SCWL 2 episode 14

Challenge XV: Medley

Inspired By: My belief that the third to last immunity challenge should combine the elements of challenges from earlier seasons.

Date: March 25 – March 28

Winner: Dave Bronson

Voted out: Jamie Frick 3-2

THE REMAINING FIVE

Heading into the episode Michael is on his last legs. He narrowly escaped the Brian vote because Apus needed to be weakened further. He narrowly escaped the Lister vote because David and Dave could not garner enough support to eliminate one of their own. He narrowly escaped the Marcelo vote for much of the same reason. His buffer zones are now gone. Dave is tight with Jamie, David, and Noah. The same thing applies for Noah. Michael does not fit into their plan now that Michael has taken the underdog role. He needs to win.

MICHAEL DOESN’T WIN

Heh. The medley where everything is on the line, all five players do pretty bad in this challenge. It was one of my few victories during the season–stumping the players. Anybody who participated in the challenge neither aced the challenge nor failed entirely. Four players had a very adequate score.

DAVE WINS IMMUNITY AGAIN

He is in an excellent position to win his way to the end. Only two more challenges before Dave and Noah get into the finale. Dave is particularly excited about his win because Michael is his only competition in challenges and he is about to be eliminated once and for all. I rolled my eyes waiting for the inevitable to happen. Michael’s days are up.

NOPE

Dave and Jamie sent in their votes for Michael. Michael sent in his vote for Jaime. At this point I thought maybe Jamie would fall to the curse of voting for Michael but had a tough time buying that Noah and David would help out Michael. I did not see Noah giving up a closer ally in Jamie. I assumed Mike would go, and next round we’ll have David possibly be ejected from the game due to his crappy situation. Speaking of which. . .

DAVID’S COMPUTER PROBLEMS

It was not an unorthodox strategic move. David is having computer problems. This round and the previous round have forced him to sit out against his will. He sent me a few messages begging for extra time on these challenges but even then the library computer would glitch and I would receive nothing. David may follow Scott’s path and be a surprise quit/ejection right before the end of the game. It will really suck if it does happen.

JAMIE AND DAVE BLINDSIDED

One of the biggest blindsides of the season. Michael is saved in a Phillip-like manner for the fourth round in a row. He takes the bullets while the threat is eliminated. I don’t know what exactly made Michael go from dead man walking in Noah and David’s books to being third man in. There must have been some conversations that made them think next round Dave and Jamie would deadlock the vote. That is the only conclusion I can come to. Michael would be their third as opposed to 2-2. Smart move I s’pose if that’s what they figured.

LESSON LEARNED

Participate in the dang challenge. Perhaps Jamie had issues come up but for the second round in a row the player that is booted put in the least effort besides David. They had their shot to prevent their own elimination and they didn’t embrace the opportunity. Hopefully these rounds have taught players that when it gets down to only five or six players that it is time to stop portraying yourself as a weak player and instead fight to guarantee safety in this game. Immunity is the only thing that keeps you safe in this game.

4: David
3: Dave
2: Noah
1: Michael

From last to first in terms of my prediction. This game changes on a dime.

TRIBAL COUNCIL #14

(*DAVE*)-(DAVID)-(JAMIE)-(MICHAEL)-(NOAH)
XXX
(WESLEY)-(KEVIN)-(FEDE)-(FRANCISCO)-(CHRIS)-(KRISTINE)-(CARL)-(EAMON)-(SHYAM)-(LEIF)-(BRIAN)-(LISTER)-(MARCELO)

You must answer your questions in order for your vote to count.

DAVE,

1. Once again you have immunity. You’re in the Final Four. Is everyone here relying on your vote this round?

Yatta! I did it! That challenge was a bitch (and had absolutely zero video game trivia!) so I’m happy that my hard work paid off. Honestly, I’m still not quite sure where everybody’s head is at for this vote.

2. What do you think everyone is deeming to be important at this point? “How do I put myself in a position to stay alive at least one more round” or “how do I put myself in a position to win if I get to the Final Two”?

I think everyone is just trying to figure out how they can make it to the next stage. If they’ve figured that out already, they might be thinking a step ahead.

3. Nine consecutive Apus members, whether half breed or full breed, are all gone in a row. In fact the only non-Apus member voted out thus far was Francisco. This is the only round since then where that will occur. How does that change the atmosphere of the vote this round?

It completely changes the atmosphere. It’s a totally different game now. The 5 of us have worked as a single unit since Day 1 and to be forced to turn on each other & vote out one of our own members is not going to be easy for any of us.

