SCWL 2 episode 7

Challenge VII: Jeopardy! Wacky’s Obsessions Edition

Inspired By: Jeopardy! and the things I hold dear to me and love. A winning combination, right?

Date: February 20 – February 23

Winners: Ooc

Voted out: Carl Hagemann (5-1 vote)

EAMON VS. CARL

This is a feud I don’t think anyone thought would happen. Both have been playing it pretty calm. Eamon, yes, he can come off as a bit excited and too paranoid for some of the original Apus’ players liking, but isn’t known for heated battles like Elvera, Scott, Fiona, Noah, or Kristine. Man. Two games and our list is that long? How this game gets to “day 39” in such a condition that everyone praises my hosting is beyond me.

You know where this controversy stems from? Eamon arguably using the ol’ B-word in what he claims is a playful manner. Carl, who is in possibly the worst position of anyone in the game, puts himself further out on the chopping block and defends Kristine’s honour. In real life that would earn respect and brownie points. But in Survivor, you’ll get crap all. All it does is further isolate yourself from the others. If I were Carl, I’d put everything I could into winning next immunity. But Carl makes a curious move. . .

SUPA PENALTY IDOL: PART FIVE

This is the best storyline at this point in the season. In seven rounds the penalty idol on Supa has been claimed five times. You would think one of the first four would have confessed to saying they possess it. Maybe people have finally learned how to keep hidden idols a secret. How else could you have people trying to claim an idol in round seven that has been in Eamon’s pocket since round one? What’s funnier is that the heading I typed was “SUPA PENALTY IDOL: PART FOUR” but then I remembered Shyam has one. Too many fake idols are floating around when you can’t recall who has them. Eamon-Shyam-Marcelo-Leif-Carl. ESMLC. I have a feeling that mnemonic won’t stick.

So Carl penalizes his tribe a grand. I ignored it for the time being because I wanted to share in on the surprise if it would affect the outcome of the challenge or not. Personally I think Carl assumed he had zero percent chance at winning and was merely trying to mess with the game as much he could. Taking the penalty idol was a ‘F You’ for Apus’ selfishness and for executing Kristine without just cause.

The greatest part about this move is that the people who benefit the most from this move is anyone who is tied to Noah—the very thing Kristine despises in this game. Carl makes a move that makes Noah’s decision to confess to having the idol look like a saint, and instead paint Eamon as a devil.

C’mon, you’re loving season two more than season one at this point, aren’t you?

If Carl was playing to win, taking a penalty idol everyone else is 99% sure is taken at this point would be the last thing I’d do in his position. I’d try and pray I’ll get a Jan Gentry miracle and win tribal immunity to get to the merge. Brian Whitehead has been in the same frame of mind since Hooker left. Shut up, put all your efforts into helping your tribe, and hope you either get immunity until merge or there is enough conflict and struggle between the stronger personalities on your tribe.

I need to take an aside. Brian Whitehead is playing one of the best come-from-behind games I’ve seen. No matter where Brian finishes when his torch is snuffed, I’m giving the guy credit for clawing his way. People have initially voted him approximately ten times then changed it. Why? Because a bigger issue or power struggle comes up before everyone gets in their vote to cue me to post results. Brian fades enough when he’s most vulnerable. He fulfilled the role I assumed he would pre-season but is playing it in a much better way than I thought an ORG rookie could. You’re fixing the problems where our previous invisible rookie, Ryan Flynn, had issues.

Also I think Brian has sent me every roman numeral between I and XX except for the one that holds the idol. Classic.

DAVID’S CONCERNS

David sent me a letter stating his concern regarding eliminated players trying to weasel their way into affecting the outcome of the season.

This is one of those things that Facebook ORGs can’t control. Sure, there’s Darian Rockefeller’s games and other proboards where hosts program a site so everyone plays under fake accounts so nobody knows who’s who and delete a profile once they’ve been voted out/evicted/executed/Philiminated. That’s the only time in ORGs where this problem is resolved.

