina do not do that much work in the challenge. On the other hand, it makes my few moments of production look better in comparison. So best case scenario: Allan and Susan do 90% of the work in challenges and we continue to win, while I am not seen as hurting the tribe in challenges

JOHN

Confessional 3: I don’t want to sound like the cynical bastard of my tribe but every single person let me down at that challenge. I said repeatedly that we need the image numbers and nobody ever listened to me. This tribe is just like my ex. In love with themselves and not willing to listen to somebody else even if they have a good point. Now we have to go to tribal and break up the “happy” six. I’m 100% sure that I’m good this time. For Anton and I it’s all about securing a 3rd person so that if we go to tribal again we can survive. That being said I don’t agree with the tribe this time on who we are voting out but swinging it will only put me in danger so I have to sit back

KATIE

None.

KYLE

“Confessional” I was very nervous this was a hard challenge but Paul pulled it off…..and he needed too, his head was on the block big time. I think he got some favour with the tribe he’s great in challenges but very anti social which is great in this part of the game but not so great after the merge. Glad we don’t have to find out Paul’s fate tonight. Because I like Paul!

MAJID

None.

MARC

CONFESSIONAL DAY 5
It’s been  five days since we started and there are good vibes in the tribe. Everyone cares about its good functioning and I see interest in winning challenges. I talked to almost everyone, Shane the least. I have not spoken yet about alliances but with Anton got to address that issue and he gave me to understand that I can rest assured that I have his support. I get along with Magid very well too, we talk a lot, we have not talked specifically about alliances but we do have a good and honest communication. So far so good. But I must not guard down. I also thought that all was well in SCWL6 and I thought I had a good position in Aspu tribe and I took the worst part on that game. I hope I have learned my lesson so that I can avoid to repeat my mistakes.

MATT

So far so good in the game, fairly lucky to be where I am, I feel like my position thus far leads to me being relatively safe.

It started by chance of waking up to feed my son and seeing the live bidding challenge and seeing that we were already at pick 9 with most people having spent some/all of their internet monies.  I felt I had already missed most perks and that there probably was not a lot of time to get something good; thus I bet all my internet monies on a mystery and ended up with a power to let me make decisions in game, hopefully it pays off later in the game.

After being school yard picked into 2 teams, I quickly made a couple of contacts within my tribe before being given the chance to make it 3 tribes, which at the time to me meant that I could potentially have more numbers going into post-merge gameplay.  I quickly informed my new “allies” of my plan to make a 3rd tribe, bring numbers to the merge and reform our alliance and possibly to final 3 with them.

Picking was easy, Marc had had prior allegiance with Rudelee in an earlier season and it was quite easy getting him on board with me.  A plus since he had already played this ORG, which led to the pick of Anton as well.  I figured getting as many seasoned players as possible on my side works from a numbers point of view, as well as using them as cannon fodder later on if circumstances necessitate it, making a point of them having had the chance to play this before and this being my first opportunity to play.

Going into challenge 1 was difficult with building paranoia and hoping all players would be active at this stage.  Eventually it all ended well with us managing maximum points but it did point out to me that Shane may not be the right person in this game for me, activity-wise, and may lead to me pointing him out to have his torch snuffed out first.

Going into challenge 2, I let the tribe know that I did not mind sitting out but that may have been a mistake so early, having the “captain” of the team sitting out.  Watching them stumble through the challenge so far has been exceptionally frustrating, although I have seen that John has put in the most work thus far and seems to be keeping everything together.  I am quite nervous and hope other tribes are having as much trouble as mine seems to be having.

Regarding players on my tribe:

John is by far the biggest competitor, seems to be logical and has Anton and Marc on his side right now.  My relation is generally good for now, he may target me going further.

Anton seems the most honest to me, confirming an alliance with John and indirectly myself.  If John goes forward and tries to remove me, this is where the deciding vote will probably come from.

War (Majid) is a real wild-card who I have tried to keep on my side.  He doesn’t seem to hold back when talking and could be overly on the emotional side going forward.  Our allegiance to each other is quite strong right now, I am attempting to be there as emotional support for him.

