SCWL 2 episode 13

Challenge XIV: Gamespotting

Inspired By: Geometric Brain Teasers. The type where you have six pieces of five-square long blocks and three pieces of two-square long blocks but are required to build as many shapes as possible using the limited pieces. My scribbled notes on paper led me to this idea.

Date: March 21 – March 24

ROUND THIRTEEN
GAMESPOTTING
This challenge was pre-determined. Dave thinks I was favouring him but sorry to burst your bubble Dave, I wasn’t intending to cater to your interests for these challenges. He wins immunity without breaking much of a sweat. Jamie is runner-up for the third or fourth challenge since merge. She’s this season’s Fiona.
ONE STEP AWAY
The only obstacle standing between all five pure-blooded Ooc from getting to the end of this game is to vote out Marcelo. They’ve also voted in unison at every TC. Whoever wins immunity (Dave) should definitely use Marcelo’s vote to their advantage and take out the biggest threat while Marcelo can still survive.
BLUNDER BY DAVE
He doesn’t keep Marcelo in the game while he has immunity. I thought for sure he’d pocket Marcelo and take out someone who can threaten him in challenges or tempt Noah away from his camp – someone like Jamie. Now Dave has wasted a round of safety all in the name of being loyal to his alliance. Perhaps him and Jamie have a deal that I don’t know about? And why is Michael always being targeted? I’m curious to what exactly Michael did to be the target for three consecutive rounds.
WHY DID MARCELO GO?
Back-to-back games where the quiet inactive not part of the 5-person alliance is eliminated unanimously in sixth place. Flynn and now Marcelo. Neither ever came close to winning an immunity challenge but yet nobody used their number to increase their odds of winning the game. Especially with Marcelo because he completely betrayed his previous tribe unlike Flynn who was loyal to the bitter end. Marcelo essentially played the role of Cochran – and we all know how big of a mistake it was for Coach to not take Cochran to the jury vote (although Ozzy would’ve beat Coach, Cochran, and Albert in final immunity. Another reason why RI sucks). I think he went because whoever stopped Dave and David’s motion to save Marcelo the past couple of rounds put a stop to it. Perhaps Noah has been in charge the whole game? Jamie? I don’t know. Dave and David being powerless wasn’t exactly something I expected at this stage.
Oh well. It will be only one round before some regrets booting Marcelo.
DAVID’S COMPUTER PROBLEMS
David’s computer has crashed and he’s stuck with using library computers. If it weren’t for Mini Survivor, the game would have ended by now. Unfortunately for David this really sucks. He is inactive in a challenge at no fault of his own  and is essentially defenseless. He’s going to need to work extra hard to make it to the end. It’ll be a terrible way for him to be eliminated. Hopefully he finds a solution soon.
NOT MUCH ELSE TO SAY ABOUT THIS VOTE
It went as expected so no further dissection needed.
5: Michael
4: Jamie
3: David
2: Noah
1: Dave
I’ll do the same thing as I did last season at this stage. Because this alliance of five has voted in complete unison since day one, I think it is appropriate to assess how these five can win this game as we head into the penultimate episode of the season.
MICHAEL
Can he win: Yes. He has underdog status. Three consecutive rounds of former Apus targeting him because people like Noah made a deal to boot him. However, it turns out to be an unnecessary double-cross and now Michael has no blood on his hands. He can say “You guys kept coming after me. What else was I supposed to do?”
Essentially, Michael can invoke Sandra 2.0 strategy at Final Tribal Council and claim the win. In fact he’ll have the easiest time winning at a FTC as it currently stands. Perhaps that’s why Noah and Dave have considered eliminating Mike for several rounds.
Will he win: He needs to go on an immunity run. When you’re up against Dave, a former ORG winner in Jamie, and the consistently average player in Noah and you have yourself a very difficult path. Hence why have him in the fifth position.
JAMIE
Can she win: I believe so. Dave went out of his way to protect her pre-merge. Noah will likely want a fellow ORGer around to hold off any last-second alliance made by the newbies. Yes, Michael, Dave, and David are all in their first ORG. I think Jamie has made a conscious decision to not appear as a threat by coming up just short in immunity challenges. The message she is sending is “Keep me around to potentially take immunity from Dave or Michael”. Sometimes those are the most valuable people to keep around if you don’t think you can do the job yourself.
Will she win: Besides Michael, I think she is the biggest jury threat at a Final Two. She simply has too much experience talking to a jury and I think the other four are bright enough to know that Jamie can speak well to a jury. Plus because I’m not in this game, some juries have a tendency to eat up that “I was the only woman to make the merge” crap. Using any sexist ideologies to your advantage can help tremendously.
DAVID
Can he win: No. I don’t think David will be able to win anymore immunity challenges and I have a feeling David hasn’t made any Final Two deals that anyone else is willing to keep. Everyone knows David doesn’t have access to a decent computer which puts him in a prime position to be taken to the Final Three for the sole purpose of losing final immunity and be voted out.
Will he win: No. But I am very confident he’ll be cemented into third place.
TRIBAL COUNCIL #13