But Survivor was designed this way for that reason. The whole idea of the game is to get people to work together and forge real, meaningful relationships and then get those same people to betray each other and stab one another in the back. It’s definitely the most brutal phase in an already brutal game.

DAVID,

1. How frustrating is it that late game computer problems may be responsible for your departure if you’re voted out this round?

1. There’s not even a word for how frustrating it is. I’ve put too much effort into this game to be eliminated next round if i get another inactivity strike so that really bothers me. Even worse, now that we’re down to our core five and things have the potential to get crazy, not being able to participate just makes it hurt more.

2. However, you weren’t the only one who was MIA in this challenge. Does it help to never be in a position or make a move in this game where you are singled out?

2. 😀 I don’t want to Campos on this question, but I really don’t understand the phrasing.

ME: I meant more of “you and Jamie both didn’t really do the challenge. Is that better than it being ONLY you to not do the challenge”.

ME: Or I can go the Probst in Nicaragua route and say “I don’t believe you don’t know what I’m talking about. Yve, do you know what I’m talking about? You THINK you know?!”

Sorry Logan, I must have been up the same tree Fabio was in..

2. To re-answer question 2, yes i’m glad it wasn’t only me lacking in the participation category. It’s definitely hard to be in a situation where getting challenges done are difficult, and having others have the same problem just shows that if someone doesn’t participate it’s not because their lazy, but because real life situations come up as well.

3. What’s the criteria for this round’s vote?

3. At this point it’s all about setting up the endgame. All the other votes were easy compared to this. I think people are definitely thinking about who they want with them if they make it to the finals, and perhaps more so thinking about who might not want to be sitting with THEM in the finals.

JAMIE,

1. You go from almost always being runner-up to pulling a Marcelo. Was the challenge that difficult and you figured ‘someone else will figure this out better than me’ or do you feel safe enough this round where you didn’t mind someone else winning immunity?

I completely forgot about the challenge until yesterday afternoon and I was really busy so I didn’t have any time to commit to the challenge like I would’ve liked to.

2. How difficult is it to vote someone out this round? You five must be tight. This is fourteen rounds over the past two months where you guys have always voted as a bloc.

It’s actually really tough. Now that it’s down to the five of us, we have to turn on each other.

3. If it’s you this round. . .how would you react to this family of five turning against you?

It would suck, but I wouldn’t be mad. I’m playing this for fun, so I don’t take things seriously. If I go, then I go. It’s just something that happens. No hard feelings.

MICHAEL,

You came up short in this round’s immunity. Do you think that puts a target on you? Or does that put you in a position where you can say ‘hey guys, I’m the only one who can keep up with Dave in challenges?’

I feel like its a bit of both, I’m not crazy good in challenges, but I’m not bad either, Dave is just really good. I dont think I have a target on my back for my challenge preformance

2. You’ve been voted for at least once in each of the past three rounds. Very unusual for someone to stay alive after being targeted that many rounds in a row. Do you think this is it for you or do you think the tide will turn?

You know, thats a hard question to answer, theres so many blindsides that have happened, I wouldent be surprised if it was me. I hope it isnt but we’re at a point where everything changes, and anything can happen

3. For many of you, this is your first ORG, and incidentally, your first time making it this far into an ORG. Do you notice how complex strategizing gets when there’s only four other people to talk to?

man, the last 5 votes were easy, but now we’re all having to turn on eachother, and things change. but I’m enjoying every minute of it

NOAH,

1. You haven’t been voted against since the Francisco elimination. The other four have all received votes since then. Why do you think you’ve been able to avoid being hit with votes?

1. I think I stayed clear of votes bc I’m not a threat. I’m not strong in challenges.

2. Is there a part of you that says ‘Dang, wish I would’ve hung onto my idol’? Because none of you have been truly vulnerable until this round.

2. I think holding on to my idol would have been more of an issue to me compared to it helping me.

3. Why should the other four keep you around?

3. I think I should stay bc I’m hot lol. I don’t think I’m a threat. I’ve kept open communication with the 5 of us. From here on out its going to be hard to vote.

Okay, when you vote please do so in the following format:

(Logan)

REASON: What is this? Your version of The Simpsons’ chalkboard gag? Fourteen Tribal Councils later and we still have to read through this crap? Clearly there’s a learning curve to this gag because I’M STILL NOT LAUGHING!

Votes are due by 1:00pm eastern Wednesday.

Dave has immunity. You cannot vote for Dave. Everybody else is fair game. It’s time to vote. Wacky tribe, you’re up.

