SCWL 2 episode 12

ROUND TWELVE

Challenge XII: Survivor

Inspired By: The TV show Survivor. Have you seen it?

Date: March 11 – March 18 (sadly)

Winner: Noah

Reward: Immunity from either this round or the next round. His choice.

Challenge XIII: What’s Missing?

Inspired By: Survivor: Amazon’s day 6 immunity challenge.

Date: March 18 – March 20
THE TWIST
As I reiterated several times, this twist was planned weeks before the game. Jamie told me prior to the game that she would be on vacation on March 11th. I looked at our start date and constructed a timeline that we would be down to seven players on March 11th. That would be the perfect time to do a Mini Survivor challenge because we would do one round per day. The perfect amount of time if Jamie was still in the game and went on her one week vacation.
DID IT WORK?
That’s debatable. I don’t think it did. After 24 seasons o f Survivor and countless coconut chop/political challenges on Survivor, the players are skilled enough to get around the politics. However, I have observed something over the past few political challenges:
1)    The majority alliance will roll dice or unanimously agree who wins because it protects any dissent from forming.
2)    If #1 is the case, then those who are in the minority of the majority are losing on a golden opportunity to discover their true position in the tribe.
3)    Those in the majority of the majority alliance are the only persons who benefit from getting everyone to determine the winner of the challenge randomly.
The Lesson: If you don’t know your position in the majority, you insist to play this challenge all the way through without determining the outcome beforehand. That forces everyone to show their hands and puts you in the most powerful position of the game.
THE OUTCOME
The player currently branded as the jury goat made it to the Final Two of the challenge against Lister and won immunity unanimously. Will Noah dump immunity this round or will he guarantee himself a one-in-five spot? I personally believe Noah knows nobody wants to vote him out anytime soon. He may very well dump it this round because he is THAT confident he will survive to the end.
WHAT ARE NOAH’S CHANCES OF WINNING?
I don’t know. He’s not as much of the jury goat as I assumed he would turn out to be as of two rounds ago. He could pull out a 5-4 win if he makes it to the end. He won’t win by a larger margin than that.
THE OTHER TWIST
I also caught on that Mini Survivor makes it impossible for the round’s target to have a fair opportunity to win immunity. Ask Dave Johnson all about it. Or ask Tyson about Tocantins’ version of Shuffleboard. Those are two of the worst designed immunity challenges in Survivor’s history. This contributed to running a second immunity challenge which was essentially a second chance for Lister to win immunity. Considering Noah already possesses immunity and everyone else is under the assumption that they’re safe, Lister could put in a strong effort and win immunity virtually uncontested.
NOT MEANT TO BE
Dangit Lister, those beanie babies have actual names! That was too bad. An immunity win by Lister would have shaken up the game. It was what Flynn needed to do last season. I can’t express how disappointed I was when I saw Noah, Dave, AND David all win immunity. This leaves Lister to plead his case to stay over Marcelo (who can’t win challenges), Jamie (the veteran who has a good social game), and Michael. Lister opts to target Michael once again.
NOAH APPROACHED LISTER TO TARGET MICHAEL
Noah never told me he did this but Lister’s 26-minute confessional contained Noah’s deal. Dave on the other hand spoke of ousting Michael in his confessional but couldn’t get Jamie on board. It seems Jamie understands from playing with Lister that he is more than capable of going on an immunity run or manipulating the newbies to his advantage.
THE OUTCOME
A straight-forward 6-1 voteout of Lister. All pure-blooded Apus members are down for the count. What’s up with my games and lopsided tribal domination? Granted this game featured a 6-5 merge, but c’mon, surely we’ll see at least one round in future seasons where a majority tribe isn’t super tight?
MARCELO DOING IT ALL WRONG
Marcelo’s chances of winning went out the window this round. He should’ve agreed to help out Lister. Why? Because he would’ve been the only person that Lister would’ve trusted. In addition, nobody is in a position to feel they should trust Marcelo except Lister who is out of options. They could’ve teamed up from nowhere and make the other four so paranoid that the game’s foundations would have splintered. I am convinced it would have worked.
Instead, Marcelo is playing a ‘don’t get voted out this round’ as opposed to playing for the win. I don’t see Marcelo voted out next round but I think he’ll get Lydia’d. Nobody has any intention to take Marcelo further than Final Four.
6: Michael
5: Marcelo
4: Jamie
3: David
2: Noah
1: Dave
TRIBAL COUNCIL #12