My relationship with Marc seems positive, with him carrying on his allegiance for Rudelee to me.  To be honest we just have an understanding with minimal interaction.

Shane is dangerous, he is the least active player on the tribe, having very little interaction that I have seen with myself, War and Marc.  I fear he may try push John and Anton once we get to a point that we have to vote players out.

PAUL

None.

SHANE

None.

SUSAN

confessional******* so whole irv was being shady thing i dont really believe that i think we were unorganized no one was really listening but whatever it made irv a target so i told a few irvs kind of a liar stories they bought it and bam here another week……..as for this week maybe its an age thing but ian ..well ian is a good guy hes very helpful but his comments sometimes i hope my kid speaks better than him he wants to know something he will ask in chat then when u tell him its up there on whatever page to check he will wait and say did you check yet uhm why cant he check homself why can he make the list we need ..idk maybe im just grumpy but im glad we arent going to tribal i wouldve pushed for him and been left with useless tina…tina, why is she even here? she does nothing….allan ooo i love allan, hes great and he has red hair  lol if this was a :”real live reality” id be made fun of following him around making gogo eyes lmao….okay thats all from me 🙂

QUINTIN

None.

TINA

Confessional #1. So I was in an alliance with Irv, but the guys screwed us and voted him out. At this point I just need to try and make merge, so I need to do whatever i can at the challenges. last challenge i couldnt help much coz i wwas really sick and had to go to the hospital. Im feeling much better now and ready to dive in head first and help get this done

8.23 SCWL 8 Round 2 Tribal Council

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8ofm6PARSVM – DKC

TRIBAL COUNCIL #2

(ANTON)-(JOHN)-(MAJID)-(MARC)-(MATT)-(SHANE)
XXX
(IRV)

(Answer all questions in this thread before the voting deadline.)

Above the X’s are each of your names. Once your name is gone, so are you. That will be the case for one of you tonight.

Should it be Matt tonight, The Decider will go to Susan on the Aldn tribe.

ANTON,

1. Nobody has had a longer hiatus from SCWL than you–nearly four years. What is it like adjusting back to playing SCWL for the second time?

I think the game format had to be right to come back out of “retirement” if you will because SCWL was one of my last Facebook games. The transition hasn’t been too difficult as of yet thanks to this tribe. Feel like I really lucked out when that 3rd tribe twist.

2. Let’s talk about being on this third tribe. Do you think your challenge performance is better on this tribe compared to what it would have been like if you were on your original tribe during the pick em?

I personally liked the idea of introducing a third tribe into this game and think I’m a better fit with this group of 6 than I would have been with a large group. We hit a small hiccup yesterday but I don’t think we plan on being back here in this position any time soon.

3. On one hand, you could say you are back to Tribal Council for the eighth immunity challenge in nine rounds. On the other hand, this tribe has been ten times more competitive than Supa ever was four years ago.

Are you able to distance yourself from that and think “it was just a tough loss, oh well” or is a loss all the same whether it be by 100 points or 2 points?

I’ve got to see all of the tribal councils in my last season, so I’ll come view this place once, compare it to the last locale and my tribal council fix should be fulfilled. A loss is a loss regardless of the point difference and while it’s easier to nitpick a close loss to say what could we have done differently, the losses I suffered in my first season were not close and just mentally demoralizing. I think this is a much better tribe and don’t plan on being back here very much this season.

JOHN,

1. Let’s talk to somebody new to this game. John, is there a noticeable gap between the returning players and the new players? Or is there really no bridge because of that difference in experience?

I don’t think there is that much of a gap between new players and returning players. Since I’m new to ORGs I did ask them how their experiences have been because I had no idea how ORGs worked. But as a tribe we make sure that everyone is equal. The returning players don’t stand out as being different they are just players in this game like anyone else.

2. The two tribes with returning players happen to be the two tribes that have lost one immunity challenge so far. Do you think that is pure coincidence based on a lack of challenge data thus far?