So David, who is playing in his first ORG, has a legitimate concern because he hasn’t played in a setting like this before. It made me think about the impact of eliminated players on the game so I’ll take this aside in the blog.

Over the past ten years, whether I’m the one who’s been eliminated or dealing with eliminated players while I’m still in pursuit of Sole Survivor, I don’t think it really impacts the game. Especially amongst veterans, there seems to be some non-verbalized code that you don’t let eliminated players take control of YOUR game. They’ll try to coach you and mess with you from beyond the grave but it rarely does anything. You’re gone. Nobody cares about you. They’ll be friendly to you if you’re on the jury and pretend to listen to your concerns. The worst thing you can do is buy into the ‘if you vote out X I’ll give you my vote on the jury’ from an eliminated player. Their motivations are entirely different from your perspective and most of the time they’re doing their best to mess up your game. Eliminated players want you to think about them and give them power after their torch is snuffed. So ORGers of the past, present, and the future: don’t listen to a word the eliminated players have said. They’re out and you’re still in. Why listen to someone who has played worse than you?

Also, Kristine isn’t even on the jury. So there’s not even  a jury vote that you can even think about catering to there. Block her if it gets too much. I’m sure Noah already has.

NOAH – SECOND PLACE LOCK

Even though the jury hasn’t started yet, I have a feeling Noah will find a way to piss off many people until the end of the game. Why? Because everyone on Ooc is doing their darndest to take him to Final Two. This means Noah will receive a lot of Final 2 offers which I no doubt he will be forced to accept. From there, he will be breaking these Final 2 deals because he can’t keep them all and will no doubt play spoiler to several Ooc players who want the title of Sole Survivor so badly. I don’t think Noah pouring on the charm once the jury phase starts will help. His position of ‘goat’ is assumed by all players, and therefore Noah will become the goat even if that isn’t his intention once merge starts. Perception is everything.

If you’re a kind and passive individual, you won’t receive enough deals for you to screw people over and don’t have to worry about looking like a goat. Unless you’re “feckless”. That’s why it pays to not openly call other players the c-word.

JEOPARDY!

Six-on-six for Jeopardy! Thanks to these even numbers, we managed to keep the challenge extremely realistic. Six categories in real Jeopardy! So one category per player. I debated about whether it’d be head-to-head and whoever scored the most money in this match-up would score a point and first to three wins or if it should go by accumulated total for the tribe. I chose the latter.

I apologize to Lister and Dave for screwing up Zombies! Ate My Neighbours.

I apologize to Shyam and Carl for ridiculously screwing up Bytown’s clue.

I apologize to both tribes last round for screwing up A Clockwork Orange.

I’m not used to making that many detailed errors. That was something I prided myself upon. Instead I am just another PJ.

Besides these errors, the challenge turned out great. Some of the “answers” were difficult enough that even Google couldn’t save these players. If players are complaining to me a challenge is too difficult then I feel I’ve done my job. These challenges aren’t “come up with 1000 facts about pudding” or “who has more ORG friends to ‘like’ their status update to win immunity” or “the host and three judges use their subjective judgment to declare which flag is best’. It ain’t my style.

MARCELO GUESSES I HAD A SEX CHANGE

I send a curse to Marcelo that he will not win this season. I send another curse that the dang guy will send confessionals for once!

CARL WANTS TO GIVE THE PENALTY IDOL TO DAVE

Although in the instructions upon receiving the penalty idol, and in the rulebook for idols in the main document, ‘an idol is considered dead when the original player who found it is voted out’ slipped past him. This was a move to give an idol to Dave who is working the hardest to take Noah to the Final Two.

I know the complex rules in this ORG are a bit too difficult for someone as new as Carl to ORGs, but I think the players tend to over-think any little rule changes I make compared to other ORGs. As a player I do the same thing and hosts get frustrated. Maybe that’s why I’m so patient with people like Dave, Elvera, RyLis, Carl, Chris, Noah, and Shyam who tend to ask me much more questions than others. My reasoning for putting up with it is that the people who constantly ask questions are the ones who are typically the most active.

