SCWL 2 episode 10

Challenge X: You Only Have to Pay Shipping and Handling!

Inspired By: Those flawed ORG challenges where you are required to buy stuff.

Date: March 4 – March 8

Winner: Brian W.

Voted out: Leif Rey Bornales (6-2-1)

ROUND TEN BLOG

SO…NOW WHAT?
If contemporary Survivor has taught us anything, it’s that an alliance on day one does not break whatsoever. We are long past the days of Africa, Marquesas, Cesternino, and Fairplay who all tried their damndest to switch up the game and found their closest allies to be chess pieces. Fast forward to Survivor 2011 and the game has reverted back to the earliest stints of Survivor where everyone is too scared to jump ship or else their game is sunk. Hopefully Survivor: One World changes this and inspires the players of today by switching alliances and still end up in the winner’s circle.
It’s funny. Thousands of online games and 24 seasons of TV Survivor later and the person who jumps ship from the majority NEVER wins. Think about it.

BORNEO: Kelly loses after working with Pagong. Richard wins for loyalty.
MARQUESAS: Neleh loses after going back on her agreement to root for John Carrol’s success. Vecepia wins for not having close loyalties to anyone in the end-game.
PEARL ISLANDS: Lil loses after re-entering the game to eliminate Savage and Ryno. Sandra wins for not betraying anyone.
ALL STARS: Bee Rob loses after betraying his alliance with Lex, Kathy, and Shii-Ann. Amber wins for having no say in those alliance agreements.
VANUATU: Twila loses for eliminating Leann. Chris wins because he was willing to go the death with the men.
GUATEMALA: Stepheme loses for burning Jamie, Judd, and Lydia. Danni wins for going to the death with Newkum. (See what I did there? Newkum.)
EXILE ISLAND: Danielle loses for slitting Terry’s throat. Aras wins because he was just doing what was necessary to thwart Terry’s almighty challenge prowess.
FIJI: Dreamz loses for going back on a promise he made to, well, every single juror except Stacey and Michelle. Earl wins because he never flopped from his intentions.
CHINA: Amanda loses because she made unnecessary promises with PG and Denise that she couldn’t keep. It was enough to put the win in Todd’s pocket who despite receiving votes was openly against PG and Denise prior to their eliminations.
GABON: Sugar loses because she went wherever the Sugar Shack blew. Bob is rewarded for taking Kota to the bitter end.
SAMOA: Russell is penalized for his millions of alliances and cussing out everyone in the process. Natalie wins because she never committed to any alliances outside of whatever Russell seeds were planted in her. Shambo was dumped shortly after flipping.
HEROES VS. VILLAINS: Sandra wins because she didn’t try nor associate with the blindsides of Candice, Danielle, Rupert, and Jerri. Candice and Rupert were dumped shortly after flipping to the dark side.
NICARAGUA: Fabio wins against super wishy washy player in Chase and mortgage broker in Sash o’ Frash.
RI: Players refuse to flip. Anyone who had relations with outsiders such as Ashley, Grant, Matt, and Andrea aren’t even allowed to be in the Final 3.
SOUTH PACIFIC: Cochran flops alliances. Goes home in seventh.
SCWL1: Scott knows he has zero chance of winning because he dumped his initially pledged allegiance to Aaron, Ryan, and Brian.
SCWL2: Shyam, Kristine, and Carl went home in three of four rounds after mutiny. Marcelo has a CNN projection of finishing sixth in this horse race.
So you see. Twelve years later and players have finally learned that there is little advantage to jump ship unless it’s something like China when EVERYONE in the alliance agrees to boot one of their own. If there isn’t unanimity, it is dang near impossible for players to agree to it anymore.
The only exception I can think of is Caseboy and Buffyboy from Survivor Guy 886’s Online Survivor series. They acted as a third tribe in each game they played and made sure the two tribes hated each other, thus both tribes were always looking to the pair to help eliminate the other side. This duo would alternate until both sides were wiped out and voila they’re in the Final Two and everyone is universally pissed they have to vote for one of the two.
BACK ON TRACK
So Ooc worked together to eliminate Shyam. However, the five who ousted Shyam were the only five to vote him out. What does this mean? It means they are a very close group who work together extremely well. They were the only five in full agreement to boot Francisco. Any who dissented have been voted out (Francisco, Carl, and Kristine), and the one who reluctantly agreed (Marcelo) is pretty much accepting the fact he won’t get to the end and is doing the best as being a pawn.
I consider them to be more successful than the five-person alliance from Coo last season who had less obstacles to face. Ooc has been able to wash away two opposing idols and eliminate any outliers in the process.
BRIAN IS THE NEXT TARGET
I thought it was Leif but during this round but they spelled it out that Brian needed to go. Luckily, Brian understood that shipping rates to Canada are what count and the infamous million dollar shipping cost buys him more time to bring a rally together. Unfortunately Brian has drawn too much attention to himself as being an extremely strong and likeable player that he really doesn’t have a chance to get to the end unless he goes on an Adam Sanders-like immunity run from my prequel season. And considering Brian is a newbie facing off against equally literate or much more experienced ORG players, this path is set up to be impossible.
STRAIGHT FORWARD VOTEOUT
This is why I wanted Brian and Eamon to use their idols in a smarter fashion. I knew this would happen. Brian tries to orchestrate a blindside of Dave but his efforts prove futile. Ooc comes together to eliminate the back-up plan in Leif.
LISTER’S MOVE
When the chips are down but you know you’re not threatening enough to be at risk this round, sometimes you need to do anything to distinguish yourself from the looming targets. Lister votes David hoping he can break association from the almighty Brian. It will work only five percent of the time but it is worth a try.
THE CHALLENGE
A bit late for this blog in contrast with all of the post-IC discussion but I feel I need to address it. Most challenges require you to shop for items online and they can be anything as long as they meet the criteria. However, most hosts tend to forget to specify the rules about shipping or when/where/which currency things can be purchased in. I decided to correct this error and hinged this challenge on the players’ ability to look up shipping rates to Canada. I was originally going to ask people to buy things that I wanted, but when I decided immunity will be awarded on HIGHEST shipping costs, having people research things I want to buy wouldn’t exactly be too helpful to me.
8: Brian
7: Marcelo
6: Lister
5: Dave
4: Jamie
3: David
2 : Noah
1 : Michael.
For once I guessed the correct boot regardless if it was by luck. We say goodbye to Leif and I assume Brian or Lister will be D-O-N-E next round.