(*DAVE*)-(DAVID)-(JAMIE)-(MARCELO)-(MICHAEL)-(NOAH)
XXX
(WESLEY)-(KEVIN)-(FEDE)-(FRANCISCO)-(CHRIS)-(KRISTINE)-(CARL)-(EAMON)-(SHYAM)-(LEIF)-(BRIAN)-(LISTER)

You must answer your questions in order for your vote to count.

DAVE,

1. You have immunity back in your possession. Was it critical this round for you to win immunity?

I don’t think so, but it’s always nice to have two layers of protection in this game just in case one gives out. I really enjoy your challenges (especially when they relate to video games), so trying to win them is fun for me and that’s really my main motivation for competing.

2. The Apus penalty idol has been virtually unheard of for the past few rounds. Where do you think it currently lies?

I think somebody kept it as a souvenir.

DAVID,

1. Surprisingly, you didn’t do the challenge. Was it you forgetting to do the challenge, giving up on the challenge, or letting Marcelo not be last for once?

This week has sucked for me. My computer is totally done and i dont currently have the funds to buy a new one, so it looks like i’m finishing this game on 30 minutes of library time a day. -_- I thought I sent you the first question answered, but looking back it loks like i forgot to press send in my frantic rush to get to work on time. But yeah it sucks, I always want to be as active as possible.

2. There are five people who have been in the same camp since day one, and have voted together since day one. There’s only one guy who hasn’t been with you — how does that factor into this round’s vote?

I think the writing’s pretty much on the wall to be honest. There hasn’t been a whole lot of discussion as far as i know since the plan has been laid out for quite some time.

JAMIE,

1. You were once again just short of winning immunity for the third or fourth time since we merged. Ridiculously close. What is it about these challenges that stop you from securing the deal and getting immunity around your neck?

It doesn’t have anything to do with the challenges that are stopping me. My fellow competitors are just awesome and they kick butt!

2. Marcelo is on the outside of the original five, but Marcelo hasn’t been remotely close to winning a challenge all game. What do you think Marcelo is trying to do?

I’m not sure if it’s his strategy to not appear to be a threat or what. But it seems like he hasn’t been that active throughout this entire game.

MARCELO,

1. I imagine the spotlight must be on you this round. If you survive the vote, what will you attribute to your success for staying alive?

God

2. Do you see any scenario where you make it to Final Two? Do you see any scenarios where some of the other five don’t have a shot at making it to the Final Two?

No

MICHAEL,

1. You’ve seen votes come your way over the past couple rounds. How do you factor in those votes as you try to proceed further into the game?

I dont think it’ll matter. Sure I have votes, but other people have votes too, I’ll be alright

2. What’s the level of paranoia around camp?

Pretty low I’d say. The endgame is about to start and we all know it, I’m feeling a buildup to paranoia, but it hasnt hit yet I dont think

NOAH,

1. How worried do you think everyone is about not being the one to make the move too late in the game?

I think we all have moves in the game what we wanted to make, some we made and some are still waiting. I am happy how the game is going.

2. This round you vote out the sixth member of the jury. How does that make you feel that the jury could have already decided who wins in any given Final Two scenario and that your fate could be pre-determined?

im sure the jury has talked about it. I know it had to have come up. But you can’t try and think that minds can’t be changed.

Okay, when you vote please do so in the following format:

(blahblahloganblahblah)

REASON: You don’t have to lecture us how to vote each round. Do you really think we’re that dumb to not catch on by now? Shame on you. Hopefully with you gone the lectures will STOP!

Okay, Dave has immunity. Everyone else is fair game. Between now and 1:00pm eastern Saturday, it is time to vote. Wacky tribe, you’re up.
Noah SpiderJew: We all knew Shyam had the idol.
If anybody has a hidden immunity idol and they played it, now would be the time I’d reveal it.
.
.
.
.
.
.
Okay. Once the votes are read the decision is final and the person voted out will be removed from the group almost immediately. I’ll read the votes.
.
.
.
.
.
FIRST VOTE:
.
.
.
.
.
(MIKE!!!)
.
.
.
One vote Michael.
.
.
.
.
SECOND VOTE:
.
.
.
.
(Marcelo)
.
.
.
.
One vote Mike, one vote Marcelo.
.
.
.
.
THIRD VOTE:
.
.
.
.
(marcello)
.
.
.
.
Two votes Marcelo, one vote Mike.
.
.
.
.
NEXT VOTE:
.
.
.
.
(Marcelos)
.
.
.
.
Three votes Marcelo, one vote Mike.
.
.
.
.
.
NEXT VOTE:
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
Thirteenth person voted out of this game and the sixth member of our jury:
.
.
.
.
.
(Marcelo Campos)
.
.
Marcelo, the tribe has spoken.
.
(XXXXXXX)
.
It’s time for you to go.
Michael Graga: Why am I suddenly so hated? I dont get it…
Marcelo Campos: Bye guys!! It was really fun!! Thanks!! David Racine, great game!!! U have my vote!!