As soon as Carl figures out the rules to the idol, he’s disappointed and I think I detected a hint of regret for taking the penalty idol. If he didn’t take it, he would have made it to the merge where he could’ve found a way to survive. Instead he finishes in twelfth where he only has himself to blame. Marcelo is set to be the next one gone if Apus loses again. But there’s going to be a merge, right?

WHAT APUS NEEDS TO DO IF THEY MERGE

Target Noah. Play on the emotions of other Ooc players. Because if Noah doesn’t go, it’ll be Noah who gets to control who goes to Final Two. And it ain’t going to be anyone from Apus. Noah will never be with you so best get rid of him.

11: Marcelo

10: Leif

9: Eamon

8: Lister

7: David

6: Brian

5: Jamie

4: Michael

3: Dave

2: Noah

1: Shyam

ROUND 7 TRIBAL COUNCIL

TRIBAL COUNCIL #7

(BRIAN W.)-(CARL)-(EAMON)-(LEIF)-(LISTER)-(MARCELO)

… XXX
(WESLEY)-(KEVIN)-(FEDE)-(FRANCISCO)-(CHRIS)-(KRISTINE)

Above the X’s are each of your names. Once your name is gone so are you.

You MUST answer your TC questions in order for your vote to count.

BRIAN,

1. You are one of two people to ace your category. Is that enough to keep you in the game one more round?

Acing the category was a team effort…I only knew the $400 one and was able to google $1000, but so was David. I hope I will be kept around, but no one ever knows.
2. The tribe burns Chris because they think he’s leaking information. You then burn Kristine because you accused her of picking up the penalty idol. And here we are and another request has been made. Why has it been so hard to determine who you can’t trust in this tribe?
It’s a lot easier to lie to someone over the internet than it would be face-to-face…
CARL,

1. Next round you’re down to eleven. The literal halfway point of the game. Is this tribe at the point of begging for a merge or begging for one more chance to bring Ooc down to five members and make things even?

I think this tribe is more f***ed up then OOC ever was.
They have no plan other than Eamon carrying Marcelo as a vote around and collecting penalty idols to screw his tribe over. Look, this is my second ORG and like the first one, I kick ass in any competition I’m in but I guess that’s why people like Eamon and Marcelo play them cause you can suck at it and then just get by by lying and saying whatever to anybody or screwing your team by taking one idol after another to get to the end.

2. Do you think the penalty idol has been claimed or do you think this tribe has made so many requests that it’s still waiting to be pocketed?

Oh, I’m totally confidant a couple of the idols have been claimed. It’s the only way Eamon can win.
EAMON,

1. You received a vote that read ‘the puppet master’. Any response to that vote?

Kristine is my friend and we agreed to make some drama in this game. Everything that happened is under control. We laugh and we cuss to each other. But we’re still friend. She will be playing my game and it is her plan to just go out from this game and start playing new one. And someone did took it seriously. That is what happened when you’re getting old, some joke just didnt work for them.

2. You have been the most vocal about cussing out those who may or may not have requested the penalty idol these two rounds. Do you think that’s the wisest strategy to coerce a confession?

Because I am tired. I’m tired of trying to make this tribe win and then someone screw it in order to get attention. And the best action of his was playing the innocent card. LOLOLOL. I dont buy that. You can say you work hard (AS IF) but you’re only helping your self, you dont even care about your tribemates , not all people in this tribe can answer their questions like you, eh eh arent you the one with the highest IQ of all human ?? Parasite.
LEIF,

1. Hip hop and rap was not your cup of tea but you Google’d your way to slaughtering Jamie and claiming what should have been the win for this challenge. Does that help you or hurt you this late in the pre-merge phase?