TRIBAL COUNCIL 10

—-

(*BRIAN*)-(DAVE)-(DAVID)-(JAMIE)-(LEIF)-(LISTER)-(MARCELO)-(MICHAEL)-(NOAH)
XXX
(WESLEY)-(KEVIN)-(FEDE)-(FRANCISCO)-(CHRIS)-(KRISTINE)-(CARL)-(EAMON)-(SHYAM)

You MUST answer your questions for your vote to count.

BRIAN,

1. You won immunity. Do you think you robbed someone else from being safe this round or did you really need it?

I’ve heard my name being thrown around for the past 2 votes, and am sure I would have been strongly considered again as a target.

2. What can you do with immunity this early in the merge?

I can go to bed tomorrow night, and sleep well knowing that I will still be in the game Thursday morning!

1. For once you’re not even close in the running for immunity. What does that say about the level of competition now that we’re well into the second half of the game?

Honestly, not much. I made the stupid mistake of thinking the challenge ended tonight instead of monday night. If I’d known, I definitely would have sent in something to avoid the challenge strike 😦

2. Two blindsides so far in the merge. Do you think people sense another blindside coming?

No, I think the person leaving next is probably expecting it.

DAVID,

1. Pure-blooded Ooc members have done very well so far in this game. What’s the secret to that success?

I think we’ve just operated on simple principles from the beginning; we gave our all in pre-merge challenges and when we were forced to go to tribal we kept the same small, tight knit group and got rid of people who we thought trust might be an issue later in the future.