It is risky to betray trust in order to gain trust — twice.

Well, for the second season in a row an alliance of five formed very early on has survived to be the last five standing. Unlike last season, however, you had nine members of Apus to eliminate all in a row before getting here.

Now the honeymoon is over. I have a feeling the “true” game is just beginning. Should be fun.

TC VOTING
DAVE,
(Marcelo Campos)

IDK

No seriously, thank you for everything. You not only were a key player in the Ooc Five becoming the Final 5, but you taught me a lot about Survivor strategy and how sometimes you can get far by not doing anything. GG!
DAVID,
(Mike)

Not having a computer is screwing up my game hardcore and i have less control over whats going on. Hopefully this doesnt mess everything up for me.

k can i change my vote to (marcello)

guess big moves can’t happen on my own :/
JAMIE,
Vote:

(Marcelos)

I’m voting for Marcelos because he isn’t part of the alliance. He hasn’t even been trying in this game, so he doesn’t deserve to make it any closer to the end.
MARCELO,
MIKE!!!
MICHAEL,
(Marcelo)

You had us all convinced you were gonna do a mastermind come-from-behind win, turns out you really ARE that bad. Sorry man. Later

MARCELO EXIT INTERVIEW

If you’re reading this, it means you were voted out recently and probably not too thrilled about it. Without resorting to ‘IDK’ as the answer to every question, please answer these questions while you are still frustrated!
1) Where do I begin with you? You are simultaneously the quietest, most loved, and most controversial player in the whole season. Let’s go back to the beginning. What was your initial assessment of your position within the Ooc tribe?
2) It seemed like you couldn’t quite mesh with any group in this game. Why do you think you had such a tough time fitting in?
3) In the Francisco vote, everyone pegged you as being with Francisco, Kristine, and Carl. Everyone was surprised to see you blindside Fran without telling Kristine nor Carl. What was your thinking behind this vote? Because that essentially sets up the alliance of five to get to the end of the game.
4) The following round you’re offered a mutiny. You know Carl and Kristine are the obvious next two to go. I don’t know whether you intended to be a genius with this move or if you did it on a pure whim. On one hand, if Carl and Kristine leave, you know you’re gone if Ooc loses an immunity challenge, thus you must leave. On the other hand, moving to a new tribe with Carl and Kristine could make you an easy first target if Apus loses yet another challenge.
What was your thinking behind the decision to mutiny?
5) You survived not one, not two, but THREE votes on Apus. How the heck did you manage to do this? Was there any strategy in place that you think let you survive or do you attribute your safety to somebody else entirely?
6) You requested the penalty idol in the fifth round. Luckily, this didn’t affect the outcome of immunity and nobody has a reason to suspect you. If that was known to have been the difference in that challenge, do you think people would’ve thought it was you?
7) Speaking of penalty idol requests, it sent Apus to two unnecessary Tribal Councils in rounds six and seven. Who do you think requested the penalty idol and why?
The merge comes. It’s 6-5. Brian Whitehead is still considered to be an outsider in Apus. You abandoned an Ooc tribe that looked like it was ready to vote you out if you didn’t mutiny. On the other hand, the Apus tribe has saved you for three consecutive rounds. This is the question everyone wants to know the answer to: Why did you expose your tribe’s plans and completely sink them?
9) South Pacific was the previous season of Survivor to air. Did you notice your journey in this game is identical to Cochran’s? Do you think watching South Pacific influenced your gameplay? And why weren’t you able to avoid making the exact same mistakes that Cochran did?
10) After you flopped back to Ooc where did you think you fit into the tribe? I’m assuming you flipped to improve your chances of making it to the end.
11) Why do you think you miscalculated the move to flop back to Ooc? What was the assumption you made that ultimately bit you in this game?
12) You have the record for sitting out/not participating in the most challenges ever. What was the thinking behind never participating?
13) You never participated but yet Ooc still got rid of you before eliminating one of their own. Why didn’t they take advantage of the fact you would never win immunity?
14) Did you ever consider flopping again back to Apus after you saw how dominating Ooc could potentially be?
15) Why didn’t you participate in the last immunity challenge? It seemed very likely that Ooc would simply boot you in sixth place and fight it out amongst themselves. Why not make a push to guarantee yourself that one crucial round of safety?
16) Who do you want to win? Who do you think will win? Who do you want to be voted out? Who do you think will be voted out?
On behalf of the production crew of SCWL 2, we thank you for participating in this game!