It’s purely a coincidence. I work with statistics and 2 occurrences isn’t enough data to prove any sort of connection. On top of that we were so close this time and I know that the next time we are going to come back and destroy the other tribes.

3. Have you drawn any parallels to what it’s like watching Survivor on TV to playing an online version of it on Facebook?

I’ve watched and rewatched survivor since I was 6 all the way back when it premiered. I’ve definitely noticed similarities but what I didn’t know would happen is that we would have such a unified tribe. I feel like from watching survivor it’s so rare for a tribe to be close and strong as a unit. We have definitely come together to work well.

MAJID,

1. Is there any conflict on this tribe?

This tribe is soooo amazing i loved it im so glad that matt split it and john pick me twice i love you guys marc shane anton love you you are greattttttt

2. What happened in the immunity challenge? Did you guys only score 76 points or was there an error when the tribe submitted the final list?

we were going to win butt small mistake caused us second place.

3. Is it tough to vote someone out when you start the game out with only six people on this tribe?

for me its not hard to vote early on Survive war we wer tribe from four it was harder 😀

MARC,

1. You are the only player in this season who has already experienced the three-tribe format in SCWL. What is it about three tribes that makes it such a tricky game?

I hate the three tribes format. It seems like you have less chances to attend the TC but when you have to you realize that chances are higher as the tribe is smaller.

2. There are zero females on this tribe. Does that create a unique dynamic within the tribe?

I don’t think that suppose any difference.

3. What is the criteria for how you will cast your vote this round?

I just don’t know. There’s no inactive players, no troublemakers… Really tough decision.

MATT,

1. You are the reason why we have three tribes in existence in the first place. When you bid on that item for the auction, did you know it would be The Decider? Because your bid came from nowhere.

Being in my timezone the auction started at 4ish in the morning and I only woke up because my baby needed to be fed. When I fed up I saw we were on the 9th item, which was a mystery item, and I had seen that there had been a lot of time already in the auction so I figured I would not get much chance to vote on anything else leading me to bet all my points at once on what I thought may be something cool. I had no idea it would be “The Decider”.

2. When faced with the dilemma, why did you choose to create this tribe? Some would say that is a big move to make on Opening Day.

I don’t view it as a big move, tribes had just been chosen, there was not really any time to create friendships and gain trust in those 2 tribes. Why I did it? It seemed to me to be a better option challenge-wise having 2 teams to compete against and in all likelihood that meant a better chance of being 1st or 2nd in challenges.

3. If you end up being voted out tonight, would you blame possessing The Decider as the reason for your elimination?

No, I don’t think the power of “The Decider” has been shown and the simple changing from 2 to 3 tribes has only been a benefit to us thus far.

SHANE,

1. Not only were you the final person to be picked in the School Yard Pick Em originally, but you also happened to be last picked to be on the new tribe. Do you feel that makes you underrated in this game?

I’ll be honest, at first I thought maybe the five on this tribe know each other. And I’m just there auto vote. But maybe not. I feel like this tribe is strong and likes each other.

2. How tough is it to communicate with everybody in your tribe? Because you guys might be a tribe of six people, but yet you are from four differents.

It’s definitely hard. Half of us are on at one time but the other half aren’t on until we’re asleep. So it’s hard to do these challenge that require a majority of us to help. Especially when we all have our own time restraints

3. Teenagers rarely do well in SCWL. Why do you think teens tend to have a hard time in this series?

Because a lot of teens like myself struggle with school and extracurriculars. In addition I don’t have the best family life. My dad is currently in jail because about a weak ago he attacked me. So I do have a lot of handicaps on time but I’m here for the tribe and the second a challenge comes along that doesn’t require consistant activity throughout the whole day then I’ll be useful. As long as I can survivor this vote.

Okay. When you privately message me your vote, please do so in the following manner:

“VOTE: (INSERT NAME HERE)

REASON: (INSERT REASON HERE)”

e.g.

VOTE: (Logan!!)

REASON: I hate him. A lot.

Okay. Between now and 8:00am eastern Tuesday, it is time to vote. UsAl tribe, you’re up.