2. What’s the criteria for who you vote out this round?

We took a chance voting for Shyam last round, which means our numbers are now at 5-4. We would be crazy to vote out anyone but an Apus, so the criteria this round is simply to aim for the biggest threat over there.

JAMIE,

1. You were right there for immunity for the second round in a row. What’s your motivation for trying to win immunity?

Everyone should have motivation to try to win immunity. Having immunity is a very important part of the game.

2. A former member of Apus has been eliminated in eight out of nine rounds. What is it that they’ve been doing wrong all along?

From the very beginning they were doomed. It just happened that they were the weaker tribe and it’s just the way everything worked out.

LEIF,

1. Do you think there’s people left in the game who are unaware of their position in the tribe?
I believe so, especially after last round, I am sure people are thinking that maybe they don’t know what their position is at all

2. If so, what techniques do you use to make them aware of that?
Give them pure cold hard facts

LISTER,

1. You miss a TC vote and you miss a challenge. A rare bout of inactivity. Is there a loss of motivation to win this game after losing so many dang challenges?
2. How do you think inactives will be treated by the rest of the tribe at this stage of the game?

1. Oh believe me I’m pissed at myself for doing that. I’ve just had some real life conflicts popping up over this past week and it’s affected my game playing. As for motivation, I still want to win. Plain and simple. Yes, morale may be down for me, but the game’s not over until your torch has been snuffed.

2. Well there are really two ways inactives can be looked at. The first way is to just say “f*** you” to the inactives and vote their asses out because they don’t deserve to be there, or the other option where inactives are chosen to stay around longer because they don’t pose a threat. Tough to say what this tribe will do when looking at inactives.

MARCELO,

1. Should I even bother asking you a question?

YES
2. Or how about this one?

NO

MICHAEL,

1. How much of the gameplay at this point are power grabs at trying to win jury votes rather than doing whatever it takes to make sure you don’t get eliminated this round?

I’ve been feeling confident I wont go home, so my main thing is trying to win jury votes. I have no guarantee I’ll get to the end but in the event I do I’d like to be prepared. I woulden’t say they’re “power grabs” but I’ve defiantely been talking to some people.

2. I was going to ask Marcelo this question but I’ll let you answer it for him – why do you think Marcelo is the last one of the mutineers to still be alive? And why were mutineers kicked out in three out of four rounds following the mutiny?

IDK

Nah but really, I feel like Marcelo has an “IDK” strategy, or a Fabio gameplay. he’s gonna hang around and not do much, not be a threat in challenges, and then will stay around for awhile, then he’ll win the last few immunity’s and take the game. As for why he’s the last to stay alive, from what I’ve heard he went right up to the APUS members and said he would do whatever they said to stay alive, so they booted Kristine and Carl. also, Jamie and Chris apparantly had a cross-tribal alliance… or so they say, and it sounds like we trusted jamie alot more than they trusted Chris. The Shy boot can remain a mystery 🙂

NOAH,

1. There’s been rumours flying around that you’re in possession of the Ooc penalty idol. Does that help you or hurt you with potentially such a key piece of information as public knowledge?

The best way to describe my answer is just listen to Adele’s song, rumour has it. Just cause I said it dont mean that I ment it.

2. If you have the Ooc idol, and Brian played the final idol, then where do people suspect that the Apus idol is located?

2.most know that Shyam had the Apus idol. Weather it was true or not is a different story. Clearly that idol still plays heavily in what choices we make. As of tonight we can only say that who is leaving may not know. We keep a tight knit group and 2 blindsides clearly say something.

Alright, when you vote please do so in the following format:

(LoGaN)

Reason: If you gave us so little time to do the challenge then I’ll put so little time in writing up my reason for voting you.

Brian is safe with the asterisks around his name (which for some reason I forgot to put around Dave and Michael’s names in the two previous rounds). Alright, between now and 2:00am eastern Thursday, it is time to vote. Wacky tribe, you’re up.