  • 1-I started the game with an alliance of five people: Me, Carl, Kristine, Francisco and Eamon. And a Had a final 2 deal with Eamon AND Francisco. My initial position within the Ooc tribe was horrible because we didn’t have the numbers and I am terrible at challenges(lol).

  • 2-I think I didn’t have a tough time fitting in.

  • 3-We had an alliance of 4 people and we needed one more person. I said to Francisco to talk to Jaime because she was the last one to be picked in the tribe. But Francisco is so stupid that he called Dave to be in our alliance. And he believed everything that Dave told him. It was so obviously for me that Dave was not with us. So I made a secret alliance with Dave. Because It was pretty clear that he and his alliance would vote for one of us four so I had to make sure that would be Francisco, Kristine or Carl, and not me!4-I made an alliance with Dave to make sure that Francisco, Kristine and Carl would be voted off before me. However, I had a strong alliance with Eamon and he told me that Kristine and Carl were going to APUS. So It was a very easy decision for me. Because If I stayed I could be gone(I didn’t know that Shyan would go to OOC, and he might have an idol)! I knew that Eamon would protect me because I made him believe that he had my vote and I was his puppet. I made the move to vote Francisco because If the mutiny didn’t happen I would be safe until the merge, and there I would make a big move with Eamon.

  • 5-The funny thing about that was that I didn’t need to do nothing. I didn’t even try to win immunity(lol). I made Eamon believe that I was his puppet and he did the dirty work to save me. Actually I didn’t speak with anyone in APUS(LOL).
  • 6-No. No one would have thought it was me. I made them believe that I wasn’t really playing the game. But everything was strategy for me. Being bad in challenges was a strategy. Even answer all your questions with”IDK” was a strategy. I wanted that they believed that I was not playing the game, that I was horrible in challenges and that if anyone of them take me to the end I would answer all the jury questions with “IDK”. Everyone prefer a guy who is “not playing” the game instead of a guy like Chris.
  • 7-I think It was Carl because he would be eliminated in the next TC.
  • 8- LOL. I knew about 3 idols at the merge. Eamon’s idol, Brain’s Idol and Noah’s idol. I wanted to make sure that I was safe. So I made an alliance with Dave and told him everything so no matter what happens they wouldn’t vote for me. Noah told me that they were voting for Brian so it was pretty clear it wasn’t Brian. But Eamon believed in Noah. It was really stupid. So I said to Eamon that Noah might be lying and Eamon told me that he was going to use his idol on himself. So If OOC vote for Eamon, I would be safe because I voted for David. But Eamon didn’t use the idol. So I jumped ship and said to OOC that I convinced Eamon to give the idol to Brian. It was not true. And said that they all hate me and I wouldn’t get one vote If I’m in the final. So I started to play hard and I made a final 2 deal with Dave and David. But I’m not stupid. I knew that they were lying. So every day I tried something new. I talked with Jamie but she didn’t want to make a alliance with me (It was not smart move for her).
    • 9-I was not trying to play like Cochran. I was trying to play like Cesternino but no one in OOC wanted to make a move.

    • 10- I had a final 2 deal with Dave and David, and I was trying to make a move with Jamie. And I think If I got to the end I would have won.

    • 11-Like I said before I flop back to OOC after the ship was sinking. And I thought that everyone would want to bring someone who betrayed every single one, is not very social and is terrible in challenges to the final.

    • 12-I hate challenges. And if I didn’t try to win any challenges no one would see me as a threat.

    • 13-IDK.lol. But I think It was the worst move in the game. 4 people will regret to not use me.

    • 14- No. Apus didn’t have the numbers. I play with the majority.

    • 15-I am in law school. I didn’t have time to do the challenge. And I couldn’t win every single challenge until the final 2. But If I won the one that I need the most everyone would realize that I am not bad in challenges and that I need to go. Especially after Michael told everyone that I would pull a Fabio.

      • 16-I said that I was going to vote for David because I wanted that the others players don’t bring him to the final. But I want Dave or Jamie to win the game. I think Noah will win. I want Noah to be voted out. I think Jamie will be voted out.

      • THANKS FOR HAVING ME LOGAN!! IT WAS REALLY FUN

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