(Send me your vote and vote reasoning before the deadline.)

***

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l6NpliDiLTE – DKC

ANTON,

VOTE: Shane

REASON: you got off to a slow start and never really recovered which was good for me as I wasn’t not around much for this challenge that we lost. I’m hoping the wool isn’t being pulled over my eyes and the rest of these votes have my name on them but it was fun chatting when you were around

JOHN,

Vote: Shane

Reason: I wish it wasn’t him. I think that he would be loyal to me but at this point the entire tribe has singled him out. For the sake of my game I need to go along with it.

MAJID,

VOTE :Shane

REASON:he was the weakest link again

MARC,

Vote: Shane
Reason: It seems to be a consensus decision.

MATT,

VOTE: Shane

REASON: I don’t feel like he has put enough effort into the challenges or the relationships with other tribe members. It feels as if he thinks just doing challenges would be enough to secure his stay here.

SHANE,

I vote Majid

Because I wanna stay in the game

***

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v18pEFQb3EM – DKC

I’ll go tally the votes. Oh wait. I already tallied them.

Once the votes are read the decision is final and the person voted out will be removed from their tribe camp almost immediately.

I’ll read the votes.
.
.
.
.
.
FIRST VOTE:
.
.
.
(Shane)
.
.
One vote Shane.
.
.
.
SECOND VOTE:
.
.
.
.
(Majid)
.
.
We’re tied. One vote Shane, one vote Majid.
.
.
.
.
NEXT VOTE:
.
.
.
(Shane)
.
.
Two votes Shane, one vote Majid.
.
.
.
FOURTH VOTE:
.
.
.
.
.
(Shane)
.
.
.
Three votes Shane, one vote Majid.
.
.
.
.
NEXT VOTE:
.
.
.
.
.
.
Second person voted out of SCWL 8. . .
.
.
(Shane)
.
Shane, the tribe has spoken.
.
(XXXXX)
.
It’s time for you to go.

SHANE: Lying ass bitches :p no hard feelings

This is definitely a unified tribe as not only was it a clear unanimous vote, but it appears the player you voted out took it very well.

It appears you have a healthy tribe. However, that could all change by coming back here again. I suggest you avoid that fate.

8.24 SCWL 8 Round 2 Blog

ALDN’S AFTERMATH

Oh man. Aldn is a complete mess after Tribal Council. On paper it looked like it was a group of four teaming up to oppose the most inactive and least trustworthy players on their tribe.

Once the confessionals came pouring in, I learned that was not exactly the case. Allan and Andrei were originally on the outside, but Allan’s contributions to the challenge, and Irv and Tina not contributing shook up the tribe very early on in the game.

It appears Allan was worried about having Tina on his tribe, but it is clear that Allan has won this battle. Tina’s health issues made her isolated, and everybody viewed Allan as a prime ally within the tribe. It is up to Allan to guide this tribe as nobody else wants to work with each other. Susan is on the verge of justifying keeping Tina over Ian after only talking to him for one round. Andrei is unhappy with everyone.

Therefore, Allan is in power of this dysfunctional group. Because it is a three-tribe game, I am curious if Aldn members were simply thinking “just get to the end of round four and our tribe can be dissolved”. That’s the power of recent Survivor seasons airing on television. They do influence how players assume an ORG will be structured.

Please note SCWL 1 became a game in the first place because Survivor: Redemption Island had just aired on TV. A combination of the RI format with a Final Three on day 39 was such a bad format that I did not watch Survivor that season, and led to me starting up in this series because a lot of ORGs were copying that format. Sorry, but I cannot go through an ORG that has Secret Redemption Island.

ALLAN AND IAN

As I have said before, this is probably one of the funnier pairings I have seen in an ORG. Seeing Allan and Ian having no choice but to work together despite not having similar personalities was a fun storyline to watch play out.