If anybody has the hidden immunity idol and they played it, now would be the time I’d reveal it.
.
.
.
.
Okay. Once the votes are read the decision is final and the person voted out will be removed from the group almost immediately. I’ll read the votes.
.
.
.
.
.
.
FIRST VOTE:
.
.
.
.
(Jamie)
.
.
.
.
One vote Jamie.
.
.
.
.
.
SECOND VOTE:
.
.
.
.
(Michael)
.
.
.
.
.
.
One vote Jamie, one vote Michael.
.
.
.
.
.
NEXT VOTE :
.
.
.
.
.
(Michael Graga)
.
.
.
.
Two votes Michael, one vote Jamie.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
NEXT VOTE :
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
(Jamie.)
.
.
.
.
.
.
We’re tied.
.
.
.
.
.
Two votes Jamie and two votes Michael.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
One vote left.
.
.
.
.
.
.
LAST VOTE:
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
Fourteenth person voted out of the game. . .
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
And the seventh member of our jury:
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
(Jamie)
.
Jamie, the tribe has spoken.
.
(XXXXX)
.
It’s time for you to go.

MICHAEL: WHAAAAAT?!?! I thought I was dead!
JAMIE: Good luck y’all!

ME: Well, maybe the lesson here is to ensure you can put yourself in a position to fight for the only thing in this game that can guarantee you safety.

Congratulations, you have made it to the Final Four. Dave, David, Michael, and Noah, one of you is very close to winning this game. Here is what we’re down to:

Four players, three Tribal Councils, two immunity challenges, and one Survivor. It should be a doozy. I’ll send out your immunity challenge late tonight. You will be given 48 hours to work on it, and once you see it, I’m sure you’ll understand why.

Good luck.

TC VOTING

DAVE,

(Michael Graga)

Sorry Mike! I think you’re a great guy, but you’re my biggest competition in the challenges and I have a feeling I’m going to need to win them all in order to make it to the end.

DAVID,

I’m voting now even though everything will probably change and i’m half expecting to be out this round.

Re-make of an old campfire song:
Dave Bronson’s goat, wasn’t feeling fine,
ate three red shirts, off the back of the line..

(Jamie)

JAMIE,

Vote:

(Michael)

Someone has to go, so I guess it’s you.

MICHAEL,

(Jamie)

this is a tough vote, they could be playing me, but I have to trust my instincts. my instincts tell me Dave Bronson is lying and I have to betray him, sorry. it’s been fun 🙂

NOAH,

My vote is for Jamie.

CONFESSIONALS

DAVE,

I hate this challenge. Prepare to get some answers completely out of order and at random. SIGH.

JAMIE EXIT INTERVIEW

1. What made you apply for this game?

I wasn’t planning on playing any facebook games because, well, honestly.. They have become pretty lame and it seems like everyone is always in the same alliance, so it’s predictable and boring. Not to mention many of the newer players are real immature. But I heard a lot of good reviews about the first season, so I thought I’d give it a shot.

2. The other tribe had all the vets. Meanwhile your tribe was nearly all newbs. Why were vets pummelled this game?

I really don’t think it has anything to do with vets vs. newbs or anything like that. It seemed more like people just playing together. It was actually really nice playing on a tribe full of newbs because there aren’t preconceived notions about them, so they aren’t judged yet.

3. The diagonal move. You know it was going to come up. In my opinion, that was the second biggest move of the game. It forced you guys to go to a TC that completely split the tribe down the middle and exposed who was on the bottom. Then the mutiny occurs and you guys lose three people to the other tribe. However, Ooc dominates to the end of the game regardless. If you did not make the diagonal move, how do you think the game would have changed?

It was honestly a big mistake. I tripled checked my moves and somehow I didn’t see it. The other players on the tribe even checked it. I don’t see why Francisco, Carl, and Kristine or whoever got pissed about it. They could’ve easily checked it out as well. But I really think going to TC was a necessity at that point. We needed a change on our tribe. People were starting to feel too comfortable with their alliances.. Myself included. I believe people that weren’t in the alliance of five new they were in danger. So even if we didn’t go to TC, I think they still would’ve mutinied. I don’t think the game would’ve changed too much though. The alliance of five still would’ve dominated.

4. What was your favourite twist this game?

I really enjoyed the mutiny twist. I was really disappointed that I didn’t get an invite, even though I wouldn’t have accepted it. But it was cool that it was an option for people to make move before the merge to hopefully benefit themselves.