Well to be fair Logan, most of my answers was not me. It was all thanks to Eamon and his hip hop loving friends but in the other tribes point of view I guess you could say they would think I came up with all of that. It could become a means for people to target me but only because they would be small minded to think so. But I don’t think this one feat of brilliance will compare to other people’s showmanship of excellence.
2. Under what circumstances do you think those who requested the penalty idol would come forward?

I have no idea if there will be any circumstance where it will end well for them when they come forward with such an act.

LISTER,

1. You have a tribe that’s struggling, sabotaging their own efforts in challenges, and everyone must be thinking about a possible merge next round. How do you find an outcome you’re happy with when taking all of this into account?

1. Well I don’t know about everyone Logan, I’m no mind reader, but a merge would be nice. Obviously I’d like a chance at knocking Ooc down another member so that it’s all even but it is what it is. I would be happy with an outcome where the strong remain and.
2. What do you think is the best approach to dealing with back-to-back losses because of penalty idol requests?
2. First off you gotta take a step back, not react on a snap judgment. I think whoever this was was two different people. My theory is that someone claimed it last round and got it and that this round either one of two things happened, 1. The person who claimed it thought more than one went for it last time so tried to get it this time or 2. THe person who went for it thought maybe Kristine really did have it and since she got voted out then perhaps it would be re-hidden. So then after stepping back and thinking on it, you deduce logically who you think may have it. Who would have the balls to try, especially after last round. I have my theories but the only way they’ll ever get proven true or false is for it to be played or for me to read it in your eventual blog.
MARCELO,

1. You did the worst in this challenge. Noah’s score was much higher than yours. Does that help you now that people might be thinking about the merge and not believing you’re a threat?

Yes.
2. Does losing two immunities in a row because of sabotage shatter any ability for this tribe to work together post-merge or is there a way to reconcile that?
There is a way to reconcile
3. Why did you guess that I had a sex change?
Idk
Okay. When you vote please do so in the following format:

(LOGAN -_- )

Two immunity losses in a row because of penalty idol requests? You’re making this s— up. We can’t have that type of behaviour in our tribe. Have a nice day.

Alright between now and 4:00pm eastern Thursday, it is time to vote. Apus, you’re up.

If anybody has a hidden immunity idol and they played it this round, this would be the time I’d reveal it.
.
.
.
.
.
Okay. Once the votes are read the decision is final and the person voted out will be asked to leave the Tribal Council area immediately. I’ll read the votes.
.
.
.
FIRST VOTE:
.
.
.
(Marcelo)
.
.
.
.
SECOND VOTE:
.
.
.
(CARL-HAG-MAN)
.
.
.
NEXT VOTE:
.
.
.
.
(Carl)
.
.
.
Two votes Carl, one vote Eamon.
.
.
.
.
NEXT VOTE:
.
.
.
.
[Carlito]
.
.
.
Three votes Carl, one vote Eamon.
.
.
.
.
FIFTH VOTE:
.
.
.
.
The seventh person voted out of this game:
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
(CARL)
.
.
.
Carl, the tribe has spoken.
.
(XXXX)
.
It’s time for you to go.
Unlike previous votes, Carl was expecting that vote from a mile away and you were all unanimous in sending him home. Who knows, that could be the best thing to happen this tribe after losing six immunities and looking to find a way to stay in this game. The only problem will staying in this game require you to work together as a tribe in challenges or test your ability to manipulate in a free-for-all setting? Only time will tell.
TC VOTING #7
BRIAN,
(Carl)

Reason: I wish you could stay, but to keep a low profile I need to vote for you.

CARL,
(Marcelo)
EAMON,
MY VOTE

(CARL- HAG-MAN)
Liar, cheater, delusional, attention seeker, NOT COOL

LEIF,
(CARL) I’m so sorry you have to go Carl. There is just no other way for this. If you did indeed go for the penalty i’m sorry that you got the fake one.
LISTER,
[Carlito]
Its you or Eamon and I think I can survive longer in the merge with Eamon
still in the game as opposed to you. Good luck in future games dude.