Trust me when I say that this season is unusual in the sense that there are a lot of random duos that will pair up throughout the game. At one point I even wrote “this is like an offbeat version of Blood vs. Water”. This is part of the reason as to why the game will get crazy as we progress. Large groups of five to seven players in a big alliance may have occurred in past SCWL seasons, but it will not truly occur here.

PAUL LEADS THE TRIBE TO VICTORY

After the first round, I thought Paul’s only option would be to leverage his items to stay alive or hope his tribe wins every challenge.

Yet many players were having a tough time with this challenge while Paul scooped up a ton of points. One player rarely guides an entire tribe to victory in SCWL, but Paul should deserve a MVP award here. Making a statement like this early on may set you up for failure in the individual phase, but this is the Angie Jakusz moment where one needs to step up and make your tribe re-think the idea of eliminating you.

I know Paul has wanted to be apart of SCWL for a long time. He had to wait out for SCWL All Stars and the post-season hiatus to get a shot at this series. Only problem is that the “Eh Team” are comfortable with each other, and may be patient to budge in making a big move.

I assume nothing is changing on Pusa because only one player from their tribe sent in a confessional for this round. If the plot was thickening, I am certain at least one person would be eager to tell me all about it.

And if you’re worried Pusa is going to be a silent tribe, no need to fret. We will be getting a lot of confessionals from this tribe over the next few rounds.

USAL’S MISCOMMUNICATION

Unfortunately UsAl is full of people new to ORGs and ultimately could not communicate with each other well enough prior to the deadline. This was a tough loss because it seemed like they committed an error that could have been corrected. If the tribe checked it over, I would have seen Aldn for the second time in a row and Tina goes home 5-1. Instead they must head to Tribal Council. That’s how the game goes.

MAJID THREATENS TO QUIT

In SCWL 3 and 6, a player quit in the opening round. After that the earliest is waiting until round five with Branden in SCWL 5. Usually players who do not quit in the first round are more than willing to play in this game.

But there was a genuine worry that Majid may be throwing in the towel. This did not play out too much in confessionals, but Majid nearly walked out prior to Tribal Council. Thankfully Majid ultimately stayed. The stigma associated with quitting pre-merge is always a tough one for players to handle.

Once we get further in the game we will see another incident of a player who considers quitting. This will be for much scarier reasons. Whether it happens to Majid or somebody else remains a mystery for now.

In terms of the three-tribe format, somebody who ends up quitting when tribes have only six players to start with is always an enormous risk. This is what essentially screwed Marc over in SCWL 6. It is perhaps one of the biggest faults with the three-tribe format. No protection against the unpredictability of what a player might do in this game.

And this is perhaps Majid’s first true roller coaster moment. We have more to come.

John picked Majid twice to be on his tribe, and after what happened in the challenge in terms of communicating with the other tribe members, John’s competitive spirit may be frustrated with his own decision making.

He may have to stick his neck out and become the leader of the UsAl tribe.

ANTON AND MARC

These two do not really overlap much in the ORG world, but playing several years apart on SCWL is the lone connection these two guys have. Marc appears to be Anton’s closest ally since being separated from Allan. Thus, we have another pairing on our hands.

I like Marc’s game so far. Marc has the rare talent of being very active in the game, but a guy who you can forget about if you are not careful. He knows how to play into this strategy well.

This brings me to another point–how the heck did Marc get voted out in SCWL 6 before any of the other players who were at each other’s throats for most of that season? What a weird season.

SHANE NOT IN SYNC WITH THE TRIBE

And so we get to our tragic victim of UsAl’s first Tribal Council–Shane.

I think Shane’s spirit was gone when he discovered he would not be on a tribe with Erik and Katie. Joining a group of five people who all live in different continents and have a bit more in common may have been a struggle for him in terms of conversation.

The common theme when votes were being cast is that Shane did not build relationships or have a major presence in challenges. As John said, Shane was singled out in the end.

In the first 6-9 days of the game, and this applies to the real show as well, you do not really have a good reason for voting someone out other than feeling the energy of who is not in sync with the others.

My pre-season predictions rarely come true, but this is one prediction that I thought would play out. Shane is a good guy and know he wanted to play. He needed conflict to develop on UsAl like it did with Aldn, but this is a level-headed group that want to stay on a safe path.