5. Your connection with Chris. Talk about that and its effect on your game and Chris’ game.

Obviously Chris and I have been great allies in many games. He is 100% trustworthy and a terrific player. We weren’t on the same tribe, so that really sucked. I was hoping we would end up on the same tribe so we could work together. Since we ended up on different tribes, we decided not to ally in this game. We knew it would put targets on our backs and it wouldn’t work. We did share some information and talked quite a bit about the game, but we each played our own game. Many people speculated/assumed Chris and I were allied and ultimately, I think that is why he was voted out. Fortunately for me, it didn’t have any effect on my game.

6. You went for the penalty idol a ton of times. Why did you feel it was necessary to go for it so much?

I thought it was important to go for it to make sure no one was in possession of it. Stupid me forgot to go for it during the first challenge, so I’m assuming that’s when Noah got it because I pretty much went for it every other time I could during the tribal stage.

7. But Noah played the penalty idol. Do you think Noah, although putting himself at risk and eliminating his advantage by sharing it with everyone, really did the right thing for the tribe overall considering Apus’ secrecy dropped them two people right before the merge?

Many people think this was a brilliant move on his part. I thought it was stupid. Apparently he did it so he didn’t have a target on his back. I wouldn’t have told anyone about it and kept it for when I felt I was in danger. And if I didn’t use it, no problem. No one had to know I had it. But I guess he felt like he made a good move.

8. You voted to merge. What was your motivation behind making that choice?

I didn’t care either way about merging or not. Ooc was great at challenges.. Mainly because Apus kept fucking themselves over by those penalties. I thought we could continue to keep dominating. But what happened if we did lose? There was Shyam who would’ve been the easy vote. But he was getting too comfortable and I felt like he might’ve made some alliances. So basically I was scared about what would happen if we ever lost a challenge. We had the numbers going into the merge, so that was the best decision.

9. Six original Ooc made it to the end and none were eliminated before that point in the post-merge phase. Why were tribal loyalties so dang strong?

To me, loyalty is one of the most important things in a game. I am going to be loyal to whoever I make an alliance with and do my best to get that alliance to the end. Noah and I were aligned from the very beginning and I was serious when we made that final two deal. Although he wasn’t as serious, even though he said loyalty was important to him. I was also extremely loyal to the alliance of five. When there were six left and people were talking about voting our Michael before Marcelo, that was just not cool with me. From the beginning, the five of us were supposed to go to the end, so deviating from the plan would’ve been stupid.

10. You went on vacation at a crucial point in the game. How do you think that impacted your game?

It didn’t have any impact on my game at all. Yeah, it sucked that I wasn’t able to socialize, so I was worried I would have a lot of catching up to do. But when I got back, I just slid right back into everything and it was like I never left.

11. What is the biggest regret you have outside of the diagonal move? Er, in this game. I don’t want this interview to be that personal.

I really don’t regret the diagonal move, but I did feel a tad bad about it. But I really didn’t have any regrets. I felt like I played a great game, but it just wasn’t good enough to get past fifth place.

12. Why were there so many failed attempts to eliminate Michael? And how did you become the last person to fall for that trick and pay for it by being eliminated? Why was Mike the constant decoy boot?

I don’t know why everyone wanted Michael out. He wasn’t that great of a player. But when the five of us were left, I have a final three deal with Noah and David (being my true alliance) and Noah and Dave. I thought I was golden to make it to the final three. Michael was really the only name I heard from other people. David had problems with his computer, so he wasn’t around to talk about the vote. Noah and I were supposed to be allies but he had other plans. I really don’t know why I appeared to be a threat to the guys.

13. How does this ORG compare to other games you have played?

I’ve played over 100 ORGs.. Yep, I’m an ORG slut. It’s definitely in the Top 10. There was a lot of thought put into the challenges, twists, and everything else. Nice job! [:)]

14. When you were voted out, who did you think would be voted out after you? Who did you want to be voted out after you? When you were voted out, who did you think would win? And at the time who did you want to win?

I thought Dave was going to be the next to go because he was blindsided by me getting voted out. He wasn’t included in the plan to vote me out, so he was out of the loop. Lucky for him, he won immunity. I would have to say that I wanted Noah voted out after me. I swear I’m usually never bitter when I get voted out. But I was completely baffled that Noah deflected from the plan. And after I was voted out, he tried lying to me about what went down. That pissed me off that he was lying even after I was voted out. If he told me the truth, I would’ve congratulated him on a nice blindside. I don’t know who I thought would win when I was voted out. It was obvious that Noah was running the show, so I thought he could have a shot. I really wanted Dave to win the game because was honest with me and I appreciate people being honest.

15. If you have any other thoughts, please share.

I had a great time playing and meeting new people. I would definitely recommend this series to others! 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