MARCELO,

(CARL)

CONFESSIONALS ROUND 7

BRIAN,

When this game depresses me I do one of 2 things…write a calculus exam for my students, or write a roman numeral to you. Right now, I’m experimenting with the mathematical symbols meaning different things…which gives us today’s entry…
V

XX

CARL,

would you explain the Penalty Idol?

Thanks

so I can’t ask for one now that you’ve posted the challenge?

oh really?
It maybe time to end Eamon’s misguided adventure.
I promise I won’t ask after that time.

Thx

No worries.
I’m trying to help the little weasel.
Why, I don’t know.
He’s lied to me at every vote.

I would like the Penalty Idol.

Accepted. Lol

If I decide to give it to someone, do I have to do that by a certain time?
Not a fake one, but this real one.

Hey man, I know you prolly have to be all official from lawsuit threats in the past and stuff, but I really am new to this ORG s*** and don’t understand.
Let’s say I want to give the Idol to Dave Bronson (I’m giving it to someone on OOC). He can use it with all the rules above right?
I just have to give him the code before the next tribal and he has to confirm it to you?
What if he wants to hold onto it and use it later, or can he not?
When you have a chance, please let me know in simple, I’m an old man that won’t sue you in front of Judge Elbee terms.
Loving the game and hope my unnecessary drama is a little fun for ya.

Thx man.

So you would have no way of knowing if I got voted out with it and gave it to someone like Dave (I’m Giving it to Dave).

That would not matter?

See that’s where I feel confused.
It’s only good this round then, no?

F***. I didn’t think this out right, did I?
Oh well.

DAVE,

It never ceases to amaze me how many people entertain the idea of throwing challenges. It seems like every single time Ooc gets a challenge there’s at least one person who wants to throw it. Maybe that’s why we only ever barely win. Today I had to once again do my best to convince somebody that being safe from the vote and going into a merge with numbers is a good thing. Shouldn’t it be a no-brainer?

DAVID,

Hi Logan,

I kind of have a question/concern about some things going on in the game. As you know, it’s my first Org so i’m not sure how things usually are, so if it’s a common practice please forgive me. The thing is myself and a few members of my tribe are concerned about the activity of certain players after they’re voted out of the game.

When little comments are made by people who are voted out, fine. But it’s gotten to the point where Kristine in particular is still playing the game basically, spilling information left and right and trying to change the outcome of the game from beyond the grave. I just don’t find it fair that she has the ability to potentially alter the perception of existing players, and i think there should be some sort of guideline for people recently voted out.

Again, if this is just part of the game please forgive me, just wanted to adress it.

LEIF,

and you would think people would know by now that the idol was gone and yet they still proceed to f*** us up…? right good move…

on another note, i will find it laughable if whoever got the fake one will play it at our tc

CARL EXIT INTERVIEW

If you’re reading this, it means you are voted out are not too thrilled about it (or maybe you are, who knows). But never fear! This is your exit interview. Once the game is over, all exit interviews will be posted. Answer these questions while your frustration and the would’ves and could’ves are at their peak!

1. What were your expectations of this ORG heading into the game?

2. After the tribes were divided up, what was your initial take on how the tribes stacked up and where you fit in?

3. Did you have any pre-game alliances? Do you think anyone else had any?

4. Do you think the idol rules were phrased in a way that was too confusing?

5. You and Eamon fought inside and outside the confines of this game. What’s the status of the relationship?

6. You took the penalty idol In round seven after it already cost you guys immunity. Why throw another immunity challenge?

7. You were ONE round away from making the merge. Do you think winning that last immunity could have given you a chance to win the whole game?

8. If you didn’t merge next round, do you think Apus would have crumbled in challenges without your presence?

9. What was the most surprising thing about this game?

10. What are your thoughts on the Francisco vote and how it related to the mutiny?

11. Who do you think will win? Who do you think will lose? Who do you want to win? Who do you want to lose?

12. If you have any other thoughts, please share.

From the production crew of SupaCooWackyLand, we thank you for participating in this game!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