Voting Majid and hoping for the best was all he could do.

A SEMI-LIVE CHALLENGE NEXT ROUND

And no, it is not Quoridor. There are a couple of new semi-live games debuting this season. I don’t know why, but I thought a semi-live challenge may not bode well for Pusa. Or maybe I was secretly hoping that each tribe would lose one tribal immunity challenge in the opening three rounds.

After interacting within their own tribes during each challenge, this is the first time where we will see the three tribes directly face each other. All of the drama and the next layer of relationships are created here.

Oh, and if you are hoping for a dramatic Tribal Council to happen by now. . .keep the ‘pause’ button pressed for the time being. I’ll admit the next couple of Tribal Councils may not be the most exciting.

Anyways, that’s all for this round.

8.25 SCWL 8 Round 2 Fantasy Pool and Boot List Predictions

BRIAN WHITEHEAD:
1. Erik Ward [PUSA]
2. Allan Baldridge [ALDN]
3. Katie Overbey [PUSA]
4. Kyle Minault [PUSA]
5. Marc Oriol [UsAl]
6. Ian Miller [ALDN]
7. Quintin Phillipson [PUSA]
8. Matt Merks [UsAl]
9. Anton Hirsch [UsAl]
10. Andrei Valentin [ALDN]
11. John Radich [UsAl]
12. Ajdin Kursumlic [PUSA]
13. “War” Iour [UsAl]
14. Tina Warren [ALDN]
15. Paul Carby [PUSA]
16. Shane Taylor [UsAl]
17. Susan Komosa [ALDN]

CAMERON JOHNSON:
1. Allan Baldridge [ALDN]
2. Andrei Valentin [ALDN]
3. Quintin Phillipson [PUSA]
4. Tina Warren [ALDN]
5. Ian Miller [ALDN]
6. Ajdin Kursumlic [PUSA]
7. Marc Oriol [UsAl]
8. John Radich [UsAl]
9. Erik Ward [PUSA]
10. Paul Carby [PUSA]
11. Matt Merks [UsAl]
12. Anton Hirsch [UsAl]
13. Katie Overbey [PUSA]
14. Shane Taylor [UsAl]
15. Kyle Minault [PUSA]
16. “War” Iour [UsAl]
17. Susan Komosa [ALDN]

CLAYTON SPIVEY:
1. Katie Overbey [PUSA]
2. Marc Oriol [UsAl]
3. Quintin Phillipson [PUSA]
4. Susan Komosa [ALDN]
5. John Radich [UsAl]
6. Erik Ward [PUSA]
7. Allan Baldridge [ALDN]
8. Anton Hirsch [UsAl]
9. Paul Carby [PUSA]
10. Andrei Valentin [ALDN]
11. Matt Merks [UsAl]
12. Ajdin Kursumlic [PUSA]
14. Ian Miller [ALDN]
14. Shane Taylor [UsAl]
15. Kyle Minault [PUSA]
16. Tina Warren [ALDN]
17. “War” Iour [UsAl]

CODY JAMES:
1. Quintin Phillipson [PUSA]
“This kid is proving to be very very social and capable of holding a tribe unified with just tribe encouragement. I believe he will keep his tribe on track this challenge and they will avoid tribal again.”

2. Kyle Minault [PUSA]
“Um, not sure why i like him over Erik. I feel as if katies gonna have a grip on each male on her tribe and they will all blindly be lead to the slaughterhouse.”