(*DAVE*)-(*DAVID*)-(JAMIE)-(LISTER)-(MARCELO)-(MICHAEL)-(?NOAH?)
XXX
(WESLEY)-(KEVIN)-(FEDE)-(FRANCISCO)-(CHRIS)-(KRISTINE)-(CARL)-(EAMON)-(SHYAM)-(LEIF)-(BRIAN)

You MUST answer your questions for your vote to count. When Noah answers his questions he must indicate whether or not he is activating his immunity this round. Unless he says otherwise, you are free to vote for Noah this round.

DAVE,

1. It’s been a while. What’s the level of focus now that you guys have had eight days since the previous TC ended?

I think nearly everyone left in the game has remained pretty focused since we started. Of course the focus is gradually shifting and people are beginning to assess threats much differently, but I’m just as into this game now as I was on day 1.
2. Do you think winning immunity makes a difference in your fate this round?
You really never know. I’d like to think I would be safe this round no matter what, but going into TC with immunity is always nice, especially this far into the game.
DAVID,

1. First time you’ve held immunity around your neck this game. You scored seventeen points while one of your competitors scores zero. How does someone else’s lack of participation factor into how you vote?

Well certainly not nearly as much as it would if we were in the tribal stages of the game. At this point of the game we do always have to factor in who’s really horrible at challenges and who’s just pretending to be bad to diminish the target on their back, however.
2. Do you think Mini Survivor changed your perspective on any of the players?

Not at all, actually. No one shocked me in the mini-immunity challenges since it was basically “first to see what Logan posts wins”, and as for strategy I don’t think there were any huge surprises. Lister obviously made it to the end because everyone knew he wouldn’t just be handed immunity by the mini-jury :p
JAMIE,

1. You go no contact for eight days. While only one challenge occurred, that’s a long time to be away from your tribe. How do you assess your change in social standing over the past eight days?
It was a very long time to be away. I was really worried that things would change while I was gone, but it seems like I’ve slipped right back into things.
2. What advantages are there to being away from a challenge as heated as Mini Survivor?

I really don’t think there are any advantages from being away. Well, besides the obvious advantage of being on vacation! : )
LISTER,

1. You are the last full fledged member of Apus, and you’re not wearing immunity. Do you see any realistic scenarios where you don’t go to the jury house tonight?

Realistic scenarios? No Logan. I do not see any realistic scenarios that don’t involve me going home. I’m done. Finite. Toast. Outta here. The only scenarios that involve me staying here are the ones in my dreams. *sigh*

2. You were dragged to the Final Two of Mini Survivor where you lost a vote unanimously. Do you think there was any backroom deals going on there?

At first in that challenge I figured they were all going to vote me out round 1. Thus to prevent me from getting any chance at winning immunity. Then after I survived it became clear to me. That I was going to be dragged to the end so that the other person would get guaranteed immunity because nobody wants me to stay in this game. Frustrating really.

3. How do you argue your way out of the hot seat this round?
3. Not very well. All I can do is point out how I have no friends in this game. No allies. So really, what threat am I? I can be voted out at any time. That’s really all I have to offer to anyone.

MARCELO,

1. You spent four rounds in Ooc tribe then three rounds in an Apus tribe that is nearly exterminated. Where do you identify yourself in this game?

Alone

2. For what feels like the millionth challenge in a row, you blatantly go for a score of one or zero. What is the thinking behind doing the bare minimum to avoid inactivity strikes?

No thinking

MICHAEL,

1. Last round your name came up on the parchment for the first time since merge. How does that make you feel about your position in this game?

not surprised, they’re throwing votes around so I’ve come to expect it. I was the last to recieve votes, so I’m confident

2. Do you feel legitimately at risk knowing three out of seven players could have immunity, and there could be an Apus penalty idol in circulation?

I do a bit, I know that this is an important round, but I feel secure in my tribe, they havent let me down yet, and I dont think they will. The idol is a minor concern, unless I’ve been lied to then I dont think the Idol is around anymore

NOAH,

1. You won Mini Survivor. Tell me the implications of winning a challenge that forces you to play an expedited version of Survivor while a larger game of Survivor is still going on.