If anybody has a hidden immunity idol and they played it this round, now would be the time I’d reveal it.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
NOAH: (((–OOC PENALTY IDOL–)))
.
.
.
The rules of my Survivor that if a player plays an idol and receives the highest number of votes, then whoever casts votes for that person will stay behind for a new TC and all other players head back to camp.
.
.
.
.
.
This is indeed a hidden immunity idol. Noah is safe from being eliminated this round. I’ll read the votes.
.
.
.
.
FIRST VOTE:
.
.
.
(Leif)
.
.
.
.
.
SECOND VOTE:
.
.
.
.
(Leif Rey Bornales)
.
.
.
.
.
THIRD VOTE:
.
.
.
.
.
.
(LEIF!)
.
.
.
.
.
NEXT VOTE:
.
.
.
.
(Leif)
.
.
.
That’s four votes Leif. Still don’t have votes for anybody else.
.
.
.
.
.
.
NEXT VOTE:
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
(DAVE)
.
.
.
Four votes Leif, one vote Dave.
.
.
.
.
SIXTH VOTE:
.
.
.
.
(DAVE as in DAVE BRONSON)
.
.
.
.
That is four votes Leif, one vote Dave, and one vote Dave as if it were (and may possibly be) Dave Bronson.
.
.
.
.
SEVENTH VOTE:
.
.
.
.
.
[David as opposed to Dave]
.
.
.
.
That is four votes Leif, two votes Dave, and one vote for any David who does not go by Dave.
.
.
.
.
.
.
NEXT VOTE:
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
Tenth person voted out of this game and the third member of our jury:
.
.
.
.
(Leif)
.
.
.
Leif, the tribe has spoken.
.
(XXXX)
.
It’s time for you to go.

LEIF: whoever got Noah to play his idol good job 🙂 Good luck to the rest of you!

MICHAEL: Wait a minute… NOAH HAD AN IDOL?!?!??

Well, for the second time in three TCs, an idol is played and wasted. Clearly not everyone thinks they are 100% safe which means there is uncertainty about everyone’s position in the tribe. The question is can you figure out your position before it’s too late?

I’ll see you guys in the middle of the afternoon for your next challenge.

TC VOTING #10

—–

BRIAN,

(DAVE)

Reason: Blindsiding people looks fun, so I want to attempt one of my own.

DAVE,

(Leif Rey Bornales)

Sorry man, you get on my nerves and I don’t like being around you. Nothing personal.

Kidding!

Leif, unfortunately I haven’t gotten to know you too well, but you seem like a cool guy and you’ve done well to make it as far as you have. Good game! Enjoy the jury!

DAVID,

I vote:

(Leif)

Reason: People would be crazy not to thin down the Apus numbers after we took some liberties last round. I know brians working hard but hopefully there are no surprises…

JAMIE,

Vote:

(Leif)

It’s what my alliance wants right now. Well, Brian would’ve been nice to vote out, but he wasn’t available to do so.

LEIF,

(DAVE as in DAVE BRONSON) we’re trying this weird thing to try and get majority and unfortunately it has to be you. otherwise we’re still on the chopping block and we’re going out lol

LISTER,

[David as opposed to Dave]
“Setting myself apart from the pack on this one to try and prolong my life in this game. David i know you arent going and this will be your only vote tonight. Leys just hope its enough for Ooc not fo see me as Apus.”

MARCELO,

LEIF!

MICHAEL,

(Leif)

Sorry dude, Majority rules

NOAH,

  • Leif

  • (((–OOC PENALTY IDOL–)))
  • Can u at least tell me if you got my message about me being away?

CONFESSIONALS

—-

JAMIE,

  • Question about the challenge.. For “a tennis ball,” does it have to be only one tennis ball and not a pack of them?

  • Also, there is an item that says it has a certain price for shipping, but when I click on the link, it changes. Is there anyway I can take a screen cap of this?

  • Sorry.. Another question. For the Columbia Pictures DVD.. Does it have to be only DVD or can it be the Blu Ray/ DVD combo?