3. Erik Ward [PUSA]
4. Paul Carby [PUSA]
5. Katie Overbey [PUSA]
“She slips this week because its vday and I know shes not playing in the comp”

6. Ian Miller [ALDN]
7. Anton Hirsch [UsAl]
8. Ajdin Kursumlic [PUSA]
9. Allan Baldridge [ALDN]
“Still my villanous pick to emerge”

10. Susan Komosa [ALDN]
“Ugh, please be ruthless im pulling for you and katie”

11. Andrei Valentin [ALDN]
12. Matt Merks [UsAl]
13. Marc Oriol [UsAl]
14. John Radich [UsAl]
15. “War” Iour [UsAl]
16. Shane Taylor [UsAl]
“If his tribe loses he should go. Dead wieght”

17. Tina Warren [ALDN]
“Well Irv went, i imagine shes next.”

EFE KARANISOGLU:
1. Erik Ward [PUSA]
2. Matt Merks [UsAl]
3. Marc Oriol [UsAl]
4. Quintin Phillipson [PUSA]
5. Kyle Minault [PUSA]
6. Katie Overbey [PUSA]
7. Allan Baldridge [ALDN]
8. Andrei Valentin [ALDN]
9. John Radich [UsAl]
10. Tina Warren [ALDN]
11. Paul Carby [PUSA]
12. Shane Taylor [UsAl]
13. Ajdin Kursumlic [PUSA]
14. Anton Hirsch [UsAl]
15. “War” Iour [UsAl]
16. Susan Komosa [ALDN]
17. Ian Miller [ALDN]

JESSICA FREY:
1. Erik Ward [PUSA]
2. Katie Overbey [PUSA]
3. Allan Baldridge [ALDN]
4. Andrei Valentin [ALDN]
5. Ajdin Kursumlic [PUSA]
6. Tina Warren [ALDN]
7. Anton Hirsch [UsAl]
8. Marc Oriol [UsAl]
9. Shane Taylor [UsAl]
10. Paul Carby [PUSA]
11. Kyle Minault [PUSA]
12. Quintin Phillipson [PUSA]
13. Susan Komosa [ALDN]
14. Ian Miller [ALDN]
15. John Radich [UsAl]
16. Matt Merks [UsAl]
17. “War” Iour [UsAl]

LISTER POTTER III:
1. Katie Overbey [PUSA]
2. Anton Hirsch [UsAl]
3. Erik Ward [PUSA]
4. Allan Baldridge [ALDN]
5. Marc Oriol [UsAl]
6. Susan Komosa [ALDN]
7. Quintin Phillipson [PUSA]
8. Matt Merks [UsAl]
9. Ian Miller [ALDN]
10. Kyle Minault [PUSA]
11. John Radich [UsAl]
12. Ajdin Kursumlic [PUSA]
13. “War” Iour [UsAl]
14. Andrei Valentin [ALDN]
15. Paul Carby [PUSA]
16. Shane Taylor [UsAl]
17. Tina Warren [ALDN]

RUDEZ MERKS:
3. Erik Ward [PUSA]
1. Katie Overbey [PUSA]
4. Allan Baldridge [ALDN]
14. Andrei Valentin [ALDN]
2. Anton Hirsch [UsAl]
5. Marc Oriol [UsAl]
9. Ian Miller [ALDN]
17. Tina Warren [ALDN]
11. John Radich [UsAl]
10. Kyle Minault [PUSA]
15. Paul Carby [PUSA]
7. Quintin Phillipson [PUSA]
6. Susan Komosa [ALDN]
8. Matt Merks [UsAl]
12. Ajdin Kursumlic [PUSA]
16. Shane Taylor [UsAl]
13. “War” Iour [UsAl]

MY PROJECTED BOOT LIST

16: PAUL
15: TINA
14: SUSAN
13: MAJID
12: ANDREI
11: ALLAN
10: KYLE
9: KATIE
8: ERIK
7: QUINTIN
6: MARC
5: IAN
4: JOHN
3: ANTON
2: AJDIN
1: MATT

8.26 SCWL 8 Round 2 Next Time on SCWL. . .

– Majid’s chaotic nature places him on the periphery of a tight UsAl tribe.
– After having their perceived weakest member lead the tribe to victory in the previous immunity challenge, Pusa appears to be unstoppable.
– Aldn continues to struggle to unite as a tribe in challenges, but once more the outcome hinges on Ian and Allan’s teamwork. Can they work together to overcome the other two very active tribes?
– And the season faces its first bump with immunity on the line.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