I think winning the challenge was a good and bad thing. It shows that people like me but could be something that is negatively used against me.
2. How confident do you feel that this round’s vote will go as you think it will?

I think this vote should go as we plan but this far in the game, you never know. I would like to think that us 5 are solid.

3. Now to the decision. You have immunity that can be used this round or next round. Are you going to use it?

i think I am going to use my immunity this round. I feel like I earned it and I should use it.
When you vote please do so in the following manner:

(zzzzzzzzLOGANzzzzzzzzzzzz)

REASON: You’ve really put a sleeper hold on this game over the past few days. *Yawn* Next time move the game along faster, please. And don’t host when you’re juggling two midterms and two essays in ten days!

Alright, Dave and David have immunity and are both safe. Unless Noah says otherwise, the remaining five of you are fair game. It is time to vote. Wacky tribe, you’re up.

If anybody has a hidden immunity idol, and they decided to play it, this would be the time I would reveal it.
.
.
.
.
.
.
Okay. Once the votes are read the decision is final and the person voted out will be removed from the group almost immediately. I’ll read the votes.
.
.
.
.
.
FIRST VOTE:
.
.
.
.
[Michael]
.
.
.
.
.
.
SECOND VOTE:
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
(zzzzzzzzListerzzzzzzzz)
.
.
.
.
.
.
One vote Lister, one vote Michael.
.
.
.
.
.
.
THIRD VOTE:
.
.
.
.
.
(LISTER!!)
.
.
.
.
.
Two votes Lister, one vote Michael.
.
.
.
.
.
FOURTH VOTE:
.
.
.
.
.
(Lister)
.
.
.
.
.
.
Three votes Lister, one vote Michael.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
NEXT VOTE:
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
Twelfth person voted out of the game and the fifth member of our jury:
.
.
.
.
.
(Lister Potter the Third)
.
Lister, the tribe has spoken.
.
(XXXXXX)
.
It’s time for you to go.

LISTER: Well. Can’t say I didn’t expect that but it is what it is. I had a good time and unlike some who play the game no grudges will be held by this guy. Oh wait. I lied. I burned the shelter down when we left for tribal. Suck it bitches!

That may have been the least suspenseful vote since the start of the game.

With that, all original Apus members have been officially eradicated from the game. Congratulations, for the second season in a row a tribe dominates and eliminates a tribe well before the finale.

The question that will soon be answered is which of you will be burned by not taking advantage of Lister’s vote? And is it too late to change that?

You guys can relax for the night. I’ll post your next challenge by 12:30pm eastern Wednesday.

MICHAEL: Lol, great game Lister. Had the tables been turned you probably would have had the other seat at the FTC next to Brian. Great game man
TC VOTING
DAVE,
(Lister Potter the Third)

It really is unfortunate that we weren’t put on the same tribe from the get-go, although maybe it’s for the best. Anyway, you’re a cool dude and I’m glad we’re able to play together through my new facebook rpg, hope you’re enjoying it. I wish I could do more to help you out, but we both know you’re the biggest threat in the game. Nobody has a chance of beating you if you made it to the end. As the last Apus left and the most threatening player in the game, you should be proud of how well you’ve played the game.
DAVID,
(Lister)

Reason: It was going to be Mike but I don’t feel like we can pull Jamie yet and we don’t have enough time. Sorry Lister.
JAMIE,
VOTE:

Lister

You aren’t part of the alliance of five, so you have to go.
LISTER,
[Michael]
“Well, assuming I’m not being lied to it seems the winds are a changing and that this game is shifting like the sands in the hourglass. The light of day that is OOC is dimming and so it’s time for Sunshine to fall and make way for the Night.”
MARCELO,
LISTER!!!
MICHAEL,
(zzzzzzzzListerzzzzzzzz)

Sorry dude, the pagonging must continue, and your the threat right now
NOAH,
Lister

CONFESSIONALS

—-
LISTER,
This video confessional was done after being voted out but in the mindset I was in before I was voted out: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mDBd3KPocng

 

LISTER EXIT INTERVIEW

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sMwADeR7LLQ

He didn’t answer these questions but he did send me this link. I just realized I hadn’t watched this yet.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