*Yep. That was the only confessional sent. Pretty quiet episode. Leif Bornales goes as quietly as Leif Manson.*

Woops. Forgot his interview. Thanks for reminding me, Leif. 🙂

1) So let’s go back to the beginning. I must say that for being the absolute last person to be picked for Apus that you survived six pre-merge and two post-merge TCs is impressive. Mervin wins last season after being picked last and you survive a million losses. In fact you, Mervin, Nelson, and Jamie are the four #9 picks and all four have been nowhere near one of the first booted from your tribe.
So what is it about being picked last that lets players recover? Does it make you look less threatening? Does it make you work hard knowing you’re already on the bottom? Do other players feel bad for picking you last?

1)You may be right about all those things you’re asking. I also believe people saw me as someone with nobody and because of this people gravitated towards me and saw me as a valuable ally since I came into the tribe with no ties with anyone. I played it safe and pretended I get along with everyone plus my work ethic in challenges proved that I was not a liability they expected me to be.

2) Did the mutiny help or hurt the Apus tribe? Why is that so?
2)I didn’t think it helped us one bit. I think no matter who was in our tribe we were overpowered by the other tribe in challenges plus the fact that we had people clamoring to get the penalty idol which led to a lot of losses.

3) What are your thoughts on the penalty idol?

3)I wish I was able to acquire it even if the person who got it got voted out. It would have been my saving grace if I wasn’t immune

4) Very little of the controversy of this season was circled around you. Why do you think you did so well at avoiding people’s radars?

4)Because I presented myself as innocent, kind and truthful. The people I have been close with didn’t think I would be as deceitful as they think I would be. I did tell Lister everything beforehand tho because you really need someone you can trust your life with in this game and for me it was Lister.

5) Finish the statement: “My decision to go for the penalty idol in round six was a decision that caused. _______”

5) “My decision to go for the penalty idol in round six was a decision that caused Carl and Kristine to go home”

6) What was your assessment of the Apus tribe as you progressed through the game?

6)I think it was a tribe that was not willing to work together. There were so many doubts and paranoia abound that I felt like we weren’t a tribe but individuals trying to live together in spite of not liking each other. I think Eamon did so well in wrangling up everyone in fear of him that everyone was gravitating towards him in terms of power in the votes. I do think I had a hand in most of the votes as well since you can’t vote out people with just one person anyway.

7) Is there anything you did post-merge that you wish you did differently?
7)I wish I was better at challenges lol or maybe I should have accepted Noah’s offer to cast off all of Apus and try to work things with him. I also wished we were able to use the idol right but it didn’t go that way.

If Apus merged in the majority, do you think Apus would’ve stuck together or would Ooc have stood a chance of overturning the game?

I think we would have dominated if we were in majority. But that is still a what if. People will always try to find things that was best for them. Like Shyam would still have jumped ship to Ooc if it was beneficial for him in the long run.
9) You were really close to solving the clues for the idol early on. Do you think the idol would’ve been used properly if you had discovered the trick to it?
9) I think I would have yeah. I still want to know what’s the answer tho

10) What’s the most unique difficulty you faced in my ORG in contrast with other ORGs?

10) I think the penalty idols were definitely something I haven’t experienced before and it proved to be difficult in terms of that we lost challenges because of it and that it was also hard to get an idol let alone a real idol.
11) Who surprised you the most in this game?
11) I’m not sure. Nothing really surprises me in survivor anymore. I expect things and anticipate how people work or do. Maybe I’m surprised Marcelo was still actually working with Ooc.
12) Who do you want to win? Who do you think will win? Who do you want to lose? Who do you think will lose?

12) I want Lister to win. I’m rooting for him the most right now. I think who will win is prolly David as he proved to me that he can do big moves. I want David to lose lol. Actually everyone from Ooc needs to lose lol. I think Lister or Brian will lose tho.

13) If you have any other thoughts, please share.

On behalf of the production crew of SupaCooWackyLand, we thank you for participating in this game!

13) It has been quite an experience and if I can do it all over again, I would want to So thank you for letting me play this amazing game and it was such a breath of fresh air to have a game with unique ideas Keep at it!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

